Swallow The Sun
Emerald Forest and the Blackbird


2.5
average

Review

by scissorlocked USER (35 Reviews)
January 31st, 2012 | 31 replies | 5,733 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: In which Swallow the Sun keep it true (and we yawn)

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Swallow the Sun will be remembered as a melodeath band amongst the hundreds that hit the mainstream and established a rather dependable but unremarkable name. The band hasn't formed any certain style or a distinguishable characteristic that will preserve its name within the metal community or press. However, given the fact that innovation is mentioned less and less inside a genre that has gathered wide attention, Swallow the Sun's latest release, Emerald Forest And The Blackbird, raises questions concerning the way of approaching the scene as whole: should it be seen under the hollow prism of consistency or as a product merely of a trend that's soon to eclipse or evolve into something else?

Usually referred as a melodic death/doom metal band, Swallow the Sun seem to ultimately lack the elements that would place them in one of those categories more concretely. More like a baffled hybrid, Emerald Forest And The Blackbird lacks both the sonorous austerity of doom and the excessive sense of melody that characterizes modern melodeath. Of course, such a thing alone isn't blameworthy, but the Finnish metallers still haven't shaped a sound that survives after a couple of listens. While the production is typical of their genre -that means crystal clear-, and the sound is warm and friendly to even the least trained ears, Swallow the Sun's songwriting is mediocre. The awfully typical riffing, the drowned in synthy waterfalls background and the acoustic parts constitute the basis in which the band unfolds its subtle aesthetic. Balancing from mellow heaviness ("This Cut Is the Deepest" ) to pissed-off-and-still-stylish-attitudes ("Cathedral Walls"), the record falls sort of authenticity. A couple of threnetic guitar leads echoing throughout "Of Death and Corruption" manage to offer some moments of intensity, but the pseudo-doominess strikes back ("April 14th"), shrouding the better moments into obscurity. Eventually, what is left is an indistinguishable taste of bleak monotony bespattered with rare drops of inspiration.

It is by no means easy to doom Swallow the Sun into oblivion, judging them from a perspective that demands novelty, diversity or concreteness. The band seems neither to be under any inspirational upheaval, nor an identity crisis. Emerald Forest And The Blackbird is a focused, streamlined album, suitable for specific audiences - and this is a well known fact to most of these who are reading this review. Still it is destined to remain in such territories and accept several amounts of praise from the genre's followers. A step neither back nor forward.



Recent reviews by this author
Balthazar RatsCaspian Waking Season
Gravenhurst The Ghost in DaylightAU Both Lights
If These Trees Could Talk Red ForestA Place to Bury Strangers Onwards To The Wall
user ratings (134)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Kyle Ward STAFF (2.5)
An album that somehow gives us very little with so much...

Nikkolae (4)
Take “Morningrise” Opeth, pour a cup of Doom, listen repeatedly, enjoy....


Comments:Add a Comment 
CaptainDooRight
January 31st 2012



26444 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

yeah this album sucks hard

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

scissorlocked
January 31st 2012



3479 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I wrote this cause the other review seemed hyperbolic imo

streams here: http://www.inferno.fi/inferno-tarjoaa-kuuntele-uusi-swallow-the-sun-levy-6513/

constructive criticism is always welcome!

Digging: Fantastic Mr Fox - Sketches

CaptainDooRight
January 31st 2012



26444 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

pos




Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 31st 2012



16004 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The more I listen to this the more my rating goes down.

Digging: Katatonia - Kocytean

Apollo
January 31st 2012



10083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review, I completely disagree with the rating but good review nonetheless.

You seem to base most of you're criticism upon the fact that this is not innovative. This never claimed to be innovative, simply a great modern doom record I would think.

Still you argue you're points well and thus, this review is much better than the other current one.

fsharptrit0ne
January 31st 2012



4628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea apollo

Apollo
January 31st 2012



10083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think this review deserves a feature

CaptainDooRight
January 31st 2012



26444 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

":simply a great modern doom record I would think"

you think wrong

Gmork89
January 31st 2012



5402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think not, sorry. Good review though, pos'd.

Apollo
January 31st 2012



10083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@ Captainassclown

stfu moron



CaptainDooRight
January 31st 2012



26444 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

yes deck hand

tkxxx7
January 31st 2012



6146 Comments


It is out of question that a brain-heated youngster will someday write a Swallow the Sun-alike song, nor the band has formed any certain style or a distinguishable characteristic that will preserve its reference to the metal community or press.


what?

Gyromania
January 31st 2012



14653 Comments


Yeah... that makes zero sense.

Apollo
January 31st 2012



10083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

congrats on the feature!

but ya change that line...

Gyromania
January 31st 2012



14653 Comments


Could you elaborate on that line, scissor? Because I'm not even entirely sure I get what you're trying to say. Also, I think you meant 'relevance' isn't of 'reference'. Other than that this is a pretty good review. I don't like this too much either, but I still love The Morning Never Came immensely.

Vyndax
January 31st 2012



128 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nice review.

I think I'm going to like this after more listens.

Dreamflight
January 31st 2012



1760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

From what I've heard, you've perfectly described the whole thing. Great job buddy.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 31st 2012



5612 Comments


congrats on the feature homie!!

idk if i will check this out tho.





EDIT: pos.

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

scissorlocked
January 31st 2012



3479 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

wow, that's my first feature!

thank everyone for the feedback!As for that messed up line I'll fix it now!

also, as for your first comment Apollo: I have totally in mind that innovation isn't the record's driving force:

Emerald Forest And The Blackbird is a focused, streamlined album, suitable for specific audiences - and this is a well known fact to most of these who are reading this review.

But I just consider innovation (relevant to the band's or the genre's evolution) to be a major point in music criticism as whole

rasputin
January 31st 2012



14504 Comments


a great modern doom record


loooool



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy