Nine Inch Nails
Still


5.0
classic

Review

by kyleisgreat USER (1 Reviews)
December 26th, 2005 | 30 replies | 33,279 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist


9 of 9 thought this review was well written

Odds are, you've never heard of Still. It was released as a bonus on the deluxe version of And All That Could Have Been, and outshines its live counterpart. A nine track album, it's made up of "unplugged" versions of nine inch nails songs, consisting of piano, acoustic guitar, and often light synths and drums. It features four redone old songs( Something I can Never Have, The Fragile, The Becoming, The Day the World Went Away) four instrumental songs ( Adrift and at Peace, Gone, Still (one song), The Persistence of Loss, Leaving Hope) and one all new track ( And All That Could Have Been). This is an amazing piece of work that should be heard by all, as it combines beautiful melodies and strong vocals, in a way that is accessible to all.

Still starts off with a haunting rendition Something I Can Never Have, which only surpasses the PHM version because of Trent Reznorís raw intensity. It then eases off into adrift and at peace, a nice song, with a morning after the storm feeling. If there is a weak point to this album, this would be it, as it is not a very climatic song, but itís fitting with the album as a whole, and is still very enjoyable. The next track is one of the best songs, ever. The Fragile is taken to a new level with this release, with sharp piano; it flows into an explosion of an ending, thanks to drumming by Jerome Dillon. The next song, The Becoming, starts off with a familiar piano line, and then breaks into acoustic guitar and an electronic drum line, which is later accompanied by live drumming. This song mimics the downward spiral version, and feels like an acoustic version of the original. Gone, Still is the second of four instrumental tracks on the album, and resembles adrift and at peace, but adds a light acoustic guitar line and synthesizers. The Day the World Went Away exceeds any previous version in every way. The intro/beginning is done better; the verse is done better, and the chorus/climax is done better. The ending joins together a bass, guitar, a broken snare, and atmospheric piano that creates a flawless ending which is accompanied by light humming from Trent. It then fades into the sound of rain, which introduces the next song, And All That Could Have Been. It starts with angelic-like guitar, and then bursts into an extraordinary chorus, with synthesizers, live drums, guitars, and bass. It ends off with an extended chorus, with a nice piano ending. The next two songs feature no singing, but conclude the album very well. The persistence of loss resembles adrift and at peace and gone, still. Leaving hope on the other hand, stands out from the rest of the instrumental songs, and even rivals some of Trentís best. It blends beautiful piano with a soft, astonishing synthesizer that ends off the album with an outstanding climax that melts into two minutes of white-ish noise, of slow downed screams and synths.

Still is a must have for anyone who enjoys music. It is a classic that can be approached by all, even people who do not like nine inch nails or industrial music. It both stands out from nine inch nails collection and represents it, as a softer release portrays both the musical ability of Trent Reznor and his intensity.

5/5

The deluxe edition of And All That Could Have Been was a limited release and thus can no longer be obtained. Still can be purchased separately from www.nin.com


user ratings (302)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Reywas
December 26th 2005



148 Comments


Awesome review.By far the worst NIN album.

Jawaharal
December 26th 2005



1832 Comments


Kyle, do you AIM, if you do, could you send this to me? My AIM is BROCCOLIofDETH.

Zebra
Moderator
December 26th 2005



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review for a first, short and detailed.

I wouldn't give this a five. I'm not a big NIN fan, but this is still a decent album. 'The Fragile' is my favorite track by far, everything else is inferier.

Shadows
Moderator
December 26th 2005



2530 Comments


I didn't know this was an independant album...I thought it was only available along with And All That Could've Been or Things Falling Apart.

Anyway, I like this. I have yet to find NIN that I don't like. Great review, although not a 5.

NuMetalMania
December 26th 2005



325 Comments


Yes nice short descriptive review. And no i havnt heard of Still, but if their other albums are anything to go by this one shall be another wicked CD.

deadinholywood
December 26th 2005



235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was going to write a review of this in the next couple of days but i spose i wont now. This cd is a bit iffy for me.... some of the songs are gorgeous but some i skip every time.
I think this would have been much better if Trent used all new material because i really dont think that songs like the becoming lend themselves well to the deconstruction process. On the upside however And All That Could Have Been is amazing and as far as im concerend it much better than other slowburning heartfelt NIN songs (such as Hurt, SICNH and right where it belongs)
Overall i would rate it 3.5/5

Aakon_Keetreh
January 20th 2006



448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This a great piece
4/5

Klown
February 6th 2006



9 Comments


Nice review, didn't like the album however.

mr.niceguy
March 30th 2006



25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

okay, i love NIN, i am going to go see them this saturday at the Aladian in Las Vegas. i loved your review it explians the album very well. my favortite songs of theres is march of the pigs and star fuckers but all of the songs are freaking awsome. i have already been to an NIN concert and it was freaking awsome. i cant wait to see this one

Kage
April 9th 2006



1173 Comments


The Still version of The Becoming is absolutely incredible. One of my favorite songs ever. When he performs it live, it's even better.

sj_2150
April 10th 2006



251 Comments


ive only heard something i can never have and i really like it. i should get this considering ive got every other NIN release you can get in stores

repcak
April 12th 2006



3 Comments


Its the best release by him so far... SICNH version is so beautiful.

Classicrockerman
April 28th 2006



69 Comments


Yeah...it sucks.

CharlieLeek
June 17th 2006



4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good album. I normally skip the becoming, gone still, TDTWWA and the fragile. but every other track on this is beautiful, espesh the last 3!

gr8 review.

ShiverX
August 31st 2006



3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of my all time favourite albums , personally one of my favourite by NIN. Great review too

codeofsilence
November 26th 2006



14 Comments


I've still never heard this album. AARRRRGGHH!!!!

aneagleinyourmind1
January 11th 2007



5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great review, looks like i'm one of the few who agrees with your 5 rating. NIN used to be my all-time favorite band, and Still used to be my favorite album. It's still one of my favorites.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
June 10th 2007



3995 Comments


"Leaving Hope" absolutely slays me.

FundamentallyLoathsome
September 19th 2007



41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well written review. Although I don't give a 5, because it includes only one new song except the instrumentals. Nevertheless, "And all that could have been", "Leaving hope", and this really heartrending version of "Something I can never have" should be known by any person interested in electronic music.
In general, all the "unplugged" versions sound different from all other existing Nine Inch Nails material.

ghostface30612
November 21st 2007



141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is one of my cop-out albums when I go, "No, I listen to indie!" Though I may be an ass, it has that feel. What can I say? It's great for a rainy day and really controls the mood you're in.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy