Genesis
From Genesis to Revelation


2.0
poor

Review

by sonictheplumber STAFF USER (107 Reviews)
December 9th, 2011 | 25 replies


Release Date: 1969 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The beginning of Genesis isn't a good one.

Your average person has probably heard of Genesis if he was alive in the 1980s. Your average person probably is unaware of any side to the band other than their pop side that made them superstars. Most people don't even know that Peter Gabriel was in the band. Even fewer people are aware that their first album is even more removed from the sound that they're known for. And Phil Collins doesn't play on it either!

From Genesis To Revelation is a dud, and a sour start to a long and illustrious career. While the album isn't horrible, there are few redeeming values, and not just because it's not the Genesis that most are familiar with, be it their prog era or pop era. This is the type of bland 60's music that ends up in Salvation Army bargain bins, and for good reason too.

Although a few tunes are catchy, none are very enjoyable as a whole, despite the good vocal performance delivered by a young Peter Gabriel and Tony Banks displaying some talent on the organ and the piano.

This is an album for completists and die-hards only, and they probably won't like it either.



Recent reviews by this author
Sieges Even Life CycleKorpiklaani Ukon Wacka
Thergothon Stream From The HeavensThe Obsessed Lunar Womb
Saint Vitus Mournful CriesKate Bush The Kick Inside
user ratings (190)
Chart.
2.6
average
other reviews of this album
Matthijs van der Lee (2)
Slowly wandering towards a purpose....

Thomas Bambaataa Ghidrah Towers (2)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 9th 2011


50872 Comments


cool cool

Digging: Bobby Barnett - Little Wounds

wabbit
December 9th 2011


7020 Comments


there is group of 55 year old dudes in my town who have a genesis cover band called meta-genesis

seedofnothing
December 9th 2011


3425 Comments


good review pos

listening to this right now. snot that good

seedofnothing
December 9th 2011


3425 Comments


and I've only heard two in that era, homework

taylormemer
December 9th 2011


4944 Comments


Swell. Good work

Jethro42
December 9th 2011


12547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

jethro's their keyboardist

My Genesis cover band was called ''Over the Jethro's Wall''. No but seriously you've surely heard about the 'official' cover band of 7 musicians named ''The Musical Box'' (I've seen them 2-3 times) which has the blessing and the approval of the Genesis members. Steve Hackett and Collins have even played with them couple of times here or there.

Review has Jethro's approval. Are you on your way to launch a Genesis discog? I'd support you.

Jethro42
December 10th 2011


12547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Go for it man. I for myself feel willing to begin a series of reviews under my own account for the same reason you just mentioned. ProgJect is left not far on the shelf, no worries.

KILL
December 10th 2011


72090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yea sucks

Digging: Steve Hackett - Out of the Tunnel's Mouth

Jethro42
December 10th 2011


12547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

It definitely doesnt deserve the name Genesis. Really hard to believe there's barely one year that separates this and Trespass.

Jethro42
December 10th 2011


12547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Awkward. 2.5/5 is somewhat generous when I look at it.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2011


21445 Comments


Haven't heard this, don't think I'll bother checking it out any time soon.

TheNotrap
December 10th 2011


8121 Comments


Last time I've heard this 95% of the dudes here haven't been born yet.
Need to recheck it.



Digging: Pink Floyd - The Endless River

Jethro42
December 10th 2011


12547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I just relistened to the whole thing and tried hard to be as objective as I can be. I realized that if I listen to this without taking it as a Genesis album but as a 60's pop album among others, the result of the song's ranking is rather surprising. I now even consider to bump my rating up. Oh wait!...

Where the Sour Turns to Sweet - 3.5/5
In the Beginning - 3.5/5
Fireside Song - 4/5
The Serpent - 4/5
Am I Very Wrong? - 3.5/5
In the Wilderness - 2/5
The Conqueror - 3.5/5
In Hiding - 4/5
One Day - 1/5
Window - 1.5/5
In Limbo - 1.5/5
Silent Sun - 5/5
A Place to Call My Own - 3/5
Bonus tracks;
That's me - 4/5
A winter's Tale - 5/5
One eyed Hound - 4/5

A lost Genesis track (sounds like a Nursery Cryme leftover to me) that worth a listen; Twilight Alehouse - 4/5
(''The Serpent'' intro comes from that one)




Jethro42
December 11th 2011


12547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Done. 3'd for what the album is. I just have to think it's not a Genesis album.

KILL
March 5th 2012


72090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sux

dannyboy89
April 25th 2013


12865 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Jamming this now, left it for last Genesis listen. And yes, it doesn't feel at all like a Genesis album.

Killerhit
April 25th 2013


5254 Comments


the albums okay

dannyboy89
April 25th 2013


12865 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This feels more like a Jimi Hendrix album.

itsfloyd
April 25th 2013


39 Comments


Doesn't Genesis at all.

dannyboy89
April 25th 2013


12865 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Fireside Song" is quite decent. I think I might 3 this album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy