Radiohead
Kid A


1.0
awful

Review

by crandynewman USER (38 Reviews)
February 4th, 2012 | 208 replies | 7,945 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Have you ever had a splitting migraine before, that's this album.

Let me set this up with a little story: I used to be a big fan of Radiohead after first hearing Creep on Rock Band. I rushed out an bought all of their albums up to that point and loved every single one of them, Ok Computer being my favorite. All but Kid A, that is. Kid A is simply one of the worst albums I've ever heard and I find it hard to believe that people can actually listen to it an call it let alone a musical masterpiece but an artistic one as well. From what I understand it supposed to be a concept album that continues the great story of Radiohead through Ok Computer, but whereas Ok Computer is one of my favorite albums, this one completely falls flat on its electronic, bloopy face. To start off, what's up with all the awful mixing. Half the time I can barely hear Thom's vocals, and sure maybe that's fine for really nich genres and music that doesn't focus on vocals, but for rock music it's simply unacceptable.

Secondly, the lyrics are terrible. At times simply comprising a few words and other times being complete gibberish nonsense, there is never a point where this album comes even remarkably close to reaching a rational thought. Not that Radiohead has ever had the best lyrics in the world but my god Thom at least try to make sense on this album! He spouts of some awful stream for conscienceness BS and we never end up learning anything tangible about the concept because he's too busy being quirky and weird. But that's not even close to my biggest problem in the whole album. Compared to this, the lyrics are great, some of my favorite ever, I'd take these awful lyrics if I could do without the stupid headaches.

This is one of the most annoying and migraine-inducing albums I've ever heard. I suppose its quite an accomplishment when a record can actually cause you physical pain but I for one am not a fan. The largest offender on the album is The National Anthem which does bear a resemblance to our national anthem if you blared loud and out of key horns the entire way through. I swear that's all this song is, a vaguely royal beat and awful awful horns that make you sick. It's like that film technique where they use the low buzzing noise to make you queasy but turned up to ten and blasted throughout a whole song.

Overall even though I love Radiohead to death and they will always be one of my favorite bands, I can objectively say that this is one of the worst albums I've ever had the unfortune to listen to. Its a chore in every single way imaginable and I have no idea how people can stand it, much less call it a modern classic that has changed music forever. Even Radiohead didn't sick with their formula.



Recent reviews by this author
The Beatles Let It BeThe Beatles The Beatles
Stooma Against the WorldThe Beatles Magical Mystery Tour
The Beatles Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club BandSay Anything Anarchy, My Dear
user ratings (5127)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
crandynewman
February 4th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

this is one of my most hated but i do love the band

ValeriusTheImmortal
February 4th 2012


1237 Comments


band sucks album sucks

pos

crandynewman
February 4th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

thanks valerius!

crandynewman
February 4th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

thanks allgen!

wacknizzle
February 4th 2012


13168 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it would be nice if you atleast put some time between your reviews. First off their shitty and 2nd of all your kicking reviews that people worked hard on off the front page.

Digging: Ritual Mess - Vile Art

KILL
February 4th 2012


71743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cool shit bro

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

crandynewman
February 4th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"it would be nice if you atleast put some time between your reviews. First off their shitty and 2nd of all your kicking reviews that people worked hard on off the front page."

i worked like an hour on this review so sorry wack if its not up to par, but i put effort into it

secondly if you have any real criticisms id like to hear them

MO
February 4th 2012


18611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

funny/gutsy

crandynewman
February 4th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

thanks kill!

and metallic

wacknizzle
February 4th 2012


13168 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

you like shitty music, gtfo

Oathbreaker
February 4th 2012


1649 Comments


Band sucks, album sucks.

Maniac!
February 4th 2012


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"I can objectively say that this is one of the worst albums I've ever had the unfortune to listen to."

should be 'misfortune'

"Even Radiohead didn't sick with their formula."

stick*



ValeriusTheImmortal
February 4th 2012


1237 Comments


wacknizzle has a point i spent a lot of time doing my last review


crandynewman
February 4th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"you like shitty music, gtfo"

that isnt at all constructive, are you being a jerk on purpose?

crandynewman
February 4th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

""I can objectively say that this is one of the worst albums I've ever had the unfortune to listen to."

should be 'misfortune'

"Even Radiohead didn't sick with their formula."

stick*"

thanks maniac i'll fix those mistakes

wacknizzle
February 4th 2012


13168 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah i was talking to you genreman.

KILL
February 4th 2012


71743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wack have you even heard hard jams inc

johnnydeking29
February 4th 2012


9024 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For fucks sake, SPUTNIK DOES NOT NEED ANOTHER KID A REVIEW; YOUR PERSPECTIVE HAS BEEN VOICED MILLIONS OF TIMES BEFORE AND WE DO NOT NEED TO HEAR IT AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Only review something if it has less than 3 reviews

Digging: Envy - A Dead Sinking Story

ValeriusTheImmortal
February 4th 2012


1237 Comments


review stuff without reviews

crandynewman
February 4th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"For fucks sake, SPUTNIK DOES NOT NEED ANOTHER KID A REVIEW; YOUR PERSPECTIVE HAS BEEN VOICED MILLIONS OF TIMES BEFORE AND WE DO NOT NEED TO HEAR IT AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Only review something if it has less than 3 reviews"

thanks for that johnny
i realize that lots of people have reviewed kid a

but i think i put my own spin on it this time



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy