Marillion
Seasons End


4.0
excellent

Review

by AllGabrielsAreGlass USER (4 Reviews)
February 4th, 2012 | 38 replies | 4,281 views


Release Date: 1989 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A strong and worthy follow on

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

When a much revered frontman leaves, the band will go through perhaps the most troubled time of its career. This is most likely because when it boils down to it, there are usually only three possible outcomes.
A) The change in frontman fails completely, and the band drops off the radar soon afterward.
B) The change in frontman goes well for the most part, but the band is, in a way, doomed to forever live within a shadow of its former self.
C) The change in frontman is the best thing that could ever happen to the band, and they begin reaching new heights creatively.

The answer to how this change affected Marillion lies somewhere in between B and C. Whilst the album doesn’t quite manage to reach classic status, it definitely has its moments. It's quite easy to picture "Seasons End" as being a car that has just come back from repairs at the garage, and for the most part the vehicle, quite thankfully, functions well. Though it is bound to stutter occasionally.

One of the things that Marillion hit the target on continuously throughout the album is the emotion and atmosphere exemplified by the tracks. And in the albums highlights, “Easter” and “Berlin” this is one of the ways in which the song succeeds so brilliantly. Showcasing perfectly the great vocal and lyrical talents of Steve Hogarth and the outstanding musicianship of the other members of the band, Marillion manage to create two of their classics here. On “Easter” Guitarist Steve Rothery creates some truly brilliant guitar work, such as the beautiful acoustic introduction and the solo in the middle. The reason why his guitar work is so effective is not just because of its technicality, but how well he succeeds in translating the songs meanings and emotions into musical form. Steve Hogarths voice fits the atmosphere perfectly and leaves little to be desired in filling the shoes of Fish, showcasing great range throughout and carrying the emotions created by the musicians perfectly. “Berlin” is another prime example of this, and is pretty much all the positives of “Easter” taken and spiced up a little. With other instruments, such as a saxophone, making an appearance. However instead of being a pointless addition that simply adds cheese to the song, Marillion showcase great restraint, only adding as much as the song calls for. And it is this restraint which enriches the track and makes it truly excellent. Steve Hogarth also really comes into his own on this, showcasing yet again great vocal work, the lyrics also being a stand out.

However, when Marillion fail to deliver on the emotional side, the car stutters. And on no track is this more evident than “Hooks In You” a failed attempt at 80's rock and without a doubt the low water mark for the album. The lyrical work is shallow and quite silly, Hogarths delivery is cringe worthy as his voice is most definitely not suited for hard rock, and instrumentally has little to offer but wankery. Another example of this is on the track “Holloway Girl” Where the band don’t quite manage to translate the emotion they are trying to achieve, and thus makes for a mediocre track with little replay value.

The rest of the songs here range from good (“The Space” “Seasons End” and “The King Of Sunset Town”) To Marillion by numbers (“After Me”) These tracks, although strong, do not prove to be essential listening in itself. “Seasons End” Again displays the band using atmosphere extremely well, and “The King Of Sunset Town” although not completely overwhelming, proves a pleasant listen, with some excellent keyboard work by Mark Kelly, also proves to be another strong showing of Steve Hogarths lyrics. “The Space” is probably the strongest of the three mentioned and is a candidate for the third strongest song on the album. All the Positives of “Easter” and “Berlin” are repeated here but on a smaller scale, all in all, a good closer and a strong song, but it doesn’t quite manage to reach the same peak those two achieved.

With this album, Marillion managed thankfully to survive the shaky manoeuvre of replacing a revered frontman mainly yielding good results. And although as a whole it doesnt quite manage to reach the same musical peaks as reached by some of the material from the Fish era it will, to people who give it a thorough listen, prove a strong and worthy follow on.

Overall Rating: 3.8/5

Recommended: Easter, Berlin, The Space.


user ratings (71)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
AllGabrielsAreGlass
February 4th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Easter rules hard.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2012



20451 Comments


Good first review.

A few little things I would change:

The answer to how this change affected Marillion directly lies somewhere in between B and C.


I would take out either the word "directly" or "somehwere" as they seem to contradict one another in that particular context.

I'd also suggest taking out the "I think" in the first sentence as this is your review and it should go without saying that it is 'what you think'.

Bare in mind these are just suggestions. Overall good job on the review.


AllGabrielsAreGlass
February 4th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, will change.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2012



20451 Comments


Your welcome dude. Good to see someone reviewing an album that didin't already have a review. I haven't actually heard this album but I love Fish era Marillion.

13themount
February 4th 2012



173 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

pretty dull; began to lose interest in marillion very quickly after this.

AllGabrielsAreGlass
February 4th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They had some real good stuff after this one IMO, like Brave and Marbles.

TheNotrap
February 4th 2012



8042 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of their post-Fish greatest albums.
Easter and specially The Space are the better songs here.

Pos for reviewing one of the most underrated bands of the last century.


Digging: Accept - Blind Rage

AllGabrielsAreGlass
February 4th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks bro! Also, What do you think of the other Hogarth era albums? Btw, I think Berlin could be a candidate for their most underrated song IMO.

TheNotrap
February 4th 2012



8042 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Seasons End, Holidays in Eden, Brave and Afraid of Sunlight are all solid works.
Seasons and Afraid of Sunlight are my favourites.

This Strange Engine still has good moments like "Man of a Thousand Faces" however Radiation is average imo.

I lost my interest after Radiation however I need to check Marbles.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2012



20451 Comments


I need to look into the Hogarth era. I guess this is a good place to start.

AllGabrielsAreGlass
February 4th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, either this or Marbles. @NoTrap, I really think you should listen to Marbles, one of their best Hogarth era albums I think. Actually in general I think the Hogarth era is underrated by Marillion fans.

TheNotrap
February 4th 2012



8042 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely.
Go chronologically JT.

TheNotrap
February 4th 2012



8042 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I definitely need to check "Marbles". Like I've said I lost my interest after Radiation.

AllGabrielsAreGlass
February 4th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I remember first hearing of this band from Dan Swano (My favorite musician) Cause he constantly cites this album and band as his favorites. Also I discovered recently we had Misplaced Childhood on vinyl ;) (That little find made my day...)

TheNotrap
February 4th 2012



8042 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great find. Misplaced is an absolute masterpiece.

KjSwantko
February 4th 2012



9277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good first review bro! I love the song with the sax in it too (although I forget which one it is at the moment).


AllGabrielsAreGlass
February 4th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Berlin man. And thanks! Anything to improve on?

KjSwantko
February 4th 2012



9277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

couple minor grammatical things, and sentences that seemed slightly off. Couple recommendations...

"This is most likely because, when it boils down to it, there are usually only three possible outcomes. "

it'd read smoother without that first comma, and put a colon ( at the end of the sentence since you're going to list the outcomes

"It's quite easy to picture this album as being a car that has just come back from repairs at the garage, and for the most part the vehicle, quite thankfully, functions well. Though it is bound to give the occasional stutter."

i'd consider something like maybe..."It's easy to imagine Season's End as a car that just came back from the garage; for the most part it functions well, but still has the occasional stutter."

"One of the things that Marillion hit the target on continuously throughout the album is the emotion and atmosphere displayed by plenty of the songs. And in the albums highlights, “Easter” and “Berlin” this is one of the ways in which the song succeeds so brilliantly. "

idea- "One of the things that Marillion hit the target on throughout the album is the emotion and atmosphere, as exemplified in "Easter" and "Berlin", which are both highlights of the album."

"The rest of the songs here range from good (“The Space” “Seasons End” and “The King Of Sunset Town”) To Marillion by numbers (“After Me”) These tracks, although strong, do not prove to be essential listening in itself"."

kinda confused by this sentence with the capital letters after parentheses and lack of punctuation.


Again, just minor stuff to consider; good first review bro, get some more up! m/


AllGabrielsAreGlass
February 4th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks, and yeah, I will! Im trying to decide what to do next. My Considerations in order from most likely to least-

Van Der Graaf Generator-Godbluff

Supertramp-Crime Of The Centruy

Pan.Thy.Monium- Dawn Of Dreams or Khaooohs (If you havent heard anything by them let me rec it to you wholeheartedly, Dan Swano and several members of Edge OF Sanity were involved in the project.)

KjSwantko
February 4th 2012



9277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've been meaning to check out Pan for a long time, but haven't yet....guess I'll finally do it now lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy