Knife Party
100% No Modern Talking


3.0
good

Review

by pizzamachine USER (211 Reviews)
December 14th, 2011 | 104 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: wompin' fun.

If Skrillex, Feed Me, and Noisia had an orgy, Knife Party’s 100% No Modern Talking would be the sound equivalent of their screams as they womp each other. It’s no nonsense brostep/electro house with enough wobbles to take down a building; it’s filthier than your mom’s rag after cleaning the kitchen table, etc. An EP such as this cannot possibly improve the abysmal reputation of the genre seeing as it fits every stereotype. You see, this is the epitome of typical brostep, with the typical build-ups, and the typical womps, and the typical voice samples. However, while it loses points for the absence of uniqueness, it gains brownie points for generally solid execution. One can’t deny the catchiness of these tunes; the EP is fun.

The one problem with this EP is that Knife Party consistently remind us that we’re listening to brostep. The buildups to the obligatory bass breakdowns are too long, and occur too often to keep the listener hanging on every sound. ‘Fire Hive’ is the worst song, being Skrillex-esque and too bent on bringing down the bass, as though womps in themselves create a great song. Some tact would have been greatly appreciated.

Save for its non-uniqueness, the EP is fairly well done. ‘Destroy Them With Lazers’ has expectedly fun videogame reminiscent laser sounds, and ‘Internet Friends’ is a blast, with extremely catchy bass wobbles. Even ‘Tourniquet’ (despite sounding exactly like a Feed Me song with its stronger electro house feel) still hits hard. Throughout the EP, there is a sense that the songs could easily include rappers or singers, with rappers rapping alongside wobbles, and singers replacing synthesizers in the songs’ faux-choruses. The EP actually feels musical to some extent, which is uncommon in brostep. If Knife Party continue at this pace, creating a full album as solid as this, it could be excellent fun. As for now, 100% No Modern Talking breaks no ground, but it’s still pretty fun.



Recent reviews by this author
Jeremy Soule Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion SoundtrackRa Critical Mass
Gemini Syndrome LuxSirenia Perils of the Deep Blue
Rainbow (KR) Rainbow Syndrome Part. 2Part Myth Part Legend Almagest Codex
user ratings (144)
Chart.
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
VaxXi (1.5)
The Day Rob Swire and Gareth McGrillen Died...

related reviews

Haunted House

Rage Valley

Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
December 14th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's free: http://soundcloud.com/knifepartyinc/sets/knife-party-100-no-modern

Deviant would hate it. :]

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2011


50513 Comments


Can I bring a gun?

pizzamachine
December 14th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Guns will be accepted. High-fives will also apply.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2011


7133 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Part of me really fucking hates these dudes, but I've heard Internet Friends get dropped twice at huge shows and it is so fucking intense. Half of that song is about the most obnoxious thing ever though.

But I will admit this is a very, very guilty pleasure of mine. Sometimes I just can't say no to womps.

pizzamachine
December 14th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Totally agree, womps can be fun.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 14th 2011


31355 Comments


Heard it, hated it. It was really only a matter of time before these guys did this

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2011


22005 Comments


Will check out to annoy deviant

Digging: Miguel - Kaleidoscope Dream

klap
Staff Reviewer
December 14th 2011


10494 Comments


some serious blog house up in this bitch. good for parties, not so good for listening

Digging: Caribou - Our Love

Emim
December 14th 2011


26646 Comments


GO GET YOUR KNIFE

GO GET YOUR KNIFE

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2011


22005 Comments


^That was my first thought

bloc
December 15th 2011


34919 Comments


Artwork looks pretty cool

pizzamachine
December 15th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

To whoever keeps negging my reviews without explanation, I expect all of my future reviews to receive an automatic ghost neg from now on, otherwise I will assume that you are either sleeping on the job or have died. Sincerely, me.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2011


31355 Comments


In all fairness this is far from being a good review Pizza, sorry. The points you make and the way you go about describing them are about as generic as the music and that first sentence is terrible

Ovrot
December 15th 2011


10503 Comments


This isn't an Apodiablosis review!

Digging: Satan's Satyrs - Demo 2010

Acanthus
December 15th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm sure this is fun at the club, just not meant for my laptop speakers.

Digging: The Knife - Deep Cuts

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 15th 2011


22005 Comments


this is actually really boring

pizzamachine
December 15th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"The points you make and the way you go about describing them are about as generic as the music and that first sentence is terrible"

Yeah, I thought generic descriptions would describe this generic music well. Also, you didn't just hate on my glorious first sentence. It isn't my best review though, you're right.

foreverendeared
December 15th 2011


14678 Comments


GO GET YOUR KNIFE

GO GET YOUR KNIFE


lol'd

Tyrael
December 15th 2011


20899 Comments


Will check out to annoy deviant [2]

yeah, too bad it sucked

Also, what does this even mean:
as they womp each other

Acanthus
December 15th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Featured!!!

"Also, what does this even mean:
as they womp each other"

I take it to mean trying to out womp the other.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy