Bhang Khang
2011 Demo


4.0
excellent

Review

by B R A N D O N S C O T T USER (103 Reviews)
November 26th, 2011 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist


As recent years have seen a boom in punk and hardcore influenced black metal it was really only a matter of time before grim face-painted warriors of darkness began to dabble in one of hardcore's most aggressive forms, powerviolence. This is where the United States based Bhang Khang come in - formed just this year, the group to date has only a single demo to their name but their extremely tight performance coupled with obvious compositional talent easily makes it one of the best [demos] released this year.

While powerviolence and black metal play a much more prevalent role in Bhang Khang's sound the band does occasionally slow it down for a heavy, trudging sludge breakdown, adding even more depth to Bhang Khang's sonic stew. The juxtaposition of the band's central genres is displayed rather cleverly in a diverse array of ways here, sometimes showing the two existing within a single riff and other times with a more clear-cut separation. Overall they are balanced quite nicely, and with sludge's slow paced, bass laced crawl breaking up the blinding speed of PV and BM, the album avoids a certain monotony while also lending towards its overall longevity. In only a ten minute span a listen to Bhang Khang's 2011 Demo is definitely a bang worth its buck and should definitely be explored by anyone who listens to hardcore, black metal and/or fancies a combination of the two.



Recent reviews by this author
Cara Neir The OverwatchCarved Cross Demo III
Black Beasts IIAzarath Blasphemers' Maledictions
Doth Datura WrightiiCara Neir Sublimation Therapy
user ratings (8)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
November 26th 2011


17990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really short review for a really short demo

Digging: The Speed of Sound in Seawater - Red Version

Vesper
November 26th 2011


3085 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listening to this right now. :]

TheSpirit
November 26th 2011


17990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This makes me happy :] I Can always trust you Vesper!

LordOfAlexandria
November 26th 2011


264 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A solid 10 minutes. Know where I can buy this?

Tyrael
November 26th 2011


20946 Comments


This sounds amazing

WANT

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

TheSpirit
November 26th 2011


17990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just noticed a few errors but I'm on my phone right now so ill change them later. I'm not sure where you can buy this and yes you should get this Ty

MisterSteel
November 26th 2011


453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review has me sold, gonna go find this now.

sifFlammable
November 26th 2011


2741 Comments


ching chang ching chang chong

BallsToTheWall
November 26th 2011


44805 Comments


Good review.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

TheSpirit
November 26th 2011


17990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

spanks dude

Vesper
November 26th 2011


3085 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just realized these guys broke up in May... solid demo, though.

Also, what's up with them being non-Asian dudes from Baton Rouge with some kind of South Asian band name and Japanese text on their cover? I don't geddit, hahaha.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 26th 2011


16137 Comments


Yeah, the band name sounds Thai, but they have Japanese on the cover. Go figure.

seedofnothing
November 26th 2011


3425 Comments


"their extremely tight performance coupled with obvious compositional talent easily makes it one of
the best [demos] released this year"

i hope this wording doesn't let me down

also very nice review, and although very short, i would have liked to have seen it broken up into
about 3 paragraphs

other than that, pos, because your clear and concise

TheSpirit
November 26th 2011


17990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks mang, next review will be longer

seedofnothing
November 26th 2011


3425 Comments


"next review will be longer"

length was actually perfect, i don't know about most of the other peeps, but I personally like really short and to the point reviews

TheSpirit
November 26th 2011


17990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well I'm glad that wasn't an issue, shorter reviews tend to get panned hardcore here although I dunno why really, they can be just as effective. Plus an album like this doesn't need anything more than this anyway really

sifFlammable
November 26th 2011


2741 Comments


wait a minute so ur ok with the length, but you want this length to be divided into 3 paragraphs

TheSpirit
November 27th 2011


17990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i was wondering about that myself

rasputin
November 27th 2011


14555 Comments


yeah i would divide that up, if not three at least into two

TheSpirit
November 27th 2011


17990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

divided the only way i really think it would work



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy