Burial and Four Tet
Ego/Mirror


4.0
excellent

Review

by Andru Okenuf USER (31 Reviews)
January 15th, 2012 | 35 replies | 4,546 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 2 songs that should be all over the radio

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Will Bevan is notoriously reclusive. In spite of his ever-increasing celebrity, he has continually refused to perform in front of an audience and has given very few interviews since it was revealed that he was the man behind Burial in 2008. It therefore came as a surprise when he decided to include Thom Yorke (of Radiohead) in his second collaboration with former schoolmate Kieran Hebden (better known as Four Tet).

Yet what’s perhaps even more surprising is that the Radiohead front man, one of the quintessential music figures of our time, appears to take a backseat in the recording process. With his incredibly unique brand of dark, brooding and subtle dubstep, Burial’s beats direct the collaboration, and his low pulsing rhythms are matched by Four Tet’s high hats and Yorke’s distinct and effeminate vocals. Content to run with what they are given, Yorke and Hebden give greater balance and ease to Burial’s usual sound.

In the ultra-smooth and more straightforward Ego, Four Tet and Burial establish their connection before Thom Yorke seduces us (“I bet they just throw themselves at you”). The song rises us, willing us to move, shiver and get intoxicated by the sounds. Yet it is dynamic enough that it wouldn’t be out of place if playing in a dancehall or a lounge bar.

The more complex and introspective Mirror balances things out beautifully. This time it is Four Tet and Thom Yorke who establish a connection first, as Burial weaves in and around, taking the lead and dropping his dynamic beat only when he needs to. “Reveal yourself / Show yourself” pleads Thom Yorke amidst a gorgeously dystopian atmosphere, giving recognition to the struggles of looking yourself in the eye and trying to come to terms with who you really are.

Many had an astonishingly negative reaction to this release, calling it overindulgent and wishing simply that the 3 artists in question would release another LP of their own rather than waste time on a 2 song collaboration. But with all the dynamics of these 3 ultra-talented musicians on full display, take the time to sit back and enjoy what they managed to create; you won’t be disappointed.



Recent reviews by this author
The xx CoexistThe Future Sound of London Lifeforms
Tricky MaxinquayeAnais Mitchell Young Man in America
Exoplanet Nothing Divides Us HereNicolas Jaar Don't Break My Love
user ratings (59)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
aok
January 15th 2012



4165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

since no one else was gonna write this, i figured it could use some more attention with a quick little
writeup. lemme know if you got some edits for me and what your impressions were of this little
collaboration.

Ego: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=91tcYBQBzL4
Mirror: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0RU49Ujys3c
Wolf Club: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LzgET6dq96I (without Thom Yorke)

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2012



6248 Comments


Great review, Andy! At first glance, everythings a-ok ;)

I'd like Bevan to go back to producing stuff on his own, his collabs in 2011 weren't really all that.

Digging: Amatorski - From Clay To Figures

aok
January 15th 2012



4165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks dude. and yea, well, i disagree about the collabs but more burial in any form is always a plus
:]

scissorlocked
January 15th 2012



3479 Comments


awesome!

Listening to ego right now- it's pretty good

Digging: Fantastic Mr Fox - Sketches

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2012



6248 Comments


Idk, maybe I'm spoiled after his two full-lenghts, but I found the EP's a bit too 'light', if you know what I mean?

aok
January 15th 2012



4165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i kinda know what you mean, but i'm always astounded by the chemistry he manages to have with some of my favorite artists, and i dig the aesthetic too much to be disappointed

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2012



6248 Comments


Aesthetic?

Adash
January 15th 2012



1356 Comments


Street Halo was a fucking stomper; sound of Bevan finally overcoming his existential fears and getting a groove on.
This makes me think he's still terrified, which is no bad thing

Nice work

aok
January 15th 2012



4165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@clercqie - yea, the emotional level generated by the group

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2012



6248 Comments


Ah right, got it mixed up with another meaning. My bad

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2012



48526 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cool
I just got this

Digging: The Hotelier - Home, Like NoPlace Is There

Jash
January 15th 2012



4243 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review man, pos. I can't wait for the new Burial EP, I've beel listening to the 2 minute radio clip of Ashtray Wasp sooooooo much the last few days, I honestly think the full song could be my new fav Burial track

Digging: Wen - Signals

Tyrannic
January 15th 2012



3224 Comments


i didn't know this existed. i think i just shit myself.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2012



30294 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

since revealing he was the man behind Burial in 2008.


He didn't reveal anything, it was the Guardian. He just confirmed it after they went apeshit trying to track him down

appears to take a backseat in the recording process.


Well, he is just doing the vocals....

The more complex and introspective Mirror balances things out beautifully. This time it is Four Tet and Thom Yorke


Uh..... what track are you hearing? 'Mirror' is pure Bevan, I don't even think Four Tet has anything to do with that track

Many reacted astonishingly negatively to this release,


*negative

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

aok
January 16th 2012



4165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks for the corrections and suggestions. i feel like thom yorke and burial are kinda coasting in 'ego', with four tet filling in more gaps. both yorke and bevan are a lot more ambitious with 'mirror' though. doesn't seem like four tet has any interaction with burial for 'mirror'

DarthMann
January 16th 2012



13467 Comments


is this a lot like untrue except with thom?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2012



30294 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i feel like thom yorke and burial are kinda coasting in 'ego',


I may be wrong on this, but unlike Moth/Wolf Club which was a collaborative effort, these tracks are individual works with Tet's being 'Ego'. So again, I'm pretty sure but not a hundred percent certain that Burial has nothing to do with that track, and vice versa

is this a lot like untrue except with thom?


'Mirror' is; 'Ego' is this kind of lo-fi tech house beat with a real subtle groove to it

Spec
January 16th 2012



26833 Comments


holy shit what is this

Spec
January 16th 2012



26833 Comments


orlly

Spec
January 16th 2012



26833 Comments


i'll wiki it just to be safe



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy