Courtships
The Feral Sound


4.0
excellent

Review

by Channing Freeman STAFF
January 20th, 2012 | 76 replies | 10,255 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A very promising, very heavy hardcore debut.

It's pretty appropriate for me to be listening to and writing about Courtships' The Feral Sound on what would appear to be the eve of some major changes to the Internet. A member of Courtships asked me to review this album some time ago, giving me a link to the band's Facebook page along with something more: an offer for a Mediafire link. Wanting to eschew the hassle of repeated listens on a Facebook page, I of course asked for the download, and it was given without question. I promised not to share the link, but I have a feeling that I didn't really need to – Courtships are a little-known entity and I'm sure they wouldn't mind the exposure. I don't need to say how much something like SOPA would disrupt the careers of bands like Courtships, so I'll just express for the millionth time how grateful I am that small bands have the technological ability to quickly share their music with a lot of people.

Obviously the downside to that is the amount of shitty music out there, but gems like The Feral Sound make it worth it. The aesthetics of the album cover led me to believe initially that they were an emo band, but their sound is much more akin to bands like Botch and Coalesce. While there is some technicality at hand – notably “Comatose Lover,” with its Fall of Troy-esque leads – the focus is mostly on nebulous riffs that drop in and out, sometimes returning slightly skewed; the band is particularly good at making natural transitions between song sections, something with which a lot of similar bands have trouble. The best thing about The Feral Sound is its unrelenting nature; too many young bands subsist by feeding off the latest trends by writing bullshit “melodic” sections and incorporating awful clean vocals into their music. There is a lot of Trap Them in Courtships' sound, mainly in the vocals but also in the way their songs always move forward with a purpose and a clarity that most veteran hardcore bands would be proud to display. One of the flagship merits of punk music is that it states its message clearly and simply so that it can be understood and shared with as many people as possible. Courtships do that and much more with The Feral Sound.



Recent reviews by this author
Trophy Scars Holy VacantsThe Menzingers Rented World
La Dispute Rooms of the HouseMiley Cyrus Bangerz
Letlive. The Blackest BeautifulKanye West Yeezus
user ratings (33)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
tkxxx7
January 19th 2012


6153 Comments


in the way their songs always moves


move*

will be checking this out

have a spiritual pos

artificialbox
January 19th 2012


628 Comments


Wow these guys are awesome.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2012


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ya mare got that right when you commented

here is their facebook page with the whole album on it: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Courtships/141974859197139?sk=app_2405167945

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2012


15035 Comments


whats with this fuckin two paragraph bullshit when did we become sputPUSSIES

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2012


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

robertsona's reviews vs. my attention span

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2012


15035 Comments


says the guy who opened a taylor swift review with like twenty paragraphs on glee(owned)

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2012


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah at least their weren't mla citations at the end you stickrubber

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2012


15035 Comments


yeah, well...nice.........Fuck

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2012


17212 Comments


hey bout time you reviewed this hahaha it's good shit

Digging: Inigo Kennedy - Vaudeville

TrapThemAlive
January 19th 2012


650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

great album. glad you reviewed it

Cadaveric
January 19th 2012


152 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've been a member of this website for a really long time. It's an honor to get a band i'm in reviewed =] thanks channing

Spec
January 19th 2012


27167 Comments


Good shit.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2012


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've been a member of this website for a really long time. It's an honor to get a band i'm in reviewed =] thanks channing


slep?

Spec
January 19th 2012


27167 Comments


Looks like we got a local celebrity.

Cadaveric
January 19th 2012


152 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm a rock star mayne

Also, my username has always been Cadaveric. when it was mxforums my username was weerez1391 hahahah

Spec
January 19th 2012


27167 Comments


Well your band is pretty good.

Cadaveric
January 19th 2012


152 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

haha i'm just joshing ya. i'm just a guy that likes to play dive bars. Everyone check out our home videos:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Courtships/141974859197139#!/video/video.php?v=2084190097382

Activista anti-MTV
January 19th 2012


3140 Comments


Awesome sounding album cover

balcaen
January 19th 2012


3183 Comments


fuck yeah this shit sounds good.

Acanthus
January 19th 2012


9542 Comments


Nice to see a Chan review, not to mention it's take on current events. Band looks interesting, thanks for the FB link!

Digging: Falls of Rauros - The Light That Dwells in Rotten Wood



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy