Air
Le Voyage Dans La Lune


3.0
good

Review

by Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (103 Reviews)
February 5th, 2012 | 44 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Passable, but then again when has passable been good enough?

Ever since their 1998 debut, watching Air walk on the slither of a line between their indie-pop foundation and strong post-rock and ambient tendencies has never failed to intrigue. Of course, it hasn't always yielded fantastic results, but the sudden appearance of Talkie Walkie in 2004 showed that these two Frenchmen still have the capacity for creating great, experimental music. Le Voyage Dans La Lune sees them delve, once again, into the realm of movie-soundtracks, although most of the music on the LP isn't actually used in the film. It's with this stretch towards creating someone else's atmosphere that we really begin to see Air's weaknesses, leading to the worst release of their career.

Simply put, Le Voyage Dans La Lune does not feel like an Air LP. The casual sleight-of-hand present on their more celebrated works is nowhere to be found, leaving only small patches to remind us that this is not a compilation disk. Where their style is lacking, the tracks lack much in the way of depth: often a little dreary, or maybe just a bit too pretty. The stretchmarks of birthing a new style are left out for all to see, too, with Parade feeling more at home on a Ratatat release and a few guitar riffs echoing as far back as Pink Floyd. In fairness, these blunders (and I say blunders because the resemblance is far too strong to be ignored) are somewhat made up for by the LP's stronger offerings. Seven Stars sits *just right* between slow, progressive whispers and upbeat, electronic fun; countdown to launch and all. Moon Fever, similarly, lies unspoken but powerful in its ambiance. Harking back to the duo's more favourable days.

So while certainly not a complete train-wreck, Le Voyage Dans La Lune nevertheless fails to establish itself. Overall it comes across as a little weak, and as a result it remains easily forgettable. Even the sense of vast space that Air have previously been able to conjure up is noticeably absent. That this LP is set to accompany a re-release of a classic silent movie only serves to mark its failure as nothing if not a little tragic.



Recent reviews by this author
Throwing Snow MosaicSOHN Tremors
A Winged Victory for the Sullen Atomos VIIPlinth (UK) Music For Smalls Lighthouse
The Correspondents Puppet Loosely StrungSon Lux Alternate Worlds
user ratings (69)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
Deviant STAFF (3.5)
14 years after Moon Safari the French comedown duo finally get to explore the lunar surface...


Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
February 5th 2012


71955 Comments


cool

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2012


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks to a charming mixture of a hangover and weapons-grade flu, I wrote this in a pool of my own tears and pain medication packaging. Bah, not a good day.

Hopefully the review's passable. ;)

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2012


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

damn.

DarthMann
February 5th 2012


13815 Comments


i think its gonna get deleted

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2012


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nah, a stream went up last friday.

Beachcoma
February 5th 2012


526 Comments


I must have listened to this album 5-6 times, and it has still done nothing for me.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2012


31362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You might wanna consider linking the stream then

Also, indie pop, ambient and post rock being mentioned in an Air review? Sigh.....

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

aok
February 6th 2012


4440 Comments


http://www.npr.org/2012/01/24/145761308/first-listen-air-le-voyage-dans-la-lune is the stream. was sortof excited for this, but based on the reception i'm not too optimistic.

also yea, first paragraph doesn't make much sense

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2012


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Since I've got the whole day ahead of me, I might rewrite it. I really was feeling fucking awful yesterday, and reading it now I think I'm confusing even myself. Hmm.

Thanks for feedback and things, though Dev if you have a listen those tags are valid enough. Not perfect, mind, but valid.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012


31362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As a fan of Air since they've come out, I can tell you that they're not valid. There isn't a single shred of post rock to be found in any of their works, or indie pop or ambient

but the sudden appearance of Talkie Walkie in 2004 showed that these two Frenchmen still have the capacity for creating great, experimental music


I personally think 10,000 Hz Legend is their weakest album, but Talkie Walkie is generally regarded as their weakest effort. Strange

Should have my write-up for this up in a few hours or so

Tarnished
February 6th 2012


364 Comments


hi deviant how are you

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012


31362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sup

Tarnished
February 6th 2012


364 Comments


just hangin out dev silent sucks tho screw him am i right

DarthMann
February 6th 2012


13815 Comments


yo dev you neg?

Tarnished
February 6th 2012


364 Comments


oh man

Tarnished
February 6th 2012


364 Comments


me neither haha

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012


31362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This isn't a good review though

Tarnished
February 6th 2012


364 Comments


dev wanna write a review for me?

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2012


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Talkie Walkie being their worst? Can't say I agree at all. Still don't see how you can dismiss the tags completely either, because the characteristics are there. But I don't know, maybe there's some weird-ass genre which fully encompasses them in its entirety. Post-something-dance-something-core or... something.

DarthMann
February 6th 2012


13815 Comments


best thing about Dev

disturbingly honest



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy