Whores.
Ruiner


4.0
excellent

Review

by Statrick Pickles USER (63 Reviews)
January 3rd, 2012 | 19 replies | 6,796 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Well it's sort of like Reptar if he wasn't a fictional green dinosaur from a kid's show...

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

On any given night, Christian Lembach suffers anywhere between two and seven brain aneurysms; there's about a 35% chance that Travis Owen's drumsticks formerly played the roles of his tibiae; Jake Shultz's bass amp has caused clinical deafness in at least two dozen people. While none of the preceding statements are based whatsoever in fact, a listen or two through Ruiner just might get you wondering. The five-track debut EP from Atlanta's Whores. displays the trio's uncanny ability to put their angst, anguish, and general discontent into an audial form best described as a septum-bashing, and to do so without any gimmicks, frills, or blood-stained death-masks.

To put it one way, Lembach's unbridled songwriting very accurately reflects the fact that living amongst some of today's less than grateful, self-centered scumbags is often akin to brushing one's teeth with sandpaper. Ruiner is the barbed-wire floss to counteract that; it is the means by which these three southern noise-rockers bite back against the world's shitty ways and its shittier inhabitants. Opener 'Daddy's Money' recapitulates the story of that certain vapid, over-privileged bitch that everyone seems to know, whose father's rent checks just happen to go right up her button nose instead. Or take a track like 'Tell Me Something Scientific,' whose production and execution are as raw as its anti-religious-fundantalist message is obvious. Even the fact that the track's central riff and melody resembles those of the intro to 'Fake Life' just a little too closely is so easily forgivable considering the group's incredible propensity to grind their message home - in a nice way, if that's at all conceivable. Despite its noise-rock roots, nothing about Ruiner comes off as inaccessible: its unrelenting noisiness carries as much purpose and direction as its songwriting, meanwhile maintaining enough of their "fuck-off" attitude to lend the album its cutthroat allure. It vividly recalls and rehashes all of punk-rock's most essential mantras and motifs whilst supplementing them with some seriously pulverizing neo-monolithic riffage, cementing Ruiner as an end-of-the-year record worth delving back into a now retired 2011 for.



Recent reviews by this author
Binary Heart SplitsvilleApe Up! Kemosabe
Joyce Manor Of All Things I Will Soon Grow TiredAnti-Flag The General Strike
Good Old War Come Back As RainSnowing Pump Fake / Scherbatsky 7"
user ratings (30)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
iFghtffyrdmns
January 4th 2012



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also posted: http://www.muzikdizcovery.com

Streak: http://whores.bandcamp.com/

RIYL: getting angry / getting pulverized

Satellite
January 4th 2012



20678 Comments


i feel like i've seen this album title somewhere before :/

Digging: Dikembe - Mediumship

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2012



6361 Comments


Cool review, pos!

Maybe I'll check this out, seems interesting. Love the rec section btw ;)

Digging: Shackleton - Deliverance Series No. 1

djunior
January 4th 2012



709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Solid review!

This album great, cool to see it get some attention here.
pos'd

Digging: FKA twigs - LP1

iFghtffyrdmns
January 4th 2012



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks guys, yeah it's a cool record
they're touring now too but apparently only stopping in a bunch of pretentious cities

accompliceofmydeath
January 4th 2012



4170 Comments


No blood stained death masks? Fuck this.

Naw, this looks good though. I dig some noise rock. And lol at your recs section.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 4th 2012



7141 Comments


Your writing makes me want to review again, so hard. Anwyays, good job mate - have a pos. This doesn't really sound like my cup of tea, but if I come across it I'll keep what you wrote in mind.

Wizard
January 4th 2012



19223 Comments


I love how concise and informative this review is. Good job dude! Sounds like it would appeal to my tastes as well.

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

Xenophanes
Emeritus
January 4th 2012



10585 Comments


I love your off the wall but still incredibly informative style. Review is gold, man.

Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

iFghtffyrdmns
January 4th 2012



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

daw shucks thanks bros

IRVING PLEASE DO REVIEW AGAIN SOON

Adabelle
January 4th 2012



4229 Comments


Short but sweet, casual review, I like it. Possibility that I'll check it out at some point..

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2012



7314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I enjoyed this

eternium
January 7th 2012



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a good band. Too bad they keep playing at the 21+ venue in Atlanta.

eternium
January 7th 2012



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, why does the review say Gainesville when the band is from Atlanta?

iFghtffyrdmns
January 7th 2012



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hum. that's weird - i swear their bandcamp said Gainesville in the upper right hand corner but I just checked and it's not there. Perhaps I am mistaken, I will fix that when I have less shitty internet access.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2012



7315 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool review! Yeah. This EP rules! Daddy's Money can't save you now...

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

Spec
May 4th 2012



27057 Comments


kewl

xandermander
January 28th 2013



626 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is some groovy shit. Great EP

ILiveInNetherlands
April 2nd 2014



512 Comments


Man, this is sick.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy