Martyr
Hopeless Hopes


4.0
excellent

Review

by KILL USER (57 Reviews)
January 5th, 2012 | 73 replies | 4,170 views


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: infinite riffs

9 of 10 thought this review was well written

This band rules, from the moment you hear the opening riff on the title track, you know you are in for a hard ride. The riffs dont just excite, they massage you, they caress. the riff at 1:41 of the title track is the best riff i have heard. Moving on the next track named Prototype the first thing you notice is the riffs wont end, they are still there and as hard as before. Also some cool bass moments in this song like in the verse where it pops over the guitar it rules. The next song elementals starts slow but builds up and evolves into another riff fest, honestly i have never heard so many good riffs on an album since symbolic. The album pretty much follows the same formula throughout, while nipsky stands out as its really long and inner peace which has some of the best riffs ever made by man. The vocals are cool but sometimes he sounds a bit constipated, kinda similar to Max Cavalera but less gay. The Drums rule. The Bass is really good but maybe a bit too low in the mix, but when it becomes audible my god does it rock. But back to the riffs, they are special because they dont let up. Probably the craziest thing about the riffs is they are technical but catchy at the same time, the only other band to pull this off successfully is rush. these riffs were made to be heard. The production is very good, everything is clear as day and the distortion on the guitars is hard but also soothing, its very strange and it rules. Some of you may of heard of this band through DEATH because chuck apparently ripped off the riff before the solo in Inner Peace, which chuck used as the main riff of SPIRIT CRUS, nah i wont do it. While i love death and would be pissed if someone said this to me, it is in fact true.

This is their best album by far and i recommend this album to fans of death metal or just fans of good music in general, the riffs are some of the best ever heard, and if you listen close, you will hear the true genius of hopeless hopes.



Recent reviews by this author
Chicane Behind the SunLush Mad Love
Cryptic Slaughter ConvictedMeat Puppets In a Car
Porcupine Tree Up the DownstairHeathen Victims of Deception
user ratings (47)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Warp Zone

Feeding the Abscess
recommended by reviewer
Death Symbolic
Death Symbolic

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2012



49736 Comments


No bullshit real reviewing m/

Digging: Kyary Pamyu Pamyu - Pikapika Fantajin

KILL
January 5th 2012



70298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

my worst review yet, but damn it needed one bad

why the the fuck this is rated the lowest of their discog here is beyond me

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

KILL
January 5th 2012



70298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

holy shit trebor how did you comment before me

pizzamachine
January 5th 2012



12571 Comments


dat album cover

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2012



49736 Comments


I don't know, I clicked on it from the review section

bloc
January 5th 2012



34649 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rocks.

I actually like Feeding the Abscess more though.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

KILL
January 5th 2012



70298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its a great album, nameless faceless fuckin rules but this just has harder riffs i think

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2012



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

if this riffs that hard i guess i gotta hear

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2012



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the riff at 1:41 of the title track is the best riff i have heard.


bold statement right there

KILL
January 5th 2012



70298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dammit hawks already negged

crysis you would prob dig this hard, fade the production is way too clean but theres some demos of the songs on youtube i think you'd dig

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2012



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

get outta work in an hour then gonna satan to this fuck it may just satan while at work who cares right

KILL
January 5th 2012



70298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

right on dude

Hawks
January 5th 2012



34194 Comments


dammit hawks already negged

What? Lol

Digging: Manners - Pale Blue Light

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2012



17998 Comments


listened to a song on youtube, production was good for tech death and i usually hate tech death so will listen

Digging: Autechre - Draft 7.30

Tyrael
January 5th 2012



20707 Comments


dammit hawks already negged

funi

nice review KILL!

KILL
January 5th 2012



70298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think my next review is gonna be something not metal

prob meat puppets or something

Jethro42
January 5th 2012



12351 Comments


KILL strikes again!

KILL
January 5th 2012



70298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

check this hard jethro

MO
January 5th 2012



18180 Comments


fuck yes Martyr is one of the best Canadian metal bands ever

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2012



19895 Comments


Another KILL review, awesome. Pos'd.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy