Lamb of God
Resolution


3.5
great

Review

by Alexandre Hamel USER (5 Reviews)
January 28th, 2012 | 14 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Whether you want to call them a heavy metal, metalcore or groove metal band, Lamb of God definitely struck hard by releasing “Resolution”.

After the acclaimed record “Sacrament” in 2006, Lamb of God released “Wrath” which got a mixed reaction from fans. Well, all I can say is Lamb of God are back with a much more varied and diversified sound.

I admire this album more than LoG’s previous efforts for one main reason. On “Sacrament” and “Wrath”, I felt like the difference between each song was hardly noticeable. This is not the case on “Resolution”, a record incorporating a lot of different styles and sounds. For example, “Invictus” has a song structure the band hadn’t explored on their anterior albums. I also feel like all songs flow from one to the other, a thing that was more or less present on “Wrath”.

Vocals – Randy Blythe’s vocals have always gotten a mixed reaction from fans. While some might say that LoG would be better without him, others may love his aggressive and “in your face” style. His lows are still vigorous, while his high shrieks sound better than ever. I was never a fan of Lamb of God when it came to the vocals but Blythe undeniably took his high-pitched screams to a new level, giving the album a more brutal tone.

Rhythm and lead guitars - Known for their groovy and heavy sound, Lamb of God have added a melodic and catchy tone to their songs. Willie Adler still amazingly executes his parts, giving the band a unique sound, but Mark Morton’s solos are at another level. “The Undertow” contains one of the band’s best solos yet, and this is encouraging for the future. In general, guitar solos are incorporated in a way that was never seen before (on a LoG album).

Drums – As a drummer, I couldn’t say I’m amazed by Chris Adler on this record. He clearly has a lot of potential, but he doesn’t showcase his skills that much. Nevertheless, he doesn’t fail at being a metronome and leading the band into a fast tempo eargasm – nothing sexual here.

Overall, Lamb of God released an album that brings heaviness, without compromising other essential elements. This record is more than just a bunch of heavy as f*** riffs thrown together. It’s a “Resolution” altogether.


user ratings (708)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
SCREAM!
January 28th 2012


10142 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Lamb of God definitely stroke hard by releasing “Resolution”."

MetalMan79
January 28th 2012


102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

What's the problem with that?

MetalMan79
January 28th 2012


102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks man, it's corrected. What do you think about the review overall?

DarthMann
January 28th 2012


13815 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

good writing but fuck that format dude
wont neg or anything

who negged though

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2012


6114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

god damn i want some mozzarella sticks

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2012


8370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree with DathMann, the review isn't awful or anything, but that format just doesn't go down well with me (or, and I think I can generalize here, with most of sputnik).

MetalMan79
January 28th 2012


102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

ok, so you guys think I should go with what format? That was my second review btw

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2012


8370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm gonna forward you what is probably the best critique I've ever got on this site: You just need to lean away from the running commentary style of "the guitars go like this and the drums are this fast and the vocalist comes in here and there you can hear the bass etc."

Just focus on the album as a whole, describe it as an entity. Sure, you can (and most probably should) incorporate those aspects into your review, but make sure that the written piece is a full piece in the sense that it runs smoothly and naturally from start to finish. Incorporate stuff you want to say into literary paragraphs: have an introduction that leads into the body of the review, where you discuss the album as a whole, while bringing out how specific dynamics and aspects help/hurt the album; describe the atmosphere of the album; say what it offers to the listener and what its impact is; maybe compare it to other works from said band, or just other similar bands etc. Then slap a good, comprehensive conclusion on it and you're golden. When you've mastered the basics, from there on you'll just progress naturally as a writer.

For the time being, also, read the staff and contributor reviews here (I suggest taking a look at Crysis', Adam Thomas' and Willie's reviews especially, since they write in a rather simple, but extremely effective way). I already read that English is not your first language - don't worry, no one's expecting you to write a novel around here anyway, so don't worry about not having a thesaurus-like vocabulary ;). Just keep at it, take constructive crit into consideration, read other reviews, and you'll surely improve!

MetalMan79
January 28th 2012


102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks man, I just love the feedback I get on this site. Thanks again, will take all of this in consideration!

wakeupdead
January 28th 2012


2208 Comments


"Rhythm and lead guitars - Known for their groovy and heavy sound, Lamb of God have added a melodic and catchy tone to their songs."

I'm pretty sure LoG have always been melodic and catchy as hell

ChuckyTruant
January 28th 2012


15719 Comments


Yeah like most others, good writing, but not a fan of the format.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

MetalMan79
January 29th 2012


102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Ok, thanks for your feedback guys.

Butkuiss
February 1st 2012


4199 Comments


Sorry it took me so long to reply to this!

I really don't have much to say that others haven't already said. Your writing in itself is coherent and great to read (You're already improving in leaps and bounds), but the format comes off as a bit awkward. Try to review the individual instruments less and the album as a whole a bit more. Separating it into paragraphs for each instrument is a bit awkward to read.

Also, some people will tell you not to write in the first person (that is, use words such as "I" or "We"), because some see it as unprofessional, but really, it just comes down to personal preference, and how well you can make it work.

Good review though!

MetalMan79
February 1st 2012


102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Ok, thanks for all these tips. I'm writing another review now, it should be done by friday or saturday. I'll take all of this into consideration.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy