Genesis
Genesis


3.0
good

Review

by rodrigo90 USER (2 Reviews)
January 17th, 2012 | 21 replies


Release Date: 1983 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The album is not so sood, but no so bad, i think is worthy if you are fan of this Genesis version. Buy either the self-titled or Invisible touch, which are the only worthy albums in the last years of Genesis.

While i found Abacab the start of probably the worst era of genesis, there's no question why Phil Collins was so popular. Back then in the early 80's when Phil released his first album "Face Value" and his success with the single "In the Air Tonight" there was no doubt that phil collins was not actually a fan of the progressive rock genre so Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford helped him to go deeper and transform genesis in another band, another band that probably Peter Gabriel or Steve Hackett couldn't recognise.

When this album still sounds as boring as Abacab the album is along with Invisible Touch the most balanced records in the last period of the band with Collins.

The first track of the album "Mama", doesn't tell me anything, even if it is one of the last progressive rock songs that became a hit in the mid 80's. The only thing i enjoyed from the song is the sinister laugh of Phil in the track, the rest is pretty much the same

The other single of the album "That's All" is exactly the same formula of "No Reply at All", funny as hell but it didn't sound like Genesis is more like Genesis trying to sound like Phil Collins.

The main dish of this album are 4 or if you want 3 particular songs in the album home by the sea/second home by the sea, just a job to do and taking it all too hard.

Home by the sea/second home by the sea, is considered by me the last worth progressive rock song of genesis along with !Me and Sarah Jane! on Abacab, "Tonight, Tonight, Tonigh"! and "The Brazilian" on Invisible Touch, the others songs that genesis made in a progressive style (Mama, Domino, Driving the Last Spike and Fading Lights) were failed attempts of genesis trying to return to their signature old sound of the 70's.

Just a job to do is along keep it dark one of the most funniest songs that Phil collins ever composed on Genesis, and probably one of the last songs of Genesis that the subject wasn't about love.

And finally Taking it all too hard is one of the best pop songs that Genesis ever recorded as a band, forget "I know What I Like", this is probably better than the pop song in Peter's era


user ratings (246)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
Matthijs van der Lee (3)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
TenebraeInvictus
January 16th 2012


56 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This review was very poorly written. Grammar is one bad thing, and what also plagues this is the giant amount of opinions and comparisons to other songs by Genesis, as well as the track by track approach. Then again, it is a first review... Ah, whatever.

I like this album - well, most of it. I enjoy this approach to pop more than the "undisputed masterpiece" of Genesis.

rodrigo90
January 16th 2012


210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well i tried to listen the record more deeply but the others songs are even MORE boring than the ones i mention.
By the way English is not my first language so this is my first try to write something that is not in Spanish.
And one more thing is i think that i have read worst reviews than the one i did, i swear.

rodrigo90
January 16th 2012


210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i think that illegal alien is so bad that it sounds like a song that could have been written by any pop singer except genesis

TenebraeInvictus
January 16th 2012


56 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I listen to usually the first 5 tracks then listen to track 7. The others aren't very appealing.

Siamois
January 16th 2012


40 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hi Rodrigo.

It's not easy writing in another language (I am in the same boat, English isn't my first language) but I do think your review also needed another critical pass before being submitted. For instance, you say "the album sounds boring" while giving it a 3 score (Good). These things are mutually exclusive. If you make a blanket statement on the whole album, calling it boring, the score needs to reflect this.

Also, while I think it can be useful to say what an album does not sound like, it's more useful to tell me what it *does* sound like. You spend a lot of time telling people this isn't like Peter Gabriel-era genesis but very little telling us what it sounds like.

I hope you keep on reviewing and please don't take the criticisms as a slight. Just trying to be helpful.

KILL
January 16th 2012


71981 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

DarthMann
January 16th 2012


13818 Comments


just do what acad did and write a review in spanish theyll love you

rodrigo90
January 16th 2012


210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

just do what acad did and write a review in spanish theyll love you

Nah that would probably make the review less interesting, first of all, the page is full of English speaking people right? and the second is, I have more fun writing something in English than in Spanish, because there's some type of thinking that i consider is more catchy to say it in English, don't ask me why

Horsehammer
January 17th 2012


550 Comments


this is in dire need of a spell/grammar check. send this through word, then try again. goodbye

Restrikted
January 17th 2012


1889 Comments


ACAD ALT!

KILL
January 26th 2012


71981 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sucks

NeutralThunder12
January 26th 2012


8742 Comments


when all the 70s prog bands went pop genesis was the worst out of all of them

KILL
January 26th 2012


71981 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yes were worse i think

dannyboy89
February 1st 2012


12091 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm finishing this record. I must say I liked it, but I liked Duke more.

DarthMann
February 1st 2012


13818 Comments


progmaster dude you like btbam and metallica more than slayer dam

dannyboy89
March 12th 2012


12091 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This review needs either a) editing or b) erasing. Seriously.

someguest
June 13th 2012


20929 Comments


now this is a ROCKER isn't it KILL

Digging: Dexter Gordon - Our Man in Paris

someguest
June 13th 2012


20929 Comments


no kidding

miketunneyiscool123
August 17th 2014


659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This record kills.

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

LepreCon
August 17th 2014


4147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not really



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy