Turbowolf
Turbowolf


4.0
excellent

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
December 14th, 2011 | 45 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A demented, yet highly addictive take on high-octane riff rock.

It's way easier to name the subgenre of rock that Bristol-based Turbowolf don't actually explore on their eponymous debut album. The band effectively incorporate a plethora of various influences into one peculiar, yet admirably focused album. Turbowolf might be a stoner rock record at its core due to Andy Ghosh’s massive guitar tone that channels both wicked heaviness and bouncy playfulness. However, the band pushes the boundaries of genre definition to a whole new level. They accompany bludgeoning guitar riffs and a boisterous rhythm section with demented synthesizer adds and heavy metal-inclined, throaty vocals of Chris Georgiadis being an acquired taste. This amalgamation coupled with the band's passion for adventurous songwriting results in a startlingly refreshing style.

The album’s greatest strength is its harmonic interplay. The thunderous stoner rock riffs of “Bag O Bone” and “A Rose For The Crows” are bolstered by the use of juxtaposing pop-induced choruses. Classic rock-inspired “The Big Cut” superbly builds to a spastic guitar solo in its second half. The album’s most representative track, “Read & Write”, blends a high-octane riff with vintage keys to an unsettling effect, while “Son (Sun)” fuses mellow, distinctly alternative verses with an unexpected boogie rock outburst in the chorus. In contrast, “Seven Severed Heads” and “Things Could Be Good Again” burst with hardcore punk energy in their ultra-fast passages. “All The Trees” stands out as an anomaly that almost entirely revolves around spacey 1980s-induced electronica.

At the very least, Turbowolf brilliantly captures explosive live shows of the band by means of precise studio production. Despite its multifaceted presentation, the album is never less than accessible and inclusive. Every song contains something entirely memorable, whether it's an addictive chorus, a flashy guitar riff or a flamboyant synthesizer solo. The act capitalize on these elements by displaying the carefree rock'n'roll attitude that permeates through the entire disc making it conspicuously audacious.



Recent reviews by this author
Wildbirds & Peacedrums RhythmDope Body Lifer
Sparky HumanimationLo-Pan Colossus
Kimbra The Golden EchoDog Fashion Disco Sweet Nothings
user ratings (38)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 14th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A Rose For The Crows:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGuqqaPtKGA

Read & Write:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xUBWpFTAK2U

Ancient Snake:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VGcUhhTA-xM

Enjoy!

Digging: Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Rhythm

Bloodbirds
December 15th 2011


250 Comments


You seem to be reviewing bands that have animal names in them ! Sounds interesting, i'll give this a try.

BigHans
December 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

saw band name. Knew they would be a badass rawk band. Will jam.

Hordewolf
December 15th 2011


353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just listening to Ancient Snake, sounds good.

Nikkolae
December 15th 2011


4867 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

me likes

Digging: Giant - Song

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Bloodbirds:
Good point. I will exclusively review bands that have animals in their names from now on.


Jethro42
December 15th 2011


12550 Comments


I actually don't know what to think about what I just heard by them. I'm currently deep into a progressive rock mood. Fuck yeah, totally absorbed. Excellent review Greg, bro.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks a lot. The band's quite progressive. Well, if progressive means forward-thinking... One of the most original rock acts for sure.

BigHans
December 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A Rose for the Crows slays

Jethro42
December 15th 2011


12550 Comments


Progressive doesnt always mean avant gardist. Since it were born, it generally flirts with neo-classical, jazz, odd time signature, change of tempo, uncommon selection of instruments etc. That's pretty much how I like my prog. Classic, Symphonic. Zero metal. Long live metal though.
P/
M/

BigHans
December 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

m/

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The best music these days is progressive at its core. All that matters right know is how to fuse different influences to create a gripping non-conventional sound that would characterize an artist. These guys do it very well.

BigHans
December 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is good rawkin stuff. Seven Severed Heads ftw

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm actually surprised you like this, Hans. /liar/

Jethro42
December 15th 2011


12550 Comments


Well you're actually more talking about fusion music. It doesnt garantee it to be necessarily progressive... But anyhow, that desc you just gave sounds right up my alley. I shall give this a proper listen, to see.

BigHans
December 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

why would you be surprised I like this, its RIFF rock. Riffs > life.

BigHans
December 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah nevermind you were being sarcastic, haha

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, but fusion music is also progressive in the traditional sense of the word. Anyway, most coveted/interesting artists these days represent fusion music.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha. Lol at Hans.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Riffs > life. I totally agree.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy