ScHoolboy Q
Habits and Contradictions


4.0
excellent

Review

by Cardboardbox USER (2 Reviews)
January 29th, 2012 | 286 replies | 21,523 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Black Hippy has created another album that , like Kendrick Lamar's Section 80 should not be overlooked

7 of 9 thought this review was well written

If you've heard of Kendrick Lamar and taken interest in him ,chances are you have stumbled upon Schoolboy Q and the Black Hippy crew. Each Black Hippy member has their own unique contribution to the reinvention of west coast hip hop. Schoolboy Q might just be the most odd , he has an awkward flow , drug fueled subject matter and the past of being a Compton Hoover Crip. Habits and Contradictions is an example of Q finding his voice and proving ground that he can stand next to Kendrick.

The production on Habits and Contradictions is a combination of weed induced spacey melodies and dark, claustrophobic drum kick dominated beats in one consistent package. In Dave Fee's ''How we Feeling'' it feels as if it was made for a Kid Cudi who was locked in a room full of all the drugs you could possibly imagine. More upbeat tracks like ''Druggys wit Hoes'' with a heavy bass line and a boom clap , keeps Habits and Contradictions from turning into another stoner rap album. While ''Hands on the Wheel'' takes a sample from Lissie's cover of Kid Cudi's Pursuit of happiness that I imagine will become an anthem for anyone about to smoke a J with some buddies.

When it comes to lyricism Schoolboy Q is all over the place , his flow is unpredictable, he raps about getting high, small scale story telling about his time going up in South Central and of course sex and Women. ''Oxy Music'' possibly the most stand out track in the first listen is about Q's history selling Oxy. The track ''Blessed'' is the most honest track on the album with an opener like '' What's it like for a nigga like me, livin out his backpack needin a new place to sleep'' and the chorus speaking about the idea like ''we all blessed my nigga, don't stress my nigga''. It shows that Q is able to spread his talents across the lyrical spectrum.

Habits and Contradictions reveals that Q can stand his own ground next to Kendrick Lamar and contemporary West Coast hip hop all together. This release is more than worth taking a listen because it will probably become a new favourite for the contemporary hip hop following.


user ratings (279)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
rmill3r (2.5)
An eerie, forlorn tone haunts the better parts of "Habits"--it's just too bad that those moments are...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Cardboardbox
January 29th 2012



45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Kay so Its under the actual Album .....why is it all the way down there

Inveigh
January 29th 2012



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album's good, I don't think it's that close to Section 80 in terms of quality though.

good review sir, have a pos

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

gabethepiratesquid
January 29th 2012



4521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Kendrick and ASAP's verses on this album are soooo good.

Inveigh
January 29th 2012



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^agreed

I wish this guy had a better handle on how to flow because the beats on this record are pretty stellar

Cardboardbox
January 29th 2012



45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks ...its my first review ..
And Personally I think Kendrick and Q both got their own strengths
While Kendrick is more Concious Rap and a more talented rapper
Q definitely puts out dope tracks

gabethepiratesquid
January 29th 2012



4521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I do like how what keeps ScHoolboy from being just another weed rapper is how fucking real he is. You
can genuinely tell that if he wasn't rapping, then he'd be six feet deep or in a jail cell.

Cardboardbox
January 29th 2012



45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and the Best Thing is , He does not act all hard like most rappers that came straight of the hood , He isn't tryyin to prove he's from compton

FelixCulpa
January 29th 2012



1239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really dig this album, the beats are just awesome.

Tupik
January 29th 2012



671 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review

Digging: Mick Jenkins - The Water[s]

dcha
January 29th 2012



990 Comments


Qaulity

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2012



31097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

become a new favourite for anyone into "Q"aulity hip hop

(^ See what I did There)


Oh god

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Polymath
January 29th 2012



3836 Comments


The beats are ridiculous.

Inveigh
January 29th 2012



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

listened to this again today, realized it sounds kinda like Kid Cudi

normally that wouldn't be a good thing but for some reason it doesn't bother me here

gabethepiratesquid
January 29th 2012



4521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I think the spacey beats and the fact that he samples Kid Cudi doesn't hurt with that but ScHoolboy actually raps.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2012



31097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Reviewer: try and edit your review, that might eliminate the big ass space at the top

Hawks
January 29th 2012



35647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Setbacks is an awesome album. I'm gonna have to listen to this one.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

gabethepiratesquid
January 30th 2012



4521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It's better overall except the only way it doesn't live up to Setbacks is that it loses a lot of how personal Setbacks was.

Cardboardbox
January 30th 2012



45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Any Tips on getting rid of the space at the top ? ...
I tried Editing like 80 times

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012



31097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Maybe copy the review into word (or any other document program) and then just re-paste it. Other than that, maybe ask a mod?

Cardboardbox
January 30th 2012



45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks I'll try that out



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy