Cyanotic
MedPack Vol. 1


4.0
excellent

Review

by Acanthus USER (46 Reviews)
January 13th, 2012 | 57 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Change, it's here.

Cyanotic received critical acclaim for their brand of crunching guitars and slightly distorted vocals, all wrapped in a somewhat danceable beat wrapper. While the band hasn't released anything since 2010's The Medication Generation it seems that the time hasn't dulled their sensibilities; MedPack Vol. 1 is surprisingly good.

Fans of the group will be at home, but there's a decidedly new direction in sound that should garner some new potential listeners. MedPack Vol. 1 is full of ambiance, creating an atmosphere that almost has more in common with dark ambient bands than industrial noise acts, let alone the industrial metal of the groups previous endeavors. This is readily apparent on “Formless Memories (Part 1)” - a track that could easily have fit on Vangelis's Bladerunner score in the more tense moments of the film. A subtle beat starts the track, building intensity until it is abruptly cut off; the sigh of steam and the mournful sound of horns wrap the listener in a film noir haze until the beat is brought back to the forefront.

Vocally the E.P is very subtle, a strong opening effort on “Monochrome Skies (Grey Version)” soon dwindles into the low hiss of that found on “Hibernol (Featuring Hulverhead).” The first three tracks have a slow rhythm that just refrains from being ponderous, although the vocal effort on “Monochrome Skies” brings energy as well as accentuating this trait.

MedPack Vol. 1 was recorded, mixed, and mastered in a single week, and the result is almost an entirely new direction for a band previously known for its mixing of the more metal side of the genre. While some might be put off by the down tempo and ambient quality it would be a mistake to overlook such a strong effort; early 2012 has its industrial champion.



Recent reviews by this author
Gary Numan Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)Ryan Amon Elysium
Shpongle Museum of ConsciousnessAnamanaguchi Endless Fantasy
Sneaker Pimps Becoming RemixedJuno Reactor The Golden Sun Of The Great East
user ratings (14)
Chart.
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Acanthus
January 13th 2012


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Short, sweet, hopefully concise, and the first thing I've submitted in months.

Cheers!

Digging: MO - No Mythologies To Follow

pizzamachine
January 13th 2012


12572 Comments


Welcome back to writing. : ) pos

Acanthus
January 13th 2012


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd been trying, half finished reviews of Rotersand and Panic Lift being tossed around, but nothing was sticking - I was too much into my death metal Pandora Station but them BAM! this came along.

Willie
Moderator
January 13th 2012


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm hesitant to check out this kinder, gentler Cyanotic. I'll do it, though.

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

Acanthus
January 13th 2012


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's worth it, I'm trying to think of albums to rec but I keep coming back to soundtrack's and the like.

Acanthus
January 13th 2012


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh and thanks for the feature, it's my first!

HeathenEarthling
January 13th 2012


92 Comments


One additional thing worth mentioning is that this is a self-released digital EP, so you can stop asking your local record store why they've never heard of it and just go here: http://www.glitchmode.com/cyanotic/

Acanthus
January 13th 2012


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yup, news article is up too and if you're a redditor I've had the link up on r/industrialmusic for 11hrs now.

Geist
January 13th 2012


371 Comments


Interesting. I wasn't the biggest fan of their last release, so I'll check out what they have to offer here.

theashesfromautumn01
January 13th 2012


1031 Comments


album is pretty nice and this is coming from someone who doesnt like this genre.

Acanthus
January 13th 2012


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad your liking it, I love their older work to death so this was a surprise.

Acanthus
January 13th 2012


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It took forever, most things I review have been out for some time already.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2012


6340 Comments


Well written, pos and congrats for the feature.

The Meditation Generation was great, so i will check this sometime soon.



Digging: Madred - Supersonic Brainfuck Overdrive

Acanthus
January 13th 2012


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Vovoid, The Medication Generation is my favorite by them!

"Monochrome Skies (Grey Version)" comes from that album, so that might be something of interest.

MisterSteel
January 13th 2012


453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Review has me excited that they took a new direction, as I wasn't a fan of The Medication Generation. Will definitely check this out. Pos.

Tyrannic
January 13th 2012


3262 Comments


congrats on the feature, pos.

Acanthus
January 13th 2012


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys, hopefully you find something to enjoy here!

bloc
January 13th 2012


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only featured because Willie's heard of 'em

Willie
Moderator
January 13th 2012


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What a buzz-kill. Actually this and that other review were featured because they're well-written, new releases and the feature area has been stagnate since before Christmas.

bloc
January 13th 2012


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nah man



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy