Swallow the Sun
Emerald Forest and the Blackbird


4.0
excellent

Review

by Nikkolae USER (21 Reviews)
January 30th, 2012 | 34 replies | 4,092 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Take “Morningrise” Opeth, pour a cup of Doom, listen repeatedly, enjoy.

2 of 4 thought this review was well written

I'm just gonna come out and say it, New Moon was great, the aggressive/depressive atmosphere, the song writing, the arrangements, the vocals, the artwork alone was impressive!, in my books, its pretty much one of the best contemporary Doom metal albums, so when I realized that Swallow the Sun was putting out a new record I was intrigued to say the least, and they failed to disappoint.

So what is different? what is it that makes this album so good, it's a collection of things really, which can be summed up in one swift word, “Direction”, while I loved New Moon it lacked a certain something, a sense of focus, not that the music itself was bad, far from it, it just needed to stay in check sometimes, instead of going all out on aggressiveness and try to trash everything in its passionate and despair filled rage the should of tried to hit home with every shout and poisonous word, this in turn would end up making it both substantially more somber and uncomfortable to listen than as it already was, and its at this point where Swallow the Sun put on their thinking caps and realized such thing, intentionally trying to proverbially pummel your soul into a soft mushy substance when pissed off, waving their anger as a two edge sword that cuts them as much as the object of their hatred and retrieving to soft introspection after the anger has been subdued.

Even more so, they have taken everything that made New Moon so unearthly sad and expanded on it, but they also managed to keep it accessible, maintaining an aural assault on the ears when the occasion calls for it and then subsiding to a far more organic sound, thus providing an expansive and calming sound, juxtaposed by the dichotomy that characterizes them and creating an atmosphere that lets you see sunlight at the end of the tunnel, but for how long?, its completely up to them, and they wont let you go that easily.

Recommended tracks:
Hate, Lead The Way
Cathedral Walls
Labyrinth of London (Horror pt. IV)



Recent reviews by this author
Teen Flirt Welcome HomeIDYLLS Prayer for Terrene
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherGrieved Ageing
Xbalanke IridioFuture Islands On the Water
user ratings (135)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Kyle Ward STAFF (2.5)
An album that somehow gives us very little with so much...

scissorlocked (2.5)
In which Swallow the Sun keep it true (and we yawn)...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nikkolae
January 30th 2012



4746 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stream:

http://www.inferno.fi/inferno-tarjoaa-kuuntele-uusi-swallow-the-sun-levy-6513/

Digging: We Came Out Like Tigers - Ever-Crushed at Pecket's Well

Killerhit
January 30th 2012



5188 Comments


Take “Morningrise” Opeth


Already no. But great review.

fsharptrit0ne
January 30th 2012



4813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is a goodin

seedofnothing
January 30th 2012



3425 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I have this album on my I pod but haven't listened to it since I've heard the album stream posted on sputnik news. Will have to listen and I'll read ur review later.

Cells
January 30th 2012



1875 Comments


band had like 1 good song and that was it

Nikkolae
January 30th 2012



4746 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you really should seed, its a great album.

botb
January 30th 2012



9520 Comments


really like this band on hope so i'll probably check it out

pizzamachine
January 30th 2012



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nikkolae, do you know what a run-on sentence is?

Shuyin
January 30th 2012



11097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

love this band, will be listenning to this very soon

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue with the Stars

bloc
January 30th 2012



34660 Comments


I found the band's past albums to have a few goodies and nothing more, but damn your summary makes me want to obtain this.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This was good but underwhelming. Probably like a 3.25. Can't say there are any real standout tracks but the album as a whole is cohesive and enjoyable, but ask me whether I want to listen to this or TMNC and I'd choose the latter any day.

Apollo
January 30th 2012



10239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love the album and the review is good but maybe add some capitals at the beginning of each paragraph?

Good shit though dude

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh and neg because there are 3 sentences in the entire review and in general the grammar is horrid.

kaparoni
January 30th 2012



99 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'll probably buy the album as soon as he will be at the near music store . New moon was great and I hope this one too . One thing that seems odd to me is the Artwork . Looks strange to me but in the other hand New moon artwork was't too good so whatever... Don't realy care about it ( tough artwork is one of the important parameters when I'm going to buy an album.)

Digging: Iron Maiden - Brave New World

Apollo
January 30th 2012



10239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was trying to be nice, so I pos'd but Crysis is kinda right. Clean the review up a bit dude. Add some punctuation, capitals and run this through a spell check on MS word.

Apollo
January 30th 2012



10239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"tough artwork is one of the important parameters when I'm going to buy an album"

really? well, I guess it's been almost 5 years since I purchased a cd or any vinyl so I never really care about album art anymore

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah I'll pos if you clean up the grammar (why on Earth is sad capitalized in the last paragraph?) and
fix the run-ons.

Nikkolae
January 30th 2012



4746 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@pizza: yes i do, and i'll fix that
@bloc: get it! its worth a shot!
@crysis: in a way swallow the sun try to re-write TMNC with each new album so its a pretty close race for me when it comes to their discography, i really really loved Hate, Lead the Way though.
@apollo: im on it.

thanks for the feedback people

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

in a way swallow the sun try to re-write TMNC with each new album so its a pretty close race for me when it comes to their discography, i really really loved Hate, Lead the Way though.

That's true, but I feel like they've become more and more streamlined and predictable with each release. By now it all feels incredibly forced despite the fact that the music still sounds good.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012



17999 Comments


Take “Morningrise” Opeth


stopped reading there

Digging: Autechre - Draft 7.30



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy