The Wonder Years
Suburbia I've Given You All and Now...


5.0
classic

Review

by lucasjcockcroft USER (6 Reviews)
December 5th, 2011 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: And what i learned was, its not about forcing happines, its about not letting sadness win.

The Wonder Years are the leading light in the revival of pop-punk, with the angst and aggression of ‘punk,’ the catchiness of ‘pop,’ and lyrics ranging from genius to almost zero subtly, yet still completely heart felt, The Wonder Years have this genre mastered, and have released an album that will stick with you forever, this is not an album you hear once and forget. This is a prime example of great musicianship and band mates coming together with incredible amount of ideas to create a near perfect album with almost no flaws.

Relatable: maybe this is what makes The Wonder Years so good, with Dan ‘Soupy’ Campbell singing away at such lyrical topics as ‘is this really adult hood?,’ life really isn’t bad as it seems,’ ‘lost friends,’ ‘good friends,’ ‘this is town I live in’ and maybe most importantly ‘am I making the right decision’. Their common man approach to music also works with the suburbia concept of the album, making it believable that these guys have true struggles, ones every day people have, and not just musicians.

The album starts off with Came out Swinging, and the first noticeable thing is the deepening of Dan Campbell’s voice compared to The Upsides, it’s more raw and sounds like there is hardly an enhancing. The song begins with some feed back and then guitar to build up to very short pause, then we hear Dan Campbell aggressively deliver with full sincerity he has, “moved all my shit into my parents basement, and out of our old apartment,”. The Wonder Years ponder their actions and question themselves, ‘are we making the right decision,’ “I left a real job and a girlfriend” topics most bands don’t talk about when their thrust into the hardships of touring year round. Scared knowing life will never be the same or regular again.

‘I Won’t Say the Lord’s Prayer’ finishes, and done is the most serious song on the album, basically calling Christianity bull ***, a rough topic to base a song around, especially in such a genre, but it works and they don’t come off as being ignorant. At this point most albums enter the filler section, almost to build up with few average songs to make the last seem better. But The Wonder Years don’t do that, the last few songs never let up and they even include a ballad, about of old Vietnam vets and the homeless alcoholics that fill up his town.

The album comes to a conclusion with the bitter sweet And Now I'm Nothing, perhaps the best track on the album. A sad one, but it seems to say that The Wonder Years has come to terms with them selves…and suburbia.

Suburbia: I’ve Given You All and Now I’m nothing



Recent reviews by this author
Trophy Eyes Everything Goes AwayReal Friends Acoustic Songs
My Ticket Home To Create a CureBlink-182 Neighborhoods
My Ticket Home The Opportunity To Be
user ratings (858)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
lucasjcockcroft
December 5th 2011


3714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

complete fanboyism.
aweful review.
but it needed a 5.

lucasjcockcroft
December 5th 2011


3714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

complete fanboyism.
aweful review.
but it needed a 5.

Yotimi
December 5th 2011


6570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i love the guitar tone in 'I won't Say the Lords Prayer' - reminds me of Park

DoubtGin
December 5th 2011


6754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

mhmmm Park...

Axel
December 5th 2011


189 Comments


one day

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2011


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

is the summary a lyric from this? cause if so I need it.

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

AlecBaldwin
December 5th 2011


147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^

When you commented on this, I read it on the front page as "Suburbia: I've Given You Aids".



And yes, it's from "Local Man Ruins Everything".

pmmets07
December 5th 2011


5929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

some corections: the first sentence is waaaaaaaay too long to be a sentence. "ranging from genius to
almost zero subtly" did you mean "subtlety"?

second paragraph, change "Relatable" to "relatability"

third paragraph, "hardly any* enhancing"

there are more. PROOFREAD. content of the review is en pointe.

Spec
December 5th 2011


27298 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Words to live by.

AlecBaldwin
December 5th 2011


147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"‘I Won’t Say the Lord’s Prayer’ finishes, and done is the most serious song on the album, basically calling Christianity bull ****"


Soupy isn't calling Christianity bullshit in this song. He's saying that he grew up with Christianity shoved down his throat, but as he grew up his realised that he doesn't agree with it.

JaySeanFenris
December 5th 2011


140 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't get it, and I love pop punk.

I'll listen to it again sometime soon.

Eko
December 5th 2011


2119 Comments


listened to this a couple days ago, had no idea what to think. need to get on that. pos

lucasjcockcroft
December 7th 2011


3714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^5 it, that's all you need to think.

NeutralThunder12
December 7th 2011


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

just kinda sounds like generic pop punk

but the lyrics are actually pretty good

NeutralThunder12
December 7th 2011


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i listened to a few songs off this. they sounded kinda just like cliche pop-punk does, nothing stood out. lyrics were nice though

lacesout39
July 27th 2012


47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So close to 5ing this album its ridiculous. I've been listening to this for like 4 or 5 months now and it still sounds fresh and amazing.

Spec
July 27th 2012


27298 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Not cliche at all.

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 27th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm rather surprised that people like this so much. This is still like a 3.5 for me. Generic is the word to describe this but it's not that much different than other pop punk bands.

I personally like the lyrics and message of I Won't Say The Lord's Prayer (something I've had to deal with and still do), but I don't like the song itself.

With that said, you've no idea how much frustration I went through trying to convince some guy on ap.net that TWY is better than ATL's last album.

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 27th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Every time I listen to one of their old songs, I there's always arguments about whether or not old/new
ATL is better and whatnot. It gets really annoying. One of the reasons I don't listen to them
anymore except for like Party Scene, Circles, Guts, Hustler, Heroes, and Vegas.

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 27th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah. I like how they make a comment about how good their music is, and then end it by commenting on how "cute they are." Ugh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy