Beefcake
Drei


5.0
classic

Review

by Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (105 Reviews)
December 26th, 2011 | 146 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: wow.

I read Homer's Odyssey once. It was about a man, Odysseus, on a journey back to his homeland. On the way he accomplished many great things: killing a cyclops, visiting the underworld and braving the Sirens; just to name a few. These tales are timeless; forever immortalised in constant re-tellings and reinterpretations. What makes the Odyssey a classic, however, is the fact that despite these adventures being somewhat disconnected and varied, there's a constant progression of Odysseus' character. So the story meanders around from place to place, but maintains it's overall image as a strong, coherent narrative. At just shy of 80 minutes and with no song titles or pauses, this is exactly where we find ourselves with Beefcake's 2001 release, Drei.

Existing as an active duo during the turn of the millennium, when the movement most often titled "Intelligent Dance Music" was at the height of its popularity, Beefcake found it hard to be heard above the noise of their more popular contemporaries. They didn't exactly make it easy for themselves: their 3-minute (exactly!) segment format left it hard to distinguish where a particular part begins or ends, there's also no name with which to reference favourite parts and by extension no singles to flaunt. In any case, Drei's lack of success - and the imminent disintegration of the duo - remains a tragedy.

See, unlike most one track ambient-like LP's, Drei refuses to remain static: it shifts from ambient to acid, from techno to classical. Effortlessly shrugging off old tempo's, grabbing new styles, influences and soundbites on the go - refusing to relax into a default beat. Always managing to surprise. So instead of being length because it's been dragged out, Drei is long because it's literally bursting with so many ideas that compressing the album would ruin them. Beefcake linger in parts though, developing a style or idea to form a more structured, memorable segment to the point it's easy to separate into a stand-alone track. However, like the Odyssey, these moments are only enhanced and reinforced by the overall progression of the album as a whole.

For an album as fluid and ever-changing as Drei, it's impossible to go into specifics. On top of offering up beautifully unique segments, it collates influences from seemingly every important figure in 90's electronic music. What we're left with is an all engrossing epic; a tour of all that is good in electronic music, and the epitome of all that is outstanding.



Recent reviews by this author
Mr. Mitch Don't LeaveGrouper Ruins
Throwing Snow MosaicSOHN Tremors
A Winged Victory for the Sullen Atomos VIIPlinth (UK) Music For Smalls Lighthouse
user ratings (47)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2011


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Review could be better, I know. This is more of a GO FUCKING LISTEN TO THIS NOW! thing anyway.

First time I heard the end of #26, where the choir + orchestra creep up behind all the techno I
couldn't stop smiling for the best part of an hour.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2011


31475 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, this is nice

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2011


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Indeed.

If anyone finds this on vinyl, know that it's my 18th soon and that would be "the best present evar" ;)

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2011


31475 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Postage and packaging is not covered under birthday policy fyi

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2011


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's okay, delivery by hand is also acceptable.

Directions: 02 Academy, Oxford, StrangerofSorts will be found at the back, getting drunk, watching a friend's shitty metal band.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2011


6273 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

At last someone reviewed this.

Awesome record, good review, pos.



Coincidentia Oppositorum is damn awesome too, although it is different from Drei.

Digging: Varathron - Untrodden Corridors of Hades

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2011


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'll check it out, and thanks.

ShousoStrip
December 27th 2011


574 Comments


yea

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2011


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

maybe...

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2011


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

as in yes.

Zettel
December 27th 2011


602 Comments


Yes, this is a good review. Pos.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2011


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^Thanks.
-

I thought of dropping some more genres into this review (I find IDM a bit clunky when describing something) but in the end I wasn't confident enough in my genre usage.

sifFlammable
December 27th 2011


2741 Comments


this is fantastic

easy 4/5

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2011


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Glad you like it.

Yotimi
December 27th 2011


6544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great album, much needed review

Digging: Sand Circles - Motor City

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2011


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I wish more people would review stuff that hasn't been reviewed before - but then again you always run the risk of getting no comments/1 comment. Happens too many times.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2011


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

And sputnik needs 9 reviews for 1 Nickelback album!

Zettel
December 27th 2011


602 Comments


"...but then again you always run the risk of getting no comments/1 comment."

Why is it a risk? It's really great when people comment on your work/the artist, but ultimately you write for future readers. On the other hand, when it is on the front page maybe someone will check out the artist. I agree with you, what's the point in writing the 4-5th review of an album? There is plenty of awesome music that has not been reviewed.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2011


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well validation is always nice, but I suppose I'm probably looking at this from too much of an egotistical viewpoint.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2011


6273 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Glad to see so much love for this album.

I repeat: Check Coincidentia Oppositorum, it thrives in a whole different aspect compared to Drei.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy