Lycus
Demo MMXI


3.5
great

Review

by Angel STAFF
January 4th, 2012 | 24 replies | 4,107 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Coming soon to a funeral near you!

California seems to be quite the hotbed for metal at the moment, even if most of it‘s of the blackened variety. But with doom seeing a bit of a resurgence in the last year, it shouldn’t come as much of a surprise to anyone that there’s a talented act on the West Coast popping up at just the right time to add fuel to the fire. If playing gigs with the Bay Area’s best (bands like Fell Voices and Ash Borer) isn’t enough to get your name out there, sharing a drummer with the much heralded Deafheaven certainly can’t hurt. While Lycus are a much different beast than their black metal brethren, they do seem to share much of the organic and, at times, grimy aesthetic that makes those groups so appealing and even go as far as to work in a bit of the genre into their own processional stylings. While it’s unclear at this point just how much attention the group will receive amidst the ruckus being caused by their peers, their first recorded offering to the masses, the aptly-titled Demo MMXI, is certainly a promising start.

“Resonance in Aether” kicks things off in somber fashion with heavy guitar chords colliding with steady percussion and low growls while another, more droning voice emanates hauntingly from behind the other layers. The second track follows suit to further engage and entrance while taking a few pleasant twists and turns along the way. Closer “Aghast” throws a bigger curve ball in the form of frenzied black metal fury, blasting and screeches included. The brief pulse of aggression recedes as quickly as it came, subsiding once more into mournful plodding.

While Demo MMXI lacks a lot of the swelling emotion of its contemporaries, it more than makes up for it with distinctive atmosphere, complements of great production and instrumental nuance. The drumming stands out as a bit more colorful than most music built around the bleak, sluggish frame of doom but never sounds out of place. Lycus appear to already possess the musical talent and much of the subtly dynamic songwriting skill to be depressive heavyweights and, with a bit of fine-tuning, have the potential to unleash some truly exceptional funeral doom on the world. Maybe it’s not as sunny in SoCal as we all thought…



Recent reviews by this author
Chelsea Wolfe Pain Is BeautyPrurient Through the Window
Muknal / The Haunting Presence SplitStorm Corrosion Storm Corrosion
Rudimentary Peni CacophonyNoothgrush Erode the Person
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
January 4th 2012



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

For more info, "Lycus" on Facebook!

Tyrael
January 4th 2012



20442 Comments


Oh god yes. The track you posted on facebook ruled face so I'm definitely checking this out.

Killer review Angel, pos'd.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
January 4th 2012



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There's a lot of relatively unknown stuff from last year that I'd like to bring some attention to but haven't had the time. I was, however, able to make an exception in the case of this relatively short write-up.

Pentagon
January 4th 2012



1998 Comments


For more info, "Lycus" on Facebook!

roflcopter

balcaen
January 4th 2012



3183 Comments


cover is so tumblr


Hawks
January 4th 2012



33363 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This sounds pretty awesome. Nice review as always Angel.

Tyrael
January 4th 2012



20442 Comments


There's a lot of relatively unknown stuff from last year

Yeah man I'm gonna review that Antediluvian album because it didn't get a lot of attention ^^

Hawks
January 4th 2012



33363 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

New Antediluvian was so good.

Anyways, listening to this now.

Sevhead
January 4th 2012



569 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Deafheaven drummer, you say? Will listen.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
January 4th 2012



17390 Comments


m/

Digging: Steve Moore - Zero-Point Field

Hawks
January 4th 2012



33363 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good stuff.

iFghtffyrdmns
January 4th 2012



7047 Comments


clear and concise enough for me to finish reading it before my pseudo-ADHD got the best of me.
yep good job - though I won't be listening to this.

BallsToTheWall
January 4th 2012



44164 Comments


Rules hard.

Sevhead
January 4th 2012



569 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

these vocals are ungodly

Hawks
January 4th 2012



33363 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Closer “Aghast” throws a bigger curve ball in the form of frenzied black metal fury, blasting and screeches included.

Best song/part on the demo.

ShadowRemains
January 4th 2012



19445 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nasty stuff

seedofnothing
January 4th 2012



3425 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Excellent Review!

"but also go as far as to even work in a bit of the genre into their own processional stylings"

Should read: but also goes as far as incorporating a bit of the genre into their own......

*Using even after "as far as" sounds redundant.

"Maybe it’s not as sunny in SoCal as we all thought…"

Residing in "SoCal", I got a kick out of that. Listening to this now, thanks for sharing.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2012



5626 Comments


The summary is so win, will read later.

Digging: The 3rd and the Mortal - Painting On Glass

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2012



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks. I reworked that sentence a bit.

zaruyache
January 5th 2012



4853 Comments


"For more info, 'Lycus' on Facebook!"

>:/

Digging: Paramnesia - Paramnesia



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy