Threat Signal
Threat Signal


2.5
average

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (198 Reviews)
November 24th, 2011 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Threat Signal is now but a shadow of their former selves.

While there latest output has the same sounds as their debut record Under Reprisal, their self titled release falls short of creating the same impression on listeners. Where the debut album had a refreshing sound, Threat Signal simply lacks the flair and raw energy to see them both in the same light. Recycled ideas littered with the somewhat overused breakdowns and chugged riffs leave the listener simply expecting more.

The music itself isn’t actually a complete write off, just incredibly bland. There is a niggling feeling that the band has returned to a successful (or at least a better liked) sound just to please a diminishing fan base. While they have essentially returned to their roots, Threat Signal just doesn’t give the same force to the self titled release to ensure the release of some higher quality material. Unfortunately this release drips into an overflowing metal of mundane albums and does little to stand out in any way. Rest assured that this is better than the band’s sophomore attempt Vigilance – but only just.

Threat Signal has become a shadow of their former selves. Their latest attempt echoes like a rock thrown into the Grand Canyon, you might hear it a couple of times getting weaker and weaker but the music never was an explosion that shook the listener to the very core. Not helping Threat Signal is the fact that tracts blend together, both in structuring and musical ideas. Tracks become even more un-memorable and more often than not listeners will wonder where one track ends and the next begins. Threat Signal for the most part is built on the rehashing and recycling of the band’s done before ideas. The explosion of riff after riff adds to the monotonous and dragging feel of the album, coupled with similar sounding vocal phrasing and drum triggers.

By now, listeners can tell this record is utterly uninspiring, the fact that Threat Signal is obviously not trying for any direct innovation or even hints at a revolutionary stage for the band hurts the outcomes of the album. Listeners can tell they’re not trying anything new, the band can tell they’re not trying anything new. Ultimately the result becomes a snooze fest for the listener.

For the casual Threat Signal fan, there are going to be some ear pleasing moments, especially for those who preferred the Under Reprisal production. But, for many others this album may convince them to never revisit the band. All in all, the return to a solid (better liked) sound has seen an improvement when compared to Vigilance but falls short of the debut. Threat Signal is a rather averagely stale and emotionless addition to the band’s discography.



Recent reviews by this author
Eden Circus MarulaIn Flames Siren Charms
Mastodon Once More 'Round the SunMayhem Esoteric Warfare
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherKauan Pirut
user ratings (65)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
CJISASKANK (2)
The Most Uninspiring Album This Year....

related reviews

Vigilance

Under Reprisal

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2011


7122 Comments


It's been a while, hope I'm not rusty. Tried writing without using track references to back up some of my points. Hope it helps flow a little. 'Sup?

AfterTheBreakdown
November 24th 2011


7166 Comments


This album..... I don't like it!

sailinseasofcs
November 24th 2011


5 Comments


I prefer pony signal.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2011


7122 Comments


Explain that neg! Or are you too spineless to say what is so wrong with this review. I'll take the criticism but ghosts annoy me.


@AftertheBreakdown, yeah same here champ, I heard that they were going back to a sound reminiscent of their debut and got pretty hopeful. Unfortunately there was none of the vibe I got from the debut record.

AfterTheBreakdown
November 24th 2011


7166 Comments


bands always say shit like that then it ends up sucking ass. As you can see here.

RosaParks
November 24th 2011


14951 Comments


I still love the covers these guys' guitar players do

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2011


7122 Comments


"I still love the covers these guys' guitar players do"

Hey Rosa, link me?



RosaParks
November 24th 2011


14951 Comments


If i wasn't on my phone. I'll give it a shot though. Just give me a minute lol

FrankRedHot
November 24th 2011


6448 Comments


"Explain that neg! Or are you too spineless to say what is so wrong with this review. I'll take the criticism but ghosts annoy me."

Oh, you're really showing him! I think he learned his lesson!

Muse1748
November 24th 2011


160 Comments


I thought it was well written, man, so I pos'd. Just a couple small things I noticed:

The first there should be a their

Their latest attempt echoes like a rock thrown into the Grand Canyon, you might hear it a couple of times getting weaker and weaker but the music never was an explosion that shook the listener to the very core.

Try replacing that comma after Canyon with a semicolon or colon; makes the sentence flow better I feel.

The very next sentence tracts should be tracks

Last nitpicky thing, I swear:

By now, listeners can tell this record is utterly uninspiring, the fact that Threat Signal is obviously not trying for any direct innovation or even hints at a revolutionary stage for the band hurts the outcomes of the album. Listeners can tell they’re not trying anything new, the band can tell they’re not trying anything new. Ultimately the result becomes a snooze fest for the listener.

After "uninspiring" end the sentence. Start the next sentence with "The fact."
Also, instead of making that last sentence a sentence, combine it with the previous thought; like This maybe: Listeners can tell they’re not trying anything new, the band can tell they’re not trying anything new, and, ultimately the result becomes a snooze fest for the listener.

Like I said though, well written

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2011


7122 Comments


@Pit, all yours buddy, guess I don't have the keyboard bashing skills.

@Thanks Jeff, it's good to see you around - I guess that's what i get for typing this whole thing up on my phone lol.
Also, I'll have a review for you soon to go over for me, via Email, we can see if you like the music too while were at it : ]

RosaParks
November 24th 2011


14951 Comments


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=10lEAJSIFrQ
M/

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2011


7122 Comments


That's fair awesome : ]

Muse1748
November 24th 2011


160 Comments


Man I have no idea how you managed to type it on your phone; I'd lose my mind doing it that way lol. And I look forward to reading your next review; I always like to help and, who knows, I might like the music quite a bit. I'm always looking for new rock/metal to listen to. =] I may have a review for you to look over in the near future, too. I haven't been in the writing mood lately so maybe that'll change soon.

Eclecticist
November 25th 2011


3863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pos'd! I really liked this review although I gave this a 3 because at least it's the same ol' Threat Signal... just without [as you said] the 'flair'!

linchpin313
November 25th 2011


813 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Miles better than Vigilance... really liking this at the moment, few fillers but mostly pretty good.



NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 27th 2011


7122 Comments


Must have a couple of trolls.....

RosaParks
November 27th 2011


14951 Comments


But yea. The guitar players should stick to doing covers. The music they write is pretty uninspired.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy