Korn
The Path of Totality


4.0
excellent

Review

by Abhishek1411 USER (1 Reviews)
December 4th, 2011 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Jonathan Davis is good in trying (successfully) something 'new' every time. And "The Path Of Totality" is surely a 'must check out' thing for all Korn fans and/or ''not much of a korn fans''.

"I want to trail-blaze. I want to change things. I want to do things we're not supposed to do. I want to create art that's different and not conform to what's going on. We didn't make a dubstep album. We made a Korn album."

This is what Jonathan Davis said when asked about collaborating with many dubstep producers for their(Korn's) new album.
Although the 'pure' metal fans would show their averse to this album because of the 'computer n electronically generated music', this album has a different taste. Both metal n non metal fans are gonna like this album 'cause the sound is really catchy. The first single which was out from the album was "Get Up" feat. Dubstep producer Skrillex, the song was catchy as hell and got many plays in discos as well(which is quite unlikely for a metal band). J. Davis worked really hard for this album, and it shows. Their last album "Korn III - Remember who you are" was bit of a let down for their fans even if it landed on the US billboard top 200 at #2.
"The Path of Totality" is a 'must check out' album purely because of its 'newness' (not saying that rock has never mixed up with dubstep or electronic music before, but this album is surely different).
The stand out tracks of the album are "Narcissistic Cannibal (feat. Skrillex and Kill the noise)", "Get Up(feat. Skrillex)", "Bleeding out(feat. Feed Me)" and "Kill Mercy Within (Feat. Noisia)".
YES, all of the tracks have a "Feat" thingy in them. The negative thing about this is that the guitars n bass have been suppressed by the dubstep music, but the songs still have the rock/metal tinge in them.
J. Davis' voice with Korn's signature tuned down guitars AND dubstep make it a good (infact great) album.
Although, the album is receiving mixed reviews from everywhere but in my opinion (being a metal fan), this is one of the best albums of this year(also considering TH1RT3EN, A Dramatic Turn Of Events, and Worship Music).


user ratings (887)
Chart.
2
poor
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aphrodisiac
December 4th 2011


1739 Comments


yea

MO
December 4th 2011


18999 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

ugh, dooooin sumfin difffrent

Acanthus
December 4th 2011


9545 Comments


No more reviews for this please!

Digging: MO - No Mythologies To Follow

Abhishek1411
December 4th 2011


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is my first review for this site.

AsoTamaki
December 4th 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

*bites tongue*

I hope you're enjoying the site so far.

Abhishek1411
December 4th 2011


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah...kinda :-|

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2011


31493 Comments


Lol played at the discos

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

Aphrodisiac
December 4th 2011


1739 Comments


"The first single which was out from the album was "Get Up" feat. Dubstep producer Skrillex, the song was catchy as hell and got many plays in discos as well(which is quite unlikely for a metal band)."

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2011


50872 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Let's go down to the Discothèque and dance to Kornstep

Digging: Bobby Barnett - Little Wounds

AsoTamaki
December 4th 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Discotheques usually are on the cutting edge of things and play hot new music like this. What are you two finding so strange about that?

Gilgamahesh
December 4th 2011


1006 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

You gotta work on your writing some, bro. And there are WAY too many reviews for this.

Abhishek1411
December 4th 2011


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Try that shit. You'll dance and headbang your ass off to kornstep..

iamthenightmare
December 4th 2011


754 Comments


The writing in this review is abysmal. The only reason I checked out the review in the first place was to see how well the 4 rating was backed up, and I was extremely disappointed to find a review written below a high school level. Grammar is completely thrown out the window, and unless you are twelve this is not okay. Stop coming on websites that require semi-intellectual feedback in reviews if you cannot understand the very basics of writing. Posting a terribly written review on such a site does nothing but feed the sarcastic assholes that permeate such sites and fuel their ever-growing egos. If you are over the age of twelve, please stop posting on this site until you can form a well written sentence.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2011


50872 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Posting a terribly written review on such a site does nothing but feed the sarcastic assholes that permeate such sites and fuel their ever-growing egos.

m/

psykonaut
December 4th 2011


3913 Comments


pos

AsoTamaki
December 4th 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Blame Deviant. If he hadn't posted such an abomination of a review, we wouldn't be getting a bunch of new users who think they can at least write better than that signing up just to post a review on this album.

psykonaut
December 4th 2011


3913 Comments


nah we always get middle-school level positive reviews by new users for most high profile releases

Abhishek1411
December 4th 2011


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For all those harsh comments, i don't think you guys know what this site is actually about.
Pity.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2011


31493 Comments


Blame Deviant. If he hadn't posted such an abomination of a review, we wouldn't be getting a bunch of new users who think they can at least write better than that signing up just to post a review on this album.


sup stick in the ass

dimsim3478
December 4th 2011


5332 Comments


For all those harsh comments, i don't think you guys know what this site is actually about.
Pity.


You're a troll, right?

Digging: Owen - Other People's Songs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy