Voivod
The Outer Limits


4.5
superb

Review

by Voivod STAFF
December 17th, 2011 | 50 replies | 7,825 views


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A spectacular end (?) to an era.

With their previous album, Angel Rat, Voivod presented a more straightforward rock aspect of their music, while they managed to surpass the “curse of perfect albums” (what is Nothingface?) with relative success. Despite its admittedly great artistic merit, Angel Rat’s failure to meet the commercial success of Nothingface and the ongoing interference of MCA records in the band’s artistic portfolio, brought moderate internal conflict between band members, resulting in the departure of Blacky. In the light of the above, the band set itself on hiatus mode, while searching for a proficient substitute to fill Blacky’s shoes. Eventually, session bassist Pierre St. Jean took replaced Blacky and after a year of composing and recording sessions, Voivod are finally letting their new album, The Outer Limits, out in the open, an album that feels like a spectacular end (?) to an era.

Comparing The Outer Limits with its predecessor, the caliber of its presentation has been significantly amplified. The first thing to hold guilty for this substantial enhancement in Voivod’s post-Nothingface style, is the superb sound production. Piggy’s lead/rhythm guitars have been heavenly textured, while the ever floating rhythm section of Away and St. Jean never sounded so rich within its low frequency realm. Yet, the biggest amelioration of the sound production lies in the perfect highlighting of Snake’s s-u-p-e-r-b vocal performance. With reference to the actual structure of the songs themselves, the majority continues to move along the straight/prog rock n’ roll pattern first introduced in Angel Rat, however the subtleties that characterize them, are processed to perfection. That being said, the music in here sounds far less clinical. The superb fluency and originality in melodies, riffs and rhythms and their mutual bonding, brings in mind albums like Dimension Hatross or Nothingface, yet The Outer Limits album stands in a substantial distance, with respect to the dystopic feeling its aforementioned predecessors transmitted. The exception that justifies the rule, lies within the 17-minute long song “Jack the Luminous”, with its lyrics and complex structure bringing in memory the ethics realized in the aforementioned past albums. The primary drive in Voivod’s new effort, is that of an avant-garde metal band playing a rigorous majestic/pompous rock concert, at a venue situated in the outer limits (sic) of the galaxy.

In closing, The Outer Limits is nothing short of an apt Voivod record and a fine addition in the line of superb albums given by this band in the past. Despite the partial dissolution of the line-up core, due to Blacky’s departure, remaining original members perfected the band’s new style, while they discretely included – consciously or unconsciously, it makes little difference – nearly all the trends and obsessions that characterized Voivod during their fully developed era. One cannot help but think that this album signifies an incredible end to an era, however only the unknown knows enough to give a reliable answer to this stated uncertainty.



Recent reviews by this author
Electric Citizen SateenVicious Rumors Live You to Death 2 - American Punishment
Mayhem Esoteric WarfareThe Graviators Motherload
Mekong Delta In a Mirror DarklyAura Noir Black Thrash Attack
user ratings (133)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2011



5919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Constructive criticism is most welcome.

Digging: Essence Beyond - Carnivalism

Ending
December 17th 2011



1889 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review, pos'd. Have you reviewed every Voivod album now, Voivoid?

I definitely don't like this as much as you do, but Killing Technology is one of my favourite thrash
albums.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2011



5919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have reviewed the first seven Voivod albums, the only albums that don't have a review here are Negatron, Phobos and Voivod.

Will review them in time to come.



Killing Technology is among my favorite thrash albums too.

Ovrot
December 17th 2011



10468 Comments


not if i do it first

Digging: Jean Michel Jarre - Oxygene

CasinoColumbus
December 17th 2011



340 Comments


Sounds interesting, but I honestly haven't heard anything from these guys, so where should I start?

And:
"Piggy’s lead/rhythm guitars have being heavenly textured"
Have been; fix that. Nice review anyway.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2011



5919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@ CasinoColumbus



If you like Venom and Motorhead, listen to their first two.

If you like thrash and its prog leanings (Coroner, Mekong Delta etc) listen to Killing Technology and Dimension Hatross.

If you are a prog rock fan, listen to this, Nothingface and Angel Rat.

If you like industrial-influenced extreme metal, listen to Negatron and Phobos, especially Phobos.

And if you like good rock/metal music in general, listen everything from Voivod and forth.



These guys have pretty much recorded everything, save for black metal, perhaps.

CasinoColumbus
December 17th 2011



340 Comments


Thanks. I guess I'll be listening to Nothingface first then, followed by Dimension Hatross. Pos'd by the way.

scissorlocked
December 17th 2011



3508 Comments


excellent work bud

i need to hear this as well as Angel rat

thinkin about listening to their whole discography during the Christmas holidays

Digging: John Roberts - Ausio

Willie
Moderator
December 17th 2011



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is an awesome CD. When it actually came out on CD, the booklet came with 3-D glasses and each song had a corresponding 3-D picture in the booklet. My grandmother bought me this CD for my birthday just because it had the glasses and picture. It was my first Voivod CD, and it came from my grandmother ;)

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

scissorlocked
December 17th 2011



3508 Comments


^^wow man!!

and I though Tool were innovative for doing such tricks with 10000 days- this one is 13 years earlier!

this damn band was so ahead of its time

Jethro42
December 18th 2011



12377 Comments


Nice another Vod review on Voivod. Will read tomorrow
'Nite

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2011



5919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is an awesome CD. When it actually came out on CD, the booklet came with 3-D glasses and each song had a corresponding 3-D picture in the booklet. My grandmother bought me this CD for my birthday just because it had the glasses and picture. It was my first Voivod CD, and it came from my grandmother ;)

Awesome!!

Recently, a Polish company, Metal Mind Records, reissued The Outer Limits in 2000 copies. Each copy contained 3-D glasses inside and exactly the same booklet you are referring to.

Because the reissue was limited, I became a real pain in the ass to my local record store owner to save me a copy, because here in Greece, Voivod has a substantial fan following. So one day, as i was browsing his vitrine with the new CDs, he nodded to me to go inside and when I did, he said that he had my The Outer Limits copy ready.

I was stoked!!!



On another note, the title of this Voivod album is probably taken from a cult science fiction TV series by the same name, that was aired during the mid '60s. The series was kept alive only for two years, though.

TheNotrap
December 18th 2011



7981 Comments


Don't know this one.

Very nice review as usual.
take an outer pos sir.


Tyrael
December 18th 2011



20738 Comments


Voivod for staff 2012!

TheNotrap
December 18th 2011



7981 Comments


^
I support this

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2011



5919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

These are very flattering words guys and thank you, but come on, I became contrib less than a month ago... :-D

Ending
December 18th 2011



1889 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Voivod for staff 2012!

Agreed.

I became contrib less than a month ago... :-D

To be honest, ever since I started visiting this site regularly around 1.5 years ago, I thought you
were a contributor. I don't know why, but I did.

lostforwords
December 18th 2011



443 Comments


Really really good review once again Voivod!

"These guys have pretty much recorded everything, save for black metal, perhaps."

However Voivod can be very appealing to black metal fans, their influence on DHG, Thorns and "Maniac -era" Mayhem (Declaration and Chimera) is pretty obvious


Jethro42
December 18th 2011



12377 Comments


Ah here's the album that contains the epic Jack Luminous!
pos

Tyrael
December 18th 2011



20738 Comments


These are very flattering words guys and thank you, but come on, I became contrib less than a month ago... :-D

They should have made you staff right away



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy