Dead Meadow
Feathers


5.0
classic

Review

by wacknizzle USER (14 Reviews)
December 23rd, 2011 | 47 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


Dead Meadows are the last of their kind, playing very authentic 70’s style psychedelic rock n’ roll. They mix this sound with 90’s shoegaze, similar to that of My Bloody Valentine but with way better production. Every note comes through perfectly; so well that the album is like a living and breathing entity; an entire universe where guitar notes drift off into space for endless shimmering eons. Their music will really chill you out with heavy reverb and effect laden jam outs. The guitar tone and effects on ‘Feathers’ are perfect. The overdrives are thick, the clean tones are buttery, and the delays/reverb effects are gorgeously lush. Jason Simon croons softly holding his notes like a soft blanket over the spacey instrumentation. Most of the songs start softly then build into a mountain of sound that never wants to stop climbing; getting heavier and louder as they progress. The singing usually drifts off towards the end of songs where Jason begins to jam out on soaring effect drenched solos. The melodies are very melancholy and bluesy; Often drifting back and forth between A major and E minor chords. The bass guitar is very prominent on this album, playing heavy low-end notes with almost no treble. The tempo is never fast; it’s always a groovy 4/4 jam out. They find a cool melody and jam it out for days, getting more and more spaced out with each passing second. There isn’t a bad song on this album and while it tends to have a central theme, it never gets boring. The two acoustic tracks ‘Such Hawks Such Hounds’ and ‘Stacy’s Song’ give the listener a needed break from the ordinary ‘bong smoking, introspective jam session’s.’ I’ve been listening to this record for 3 years and it still never gets old too me. Track like ‘Get Up On Down’, ‘Let It All Pass’ and ‘Heaven’ are too good to ever get old. The songs get so epic and beautiful it’s hard not too fall in love with. Everything leads up too the sludgy and monolithic ‘Untitled’ which grows and builds for over 13 minutes; it is the longest track on the album. Feathers’ definitely has some charm and wonderful grace to it because while it is rather melancholy, it is very uplifting and makes you feel alive. It can accommodate the deepest of emotions, which can then be contemplated and expressed under deep waves of inebriated introspection. Wait for a warm night where the sky and moon are alive, working in perfect harmony to create an ever-changing work of art. Then go off for a walk out into the darkness while listening this. Then find a spot to lay and enjoy the lovely canvas of lunar perfection while drifting out to the tune of Dead Meadow.



Recent reviews by this author
Cage Grind Noir PilotsCrydebris The Severing
Love Sex Machine Love Sex Machine.Crrust Pain Is A Mere Sensation
Harlots BetrayerDestroyer Destroyer Littered With Arrows
user ratings (102)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Chris Jackson (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ShadowRemains
December 24th 2011


20847 Comments


lol

great band

Ire
December 24th 2011


41790 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

some1 really needs to review s/t

twlichty
December 24th 2011


3408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"dead meadow it's the last of their kind"

I guess you've never heard Tame Impala?

alachlahol
December 24th 2011


7489 Comments


a lovely canvas of lunar perfection what the fuck man is this guy smoking right now and i mean right now cause newflash this band is good but this album isnt 5 good ok ill admit i didnt listen to it on a warm night where the sky and moon are alive you are fucked up

alachlahol
December 24th 2011


7489 Comments


andtwiltchy there are more bands doing psych rock than tame impala its time you untamed yourself (hahahaha) and found some of the other diamonds in the rough of the internet thats my advice

porch
December 24th 2011


8460 Comments


i've been looking for an album that invokes the spirit of a band doomed to ever serve the countervailed mysteries of the moon, looks like this could be it

Ire
December 24th 2011


41790 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is the greatest review ever written

alachlahol
December 24th 2011


7489 Comments


wacknizzle sucks man he doesnt realize i get enough 'deep waves of inebriated introspection' listening to defeater

wacknizzle
December 24th 2011


13394 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

alachlahol: i'm sorry i'm good with words and that I think sitting under the stars listening to this would be the perfect way too enjoy it. Yeah nature is fucked up, stay in your box all night telling me I suck at reviewing. Go get drunk to Defeater man they're pretty cool just mopey and winy as shit I can't get into it all that much myself.

Digging: Torch Runner - Endless Nothing

wacknizzle
December 24th 2011


13394 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah I just got into tame impala, not enough too rate it yet, it's way different than dead meadow though.

wacknizzle
December 24th 2011


13394 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This deserves to be a classic.

seedofnothing
December 25th 2011


3425 Comments


"some1 really needs to review s/t"


This is true.

alachlahol
December 25th 2011


7489 Comments


This deserves to be a classic.


wacknizzle you deserve to be called a fuckin retard this album does not make the sky and moon come alive you just listened to it while some 14 year old girl was giving you head

wacknizzle
December 27th 2011


13394 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

No man this album is awesome and there is nothing quite like it. You obviously like defeater and not this kinda stuff at all so don't be hating on me because you can't even point out my flaws other than the way you'd really want to experience this album is beyond sitting in your fucking box yelling at me because this is the type of music that makes you wanna get away from everything for a moment and i dig this album so much that i can listen to it at anytime. Lots of people get where i'm coming from anyway so I don't care what you think man im glad you enjoy defeater or any music as much as you say you do. Good night alachlahol you're kinda a dick, just don't be a troll like you are now. Wait till I review Converge's BEST album....?

Ire
January 18th 2012


41790 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is a great review/album

wacknizzle
November 12th 2012


13394 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Ire: Thanks bruh.

tarkus
November 12th 2012


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

best dead meadow sorry s/t

CaptainDooRight
November 12th 2012


29481 Comments


swee al



Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2012


20754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

Ire
November 25th 2012


41790 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

love this band/album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy