Dischordia
Creator, Destroyer


3.0
good

Review

by pizzamachine USER (211 Reviews)
November 26th, 2011 | 15 replies | 2,271 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: with great moshing comes great responsibility.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

What can be said about an EP that is good yet completely predictable? Not much, unfortunately. Dischordia like to believe that their music is unique. The EP’s description states that, “The band's music-first ethos has been forged through years of stylistic refinement and questing for a sound to call their own.” This ridiculously exaggerative statement is clearly a load of crap. Dischordia’s sound may borrow from an array of popular death metal bands, but they are bringing nothing new to the table. Leaning towards Meshuggah’s style with abnormal time signatures, they are playing a style of death metal that has already been proven to work. Oh sure, they attempt to experiment in ‘Radioactive Iodine 121’ with some progressive tendencies, but the result is a needlessly longer, and more boring song (like a more forgettable version of Nile’s ‘4th Arra of Dagon’). If Creator, Destroyer is anything, it is your typical, solid death metal album, and not much else.

The band members are actually skilled, yet too often their talent is inaudible. That is not to say that that the recording quality of the album is bad, nay! Rather, they too often play it safe, relying on simple, heavy chugging riffs rather than showing their skills. The same can be said for the drums where some insane double bass pedal parts are employed, but rarely. Their music is definitely heavy enough for metalheads, and it isn’t necessarily bad death metal, but more needs to be done here. Dischordia have impressive potential, but it’s going to take more than just potential to create a great album. For now, Dischordia should stick with playing shows, ‘cause I bet they rip it up on stage.



Recent reviews by this author
Jeremy Soule Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion SoundtrackRa Critical Mass
Gemini Syndrome LuxSirenia Perils of the Deep Blue
Rainbow (KR) Rainbow Syndrome Part. 2Part Myth Part Legend Almagest Codex
user ratings (1)
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 26th 2011



5992 Comments


good review, pos.

This is the band's first release?

Digging: Lisa Gerrard - Twilight Kingdom

pizzamachine
November 26th 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah it's their debut EP. Cheers!

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 26th 2011



5992 Comments


I can't find a band pic anywhere in the net...




edit:

I found it!

ohfoxxxycole
November 26th 2011



4353 Comments


pizza is contrib now sweet congrats

pizzamachine
November 26th 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks man, I like being contrib. :]

Acanthus
November 26th 2011



9537 Comments


Sir you need to get in on the Mahria hype ^_^ as you might like it!

Digging: The Cure - The Head on the Door

pizzamachine
November 26th 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Huh, I wasn't going to check it out, but I will now!

Acanthus
November 26th 2011



9537 Comments


Not sure on where you stand on the genre, but it's worth a brief listen (tracks rarely go over the 3 minute mark).

Tyrael
November 26th 2011



20798 Comments


Haha awesome summary ^^

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 26th 2011



5992 Comments


Haha awesome summary ^^



this

pizzamachine
November 26th 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

How do I come up with them???

seedofnothing
November 26th 2011



3425 Comments


"pizza is contrib now sweet congrats"

and he's def puttin in work, coughin out like 80 revs a week

excellent review bro!! very descriptive, i won't be listening to this as im sick of all these clones wasting my time

i don't really get how all these bands keep emerging with nothing new to bring to the table.

its not like there's a ton of money to made in the death metal genre either, so why do they keep playin it safe. Im not sure how it is for the djent sub-genre or whatever they call it, but im sure these f'n bands are tryin to soak up whatever they can from the djent loving kids

pizzamachine
November 27th 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks!!! :] It really is hard to stand out from the crowd these days, but that doesn't mean that bands can't at least make enjoyable music.

xorax
November 27th 2011



96 Comments


Good review, you have me intriuged to listen to this band.

TheFonz123
January 19th 2012



2795 Comments


great review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy