Johnny Cash
American VI: Ain't No Grave


3.5
great

Review

by Dante Pizzuti USER (9 Reviews)
February 3rd, 2012 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Death: The action or fact of dying or being killed; the end of the life of a person or organism.

The first track on Johnny Cash's Ain't No Grave is a perfect start to this album. Including the sounds of chains and haunting acoustic guitars it proves to be one of the finest songs on the record, if not one of the finest tracks produced during the American recording sessions. It captures the pure scope of the man in black. That scope being that even though he has left this world, Johnny still lives on through the music that he has created over his lifetime. Truly coming to show the power of the new age we live in. Even though a man has died his footprint will long be kept. Not through legend or lore but through physical copies and online recordings. Leaving one to… well… never truly depart.

When I hear that trumpet sound,
I'm going to rise right out of the ground,
There ain't no grave that can hold my body down.


This album without a doubt is home to some of the greatest vocals I have ever heard. Delivered with such passion and force that even though his voice may sound worn out, you can hear the emotion seeping through. In a way this is what a lot of modern music seems to be missing. If I had a dime for every uninspired filler track I have heard, I'd more easily afford gas. This is what Cash somehow excels at avoiding in his records. It's no surprise that this factor is what contributes to the popularity and power behind the American recordings.

Now as the summary sort of hinted at, this album is almost entirely about death. A topic fleetingly sung about in mainstream music now-a-days, and hardly ever the focus of an entire album. (It should also be worth mentioning at this point that Johnny Cash by the time of the release of this album was dead.) In a way it being about death is completely appropriate and if it hadn’t been about the same topic may the whole record may have lost some of its punch.

Musically this is on par with his other albums. Delicious acoustic guitars will leave you wanting more and more. This is also great plus when most of the country music out today blatantly sucks in this department. Despite such a glossy look into the record so far there are some problems. You've heard this all before. It sounds like every other American album. Now that isn't a huge negative, because as always there is some great production behind this. And as always there are some true country gems in here. But the fact is it is just more Johnny Cash. Nothing new or in that case experimental, it's just simply great country music which may come to dismay to some listeners. Despite this there are some points where you hear some recycled guitar chords and patterns. Cool Water being the most blatant, you will have sworn you have heard this song before with the only difference being the lyrics.

In the end this is great modern country. Whether they are covers or not he manages to make them distinctly his own turning Cash into one of the best cover artists ever known.

http://www.johnnycash.com/



Recent reviews by this author
Jakob Dylan Women + CountrySolterra Solterra EP
Alter Bridge One Day RemainsCreed Full Circle
Red End of SilenceColdplay Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall
user ratings (71)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Yuma310
February 3rd 2012


1656 Comments


Crit welcome.

BigHans
February 3rd 2012


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this album is monstrously depressing. Good review.

Yuma310
February 3rd 2012


1656 Comments


Thank you!

Tyrannic
February 3rd 2012


3262 Comments


There are periods in place of commas all over the review. should i point out specifics?

Parallels
February 3rd 2012


6641 Comments


This album is underrated

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2012


21967 Comments


downloading all the American albums

BigHans
February 3rd 2012


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

American IV is the best I reviewed it hard

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2012


21967 Comments


all they all equally depressing?

Yuma310
February 3rd 2012


1656 Comments



There are periods in place of commas all over the review. should i point out specifics?
yes


Yuma310
February 3rd 2012


1656 Comments


AnarchistFish
yes lol

someguest
February 3rd 2012


20656 Comments


There hasn't been an individual who's been as cool as J Cash, and there probably never will be.

Digging: Aphex Twin - Syro

Tyrannic
February 3rd 2012


3262 Comments


"Including the sounds of chains and haunting acoustic guitars it proves to be one of the finest songs on the record. If not one of the finest tracks produced during the American recording sessions."

"That scope being that even though he has left this world. Johnny still lives on through the music that he has created over his lifetime."

"Now as the summary sort of hinted at. This album is almost entirely about death."

"A topic fleetingly sung about in mainstream music now-a-days. And hardly ever the focus of an entire album."

there are probably more but you get the picture.

Yuma310
February 3rd 2012


1656 Comments


^ thank you for that. true that someguest

xfearbefore
February 3rd 2012


1245 Comments


Ain't No Grave is an awesome, awesome song. Everytime I hear it I think of the Undertaker though, lol.

Should probably check this out, the only American series album from Cash I haven't heard.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 4th 2012


6145 Comments


Been meaning to get his albums one by one for quite some time now.

Awesome song writer.

Digging: Raven Throne - ???????? ?????????

bloc
February 4th 2012


34872 Comments


I remember first hearing Ain't No Grave last year while watch the WWE, good song.

Activista anti-MTV
February 11th 2012


3144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Disappointed that I didn't beat you to review this one... ah, oh well

Activista anti-MTV
February 12th 2012


3144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A few things that I was thinking about...

I don't think that I would've written the review any differently. I bought this CD yesterday thinking I would review it. Now I probably won't, though this is clearly a gem, in mine eyes.

I would've talked more about how this album sounds, i.e. major-key pop styling.

You could've talked about the song selection, maybe if you liked or didn't like the song selection? Choosing songs to cover for a major-label full-length album release is not exactly like picking songs for a playlist on your iPod. Is it?

Johnny Cash only wrote one song on this entire album. "I Corinthians 15:55" figures pretty prominently in the middle of this album. What, if any, is the significance of it?

How did the cover song(s) fair when compared with the original(s)? (As an example, I recall Cash's Hurt was a huge departure from NIN's Hurt, but they are both smashing songs.)

Yuma310
February 22nd 2012


1656 Comments


^ Thanks for pointing those things out Activista, I might edit up the review or I will for sure keep those things in mind for future reviews.

Activista anti-MTV
June 22nd 2014


3144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't think I could give this album any lower of a rating. Very, very powerful... not as glitzy as the other American album, with a little less extroversion, comes a little more introversion... this album shows a little bit of what's on his mind at this point in time. Powerful, as I said before.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy