Panic Lift
Witness To Our Collapse


4.0
excellent

Review

by jayfatha USER (31 Reviews)
December 14th, 2011 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Jimmy Ruin, Tom Z, and DJ Cub give us something to look forward to and something to enjoy now

Yes, those are really their names. After learning that I was a bit skeptical as well but don’t let them fool you, this is a quality aggrotech release. With their first full length release, Witness to Our Collapse, Panic Lift have really made a name for themselves within the whole electro/industrial scene. Aggressive and violent distorted harsh vocals, fantastic production, excellent beats and some seriously catchy synth lines, the recipe for a good industrial release is all there.

As per the usual within the genre, the mood isn’t set to be very friendly. When the beat kicks in on Everything I Have, you pretty much know what you’re in for. Some songs are pretty boring and kind of drag on, most notably Shelter and the title track, but it doesn’t really do much to slow the album down. Something that is pretty annoying, though, is that the title track is actually really good when you get to the actual song but the sample of some political/social rant that is placed throughout most of it makes it hard to enjoy. Silly samples do pop up once or twice more (Save Yourself) but other than the title track, it’s easy to ignore.

One more problem I have with this album is its clean vocals. They kind of suck. It’s disappointing, too, because the melody is good, they’re not misplaced or anything, but the execution sounds really forced and just bad. They’re lower in the mix than the harsh vocals, which might have something to do with it too, but they do only appear on two songs. Hold On has some of my favorite synth on the album but those damn cleans really distract from that. Harsh vocals are about 90% of the vocals on the album and they’re much better, so it really is a minor issue that can be easily fixed by the time their second album.

While for the most part, this is a fairly typical EBM release, there’s some experimentation going on. Songs like Failsafe and Remnants of a Dead Age are straight up good and catchy industrial music. Some songs are good in a different way, such as Seasons Change, which is a slow and calm instrumental track, and it shows to not only be a perfect segue into the most sinister song on the album, but also one of the album’s best songs on its own. Then there’s the closer, Butterfly Wings (My Only Hope), which again is slow and calm, but it also includes an acoustic guitar intro and outro accompanied by some piano, and oh yea, it’s eight minutes long. It’s a strong track, the switching off between clean and harsh vocals work pretty well, and even though it’s a bit too long for its own good, it works out in the end. It’s easily the best choice to end the album with.

Witness to Our Collapse shows quite a lot of potential for this trio, with flaws that can be easily worked out which makes me think the next album Panic Lift releases is going to be spectacular. They’re already pretty big within the scene, they have the determination and creativity, things just need to be put together a little bit better. I see this band’s career going nowhere but up from here. What we’re witnessing is much more of a construction than a collapse.



Recent reviews by this author
Madchild Switched OnSlaine The King of Everything Else
Demun Jones Jones CountyJohnny Richter FreeKING Out
Moonshine Bandits CalicountryProzak We All Fall Down
user ratings (7)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
jayfatha
December 14th 2011


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Idk I think their names are funny.
First non-metal review, hope i'm doing it right

bloc
December 14th 2011


34927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album riffs hard

Acanthus
December 15th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Still going to review this, it's damn good stuff and gets better with age.

Digging: The Knife - Deep Cuts

Acanthus
December 15th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Woahhhhh major disagree here on a few points, but the reviews still good sir; I just love this album.

James Francis (Music and Vocals), Dan Platt (Keyboards, Guitars) and Tom Z (Drums & Electronic
Percussion) are the non-stage names.

bloc
December 15th 2011


34927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^Ah, it's not as humorous anymore

jayfatha
December 15th 2011


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the feedback guys. I saw the ratings page and figured you'd have a few disagreements Acanthus, but the album does rule, looking forward to seeing your review. It'll prolly be better than this one

Acanthus
December 15th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Don't knock your work sir!

To me this is the sound I look for in new releases, it takes the harshness of Detroit Diesel
and pairs it with far better synth lines and song structures.

jayfatha
December 15th 2011


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea it's definately got everything it takes to be really amazing, and I might just like their next album as much as you like this one provided they keep going the way they're headed. You gotta admit though, those clean vocals...

Acanthus
December 15th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They actually blew me away, as having cleans after the harsh reality of the first tracks was a move that was really simple but remains unique in the industrial community - it's one of my favorite tracks honestly.

jayfatha
December 15th 2011


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm glad they chose to try out cleans because I love cleans in industrial, I really wish I dug them more. That synth is still sick as hell

Acanthus
December 15th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I also like the samples in "Witness To Our Collapse" immensely, and wish the song went on far longer than it does.

jayfatha
December 15th 2011


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha well one man's trash is another man's treasure I suppose

Acanthus
December 15th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Indeed, it's close to being a favorite track from the album.

jayfatha
December 15th 2011


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My favorite would probably be Remnents of a Dead Age just because it's a little faster paced and you know, dat synth

Acanthus
December 15th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I can see that, I actually hadn't listened to the album in months and then decided to throw it on CD for a mini-road trip, after all the singing along I had to bump the rating.

jayfatha
December 15th 2011


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was on the verge of giving this a 4.5 but I just don't quite like it that much, it's a really goddamn high four though. To think I thought this was a 3 on my first listen or two, you were right about it getting better with age

Acanthus
December 15th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

My DJ partner got hooked on them, and I got caught up in them from there.

jayfatha
December 15th 2011


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think Bloc rec'd me these guys, I owe him a thank you

Acanthus
December 15th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I am always getting amazed at what he's added to the database, I randomly get an obscure sounding album and be all ready to add it to the db but at least half the time he's already done so.

jayfatha
December 15th 2011


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The dude's on top of things, that's for sure



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy