Low
I Could Live in Hope


4.0
excellent

Review

by scissorlocked USER (35 Reviews)
November 21st, 2011 | 145 replies


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Low could live in hope

Provided the fact that the 90's was a rather fuzzy and loud decade where grunge and post-punk thrived, Low's music should have sounded quite strange in the distortion-thirsty ears of the average teenager. However, there are many kinds of teenagers. Recorded in the Autumn of '93, I Could Live in Hope resembles the humble underdog youngster of those times. Plunged into a constant reverie, unable to catch up with the growing trends and their hasty pace, finds shelter in a somber indolence and quietly discusses several dreadful topics: shame, fear, love, hope.

Low in their first LP are just like that. They stay away from superfluousness and delve into sparse melancholy with simple, climaxing moody melodies. They speak only a little, and when they do their words fade in obscurity. Their music is a question on the borders of hope and despair that has been left unanswered. Veiled with a dreamy haziness, the songs sound as a remembrance of sadness through a prism of innocence. Like a childish interpretation of undisputed sincerity, Low are far from heralding pessimism or dead endings. They want to look at a cruel world with such eyes. And that's why they could live in hope. But they don't.



Recent reviews by this author
Balthazar RatsCaspian Waking Season
Gravenhurst The Ghost in DaylightAU Both Lights
If These Trees Could Talk Red ForestA Place to Bury Strangers Onwards To The Wall
user ratings (150)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
scissorlocked
November 21st 2011


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Desperately needed a review, so I came up with this shortie

Words: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4AzLgswmJxA
Sunshine: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qhsfQk7-FpE

enjoy!

Jethro42
November 21st 2011


12440 Comments


Sounds great. Loved your review. Brillantly right to the point.

DurzoBlint
November 21st 2011


1180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lullaby is so good >_> and the cover of sunshine haha, managed to make it depressing xD

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2011


23828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great review, even if it is just a glorified soundoff haha. I just recently started getting into Low and this album fucking rules.

scissorlocked
November 21st 2011


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks everyone!

I thought that the album's nature deserved such a review Aids- it doesn't get that much analysis!

and yeah, Sunshine is weirdly depressing despite its lyrics



rasputin
November 21st 2011


14544 Comments


best low

scissorlocked
November 21st 2011


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@RiffOclock: yeah man, you're kinda right bout this one, it may read somehow disrespectful, but it's more related to the part of the comparison concerning the "boy"



DestroyHim
November 21st 2011


173 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The second paragraph comes across as quite pretentious to me. I mean I like how you tried to explain the title but the style in the sentences leading to it.... But w/e some people might like that. Album is decent though, I'm glad someone reviewed it.

scissorlocked
November 21st 2011


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah, I know that it might read a little pretentious but the paragraph isn't just for the title explanation

I wanted to underline that the album is melancholic and hopeful at the same time

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2011


6110 Comments


fantastic review, pos.


May check this.

Digging: Disasterhate - Sacrifice To Eclipse

Anthracks
April 29th 2012


3744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Surprised at how few people have heard this over here. Get on that.

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

scissorlocked
April 29th 2012


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

still haven't decided If I prefer this to Things we Lost in the Fire

chambered69
April 29th 2012


1253 Comments


good band

ApplicationToHeaven
June 12th 2012


1561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

flawless album

Anthracks
June 13th 2012


3744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

flawless 4.5/5

ApplicationToHeaven
June 14th 2012


1561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

flawless =/= perfect, dipshit

YankeeDudel
July 18th 2012


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pretty pathetic how little votes/comments this has.

Digging: Walknut - Graveforests And Their Shadows

eternium
August 2nd 2012


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Everyone needs to hear this.

Might push it up to a 4.5. Gets better with every listen.

rasputin
August 4th 2012


14544 Comments


yeah it's an amazing record

Graveyard
August 4th 2012


5733 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

better than trust imo

Digging: Sugary Sweet Machines - Controlled Breathing



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy