Corrupted
Paso Inferior


4.5
superb

Review

by rasputin USER (196 Reviews)
November 27th, 2011 | 47 replies | 7,222 views


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist


3 of 3 thought this review was well written

With only a few splits and EPs behind them, Corrupted’s debut LP was nothing short of a masterstroke – despite the fact that the Japanese sludge doom outfit would come to better themselves with future LPs, Paso Inferior remains as a milestone to the excruciating and soul-destroying experience that comes with listening to Corrupted. Later releases will show the band delving into different forms of experimentation, many of which coming with some elements of melody, and so Paso Inferior can be differentiated from these subsequent efforts for its sole aim of demoralizing the listener.

The often lauded El Mundo Frio and Se Hace Por Los Suenos Asesinos are indubitably amazing compositions – while maintaining Corrupted’s sense of sonic destruction, they incorporate lengthy build-ups and harmonious climaxes to give a truly satisfying musical experience. Nevertheless, they do not match Paso Inferior on one point – a stomach churning, almost disgustingly revolting and suffocating atmosphere. This debut LP perhaps stands on its own as the album to crush all happy and positive thought, a droning piece of corrosive doom that infects you and gloats as you struggle to find a cure.

As a single forty minute track, Paso Inferior is not an easy listen. Including the fact that the Japanese group does everything in their power to make this as uncomfortable a listen as possible, the record can be somewhat inaccessible. Beginning with an introduction of feedback, Corrupted set the standard for what’s to come: the weighty and almost droning presence of the feedback never subsides throughout the record’s entire length. Even when the monstrous riffs begin raining down, even when ‘Hevi’ starts to utter his monolithic roars, the overwhelming background noise remains – and to put it bluntly, that’s all there is to the album.

The track moves at an agonizingly slow tempo; while on many occasions I’ve felt that the feeling of suffocation kept increasing as I plunged further into Corrupted's 'abyss', there is little to no variation in the track’s forty minute length. It could be argued (and probably has) that this is all the album has to offer, simply a long and repetitive song – what should not be ignored is that this is all that Corrupted choose to offer, and if one is to take them seriously, the genius of this album will most certainly emerge.

And what is this genius? If my rambling so far hasn’t made it clear, I’ll sum it up thus: a hypnotic and droning slab of doom; a vicious and unrelentingly slow surge of pure crush; the musical encapsulation of every menacing thought you’ve had, and ever will have. Despite the importance of their other full lengths, Paso Inferior is an essential album for any doom fan. The atmosphere it brings to one’s doom palate is unmatched and I am certain that this release has set the standard for all doom to come.



Recent reviews by this author
Hoax HoaxHakaristi Hakaristi
Burial Invocation Rituals of the GrotesqueEibon Entering Darkness
Abe Sada / Sub Ordnance Redux / Organ GrinderIron Lung/Mind Eraser/HS/Scapegoat Brutal Supremacy
user ratings (62)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
BrxxnAngxlRxsnxr (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
rasputin
November 27th 2011



14504 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

written nov 2009

Ignimbrite
November 27th 2011



5228 Comments


noice

ffs
November 27th 2011



4675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this rules

Ignimbrite
November 27th 2011



5228 Comments


goddammit

MisterSteel
November 27th 2011



453 Comments


Suffocating really is the perfect word to describe this.

rasputin
November 27th 2011



14504 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

their second best album if u disagree ur wrong

rasputin
November 27th 2011



14504 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this being your fav is the closest wrong to right, if you know what i mean

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2011



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very nice review. You listened to the vinyl version yet?

Speaking of which, I have Se Hace coming in the mail. Am excite.

ThyCrossAwaits
November 27th 2011



3009 Comments


rasp, what'd you think of Garten der Unbewusstheit?

RosaParks
November 27th 2011



14592 Comments


this is too polished for fade




still need to get around to this one. Loved el mundo frio and the new one that has all those letters n stuff

rasputin
November 28th 2011



14504 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Very nice review. You listened to the vinyl version yet?

Speaking of which, I have Se Hace coming in the mail. Am excite.


nah I haven't yet. I've decided it will be the first one I play when I get a new record player. My current one is pretty shithouse.

you have the Se Hace LP or CD coming? coz the LP doesn't go for less than like 80 bucks on ebay

rasp, what'd you think of Garten der Unbewusstheit?


in relation to corrupted's discog as a whole, I was a little disappointed. it's still an amazing record but it's their weakest so far (or at least at the same level of llenandose). there's no comparison when compared to other bands trying to do the same thing - there is no doom, there is only corrupted.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2011



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The LP. Coming straight from Japan along with Boris' Akuma no Uta.

rasputin
November 28th 2011



14504 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

zomgz where did you get it?

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2011



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Off eBay. Had the extra cash and got a good deal buying them both together. Of course, my car broke down yesterday, so I kind of need it back now, but whatever lol.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2011



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah, speak of the devil:

http://i.imgur.com/BW75c.jpg

seedofnothing
December 27th 2011



3425 Comments


Still need to hear this.

Graveyard
August 11th 2012



5390 Comments


Album is fucking amazing

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 2nd 2012



23653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just downloaded this and was really excited to hear it, but then the new GYBE album dropped so.....yeah it'll be a while until i hear this. I read the review though and it was really good, well done rasputin.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Graveyard
October 2nd 2012



5390 Comments


this only has one track so it's all good

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 2nd 2012



23653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i don't see why that matters but yeah i knew that. I loved the new one when it came out (not gonna attempt to spell it) and figured it was about time to check out the rest of their work. i mean I know that's not really how we do it on the sput but i'm a REBEL.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy