Metallica
Load


3.0
good

Review

by Neoteric USER (86 Reviews)
December 30th, 2005 | 749 replies


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist


Fanboys are sure a bitch right? They come in to praise their awesome thrash album and leave the mainstream ones in the bin. Every band has them, Megadeth fanboys lost fate when Cryptic Writings came out. Nirvana fanboys lost fate when Nevermind went 1000000x platinum. They always seem to have a reason to hate their favourite band. Metallica are no different to this rule. Their tr00 thrash fans dumped them when the twin Load/Reload CDs came out. They hate the mainstream ways the band had set out to pursue. They hated that 10 year olds started to find their music appealing. They hated that there was no long guitar solos. They hated everything about it. Tough luck to them though.

Usually when a band finds their own wee niche in the music world though, they use the same structure and keep to the same sounding songs. Metallica must have thought differently though. When they released Metallica (The Black Album to fans) new doors opened up and the band were ready to move into those doors. However when Metallica got to work on another new album they ended up writing 25 songs which would be spread across Load and its alter-ego Reload. Metallica ended up releasing the albums separate. Though the albums share the same sound. Load is the first album from the two and that is what this review is going to contain.

Okay, so what have we got here? A more mainstream sound of course. Not to say it isn’t heavy enough for metal fans but with the likes of “Hero of The Day” and “Mama Said” you can say where I’m coming from. The band’s technicality has dropped. I know Lars isn’t that great of a drummer but I didn’t think it was possible for his drumming to get more simple =O Kirk has decreased in solos and the riffs have upgraded. Jason got a better deal this time as his bass has been turned up immensely that I can actually hear it. James can sing a bit now but his vocal range is still limited.

What I liked about the album was that it was light and not too heavy. Many people disagree with me but it’s a nice change to the three minute solos and blinding riffs. They decided to stop showing off their technical wankery and worked on crafting actual songs that flow, that are simple but not to the point of boredom. Songs that work, ones that go somewhere. It was also more catchy, you can listen to it over and over again. What I didn’t like about the album is that the songs are still too long. Most of them are over five minutes with the longest song recorded at nine minutes forty-eight seconds. That was one of the reasons …And Justice For All was so hard to listen to. The songs were too long and uninspired. I’m glad that Metallica have come to their senses though when it comes to making songs for the mainstream. It sounds like they are now a (get this) rock band. The songs are simple, they don’t use full distortion riffs and wah-infested guitar solos. The lyrics are never a strong point but in many ways they have improved them. They aren’t filled with metaphorical crap, they also aren’t talking about death in every sentence. Out of the songs, my favourites are “Until It Sleeps” and “2x4”. “2x4” is quite straight forward rock song. Catchy guitar riff and everything. “Until It Sleeps” is a single though it is dead dark. It doesn’t sound like a Metallica song and is an original single. Good Choice. This album is good for a listen though some people would consider it a drop down.

My Metal Rating: 2/5
My Rock Rating: 4/5



Recent reviews by this author
Pink Reason Cleaning the MirrorThinking Fellers Local 282 Lovelyville
Primal Scream Beautiful FutureCan Future Days
King Crimson DisciplineWilliam Basinski Melancholia
user ratings (3196)
Chart.
2.7
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Thor
December 30th 2005


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Excellent review, and I agree with just about every word you say. While I still prefer the older Metallica, I do agree that this is a ROCK album and not a metal album.

Keep up the good work.

Neoteric
December 30th 2005


3243 Comments


[quote=Thor]Excellent review, and I agree with just about every word you say. While I still prefer the older Metallica, I do agree that this is a ROCK album and not a metal album.

Keep up the good work.[/quote]
Thanks That makes me feel good inside.


innerdark
December 30th 2005


749 Comments


I, personally, have always hated metallica,
I, personally, have always loved your reviews.

Priestmetal
December 30th 2005


542 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Im no Metallica fanboy. But this album is not good at all. Even if you put aside the whole "sold out" factor. Its quite repetitive IMO and it just seems like they put much less effort into the songs. There are a few highpoints like Until it Sleeps and ... Uh yea... ok. And their ballads are TERRIBLE. Compare the ballads on Load to lets say... Fade to Black or Nothing Else Matters. Metallica are capable of making much more interesting music than this.

Priestmetal
December 30th 2005


542 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

And actually I would give this more like a 2/5.

Jawaharal
December 30th 2005


1832 Comments


Whats with all these reviews and people begining them talking about fanboys?

Neoteric
December 30th 2005


3243 Comments



Whats with all these reviews and people begining them talking about fanboys?

I know, it's horrible but I'm sexy so people forgive me.

Neoteric
December 30th 2005


3243 Comments


I wish I had some more comments.

Damrod
Moderator
December 30th 2005


1093 Comments


Great work :thumb:

Never really got into Metallica, I only like a handful of songs by them. I like "Until it sleeps" best from this album, the rest is just not my cup of tea

Neoteric
December 30th 2005


3243 Comments


Comments?

Diabulus in musica
December 30th 2005


485 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice review, actually i think this album is pretty interesting, as i said on the other review, i think this is metallica's best in lyrics

Shattered_Future
December 30th 2005


1541 Comments


Good review.

I have Reload, but not this...Reload bored the hell out of me, save a few tracks. I'm assuming this is more of the same.

Joeeddstealschickens
January 28th 2006


110 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I thought that Load was awful, the songs in the most part were poor apart from King Nothing, Hero of the Day, Bleeding Me and The Outlaw Torn. However, the latter 3 sounded better on S&M anyway!

Bfhurricane
January 28th 2006


6197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Load was better than reload. This is still kind of bad though... when i say that Metallica is one of my favorite bands, i refer to their first 5 albums!

Jim
January 29th 2006


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't really think the songs go that long at all. And the 9 minute and 48 second track you describe is all the better for it's length, and one of my favourite Metallica tracks. Not their best album, by any means, but I do enjoy listening to it a lot.

kiosk2081
February 5th 2006


13 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

pretty good review... kinda harsh though


this album may not be the same style metal that metallica is famous for, but it is still a good album with quite a few good tracks.

CushMG15
February 12th 2006


1803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

House That Jack Built is some of Metallica's best songwriting, I think.

This is a good review. I must point out though, that the song name is "King Nothing" not "King of the Day." Otherwise, good review. I pretty much agree with everything you said. Reload and Load were my first introductions to Metallica.

Diabulus in musica
February 12th 2006


485 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

maybe he was trying to write hero of the day....and well i am a metallica fanboy and i dont hate this album, neither reload or st anger (wich i think i good), maybe its because this album, along with their s/t, is what got me into metal and metallica of course, i will always respect and admire the work that metallica have done in the past 23 years

Neoteric
February 13th 2006


3243 Comments


This is a good review. I must point out though, that the song name is "King Nothing" not "King of the Day." Otherwise, good review. I pretty much agree with everything you said. Reload and Load were my first introductions to Metallica.

Oops, :embarassed: I'll fix that.

metalfan17
March 18th 2006


20 Comments


Not bad album, i like until it sleeps, waste my hate and aint my bitch is my fav on the album, its awesome live. Good review too, but it sounds like your slagging off there older stuff a bit, either that or the people who only like the old stuff.
Also you were being a bit harsh on lars, hes an awesome drummer. You won't find much better.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy