Godspeed You! Black Emperor
F#A# (Infinity)


5.0
classic

Review

by Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (103 Reviews)
November 20th, 2011 | 87 replies | 4,566 views


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: -

It was 12:30 on a cold October night in central Oxford. After parting ways with a friend, I was left to make the journey home alone. Quick stop, ipod out, headphones on, continue... The interesting thing about a city at night is that all social constraints are put on hold. It's perfectly normal to, say, hurl abuse at the person beside you for no reason or lie down in the middle of the street. In essence, society is reduced to a primitive state. Having singled me out as a teenager on his own, a drunk student approached me, attempted to say something on the way and proceeded to fall over himself. None of his friends noticed, and he cut a sorry figure: sprawled out on the cobbles, not yet attempting to get up, so I moved on - these things happen. But my mind had just been reminded of the true, pathetic nature of humanity, and that's not something it likes to dwell on. I dropped a 10 pound note to the homeless woman, didn't receive much in the way of a thank you apart from a worried look. I guess she had reached the conclusion that this act of charity was a moment of spiritual cleansing before I jumped off a bridge.

Further up the street, there was a man clutching a bible like it was his only child; screaming chants of redemption and salvation. He stood right outside the mcdonalds, recently refurbished after being set on fire during the riots - more of an act of anti-corporate expression than simple vandalism. "We have sinned" he shouted, "we will be judged for what we have done". I don't know why he thought that combating one violent ideology with another one would improve things, but he seemed content to draw attention to himself and his small bubble of self-righteousness - completely oblivious that he was probably doing more harm than good.

After a drawn out wait for the bus, I have to wait for some idiot to fumble around with his ticket. I do not know why this angered me as much as it did, but for that one moment I swear I could have happily murdered him. My turn, no fumbling from my end and I move to sit down. Attempts to "accidentally" catch eyes with the cute girl drowning herself in literature failed, I sat down on the opposite side of the bus - just a little bit further back - and another drunk stumbled in, tripping over himself before crashing on to the back row of seats. I shared a quick smile with the girl, a brief moment of connectivity in a hostile place, before folding inwards, volume turned up a bit.

For an album with only a handful of vocal samples, F#A#∞ manages to say more than it appears at first hand. Perhaps this is because words cannot describe the true depth of what the album stands for. It's dark, barren and lonely; a sentiment so far-reaching that what is so often interpreted as a post- apocalyptic scene can just as easily describe the nature of our society as a whole. In that nocturnal stroll, I engrossed myself in F#A#∞, and found not only a haunting, beautiful soundtrack, but also a truth so tangible that it acted as an educational experience for emotional intelligence.



Recent reviews by this author
Throwing Snow MosaicSOHN Tremors
A Winged Victory for the Sullen Atomos VIIPlinth (UK) Music For Smalls Lighthouse
The Correspondents Puppet Loosely StrungSon Lux Alternate Worlds
user ratings (2500)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sometimes I get bored, please don't be too harsh - I really doubt anyone will like this.



StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I haven't actually read any of the other reviews yet. Probably should to see how other people look at it.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2011



21566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

they basically said what you said in the last paragraph but in more detail

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2011



8737 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the review isn't awful but it is very redundant

Digging: Mournful Congregation - Concrescence of the Sophia

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is a really cool write-up, and well-written too, but it's hardly an album review. plus, writing something like this for this album has gotten a little cliché. not going to pos or neg, but I enjoyed reading it.

ShousoStrip
November 20th 2011



574 Comments


Why are the songs too long? Most people have a short attention span!

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

youre weird

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2011



21566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the songs are too short : (

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeh this is a little self indulgent, but to be fair, how many reviews of this have there already been?

Wombat988
November 20th 2011



388 Comments


Maybe expand on the last paragraph more and it would be worthy of a pos. A good read though

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If I'm honest, I'm surprised the last paragraph is there at all. I started this off planning to leave it at the 3 (HINT) paragraphs and leave it up for interpretation.

That was before I realised I'm not good enough at writing to leave things up for interpretation.

bigguytoo9
November 20th 2011



239 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Love this album, oddly enough I saw Godspeed back in Feb in Vancouver and it was quite an underwhelming performance to say the least.

Sigur Ros live 6 years ago was WAY more mindblowing.

Scoot
November 20th 2011



17677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nobody should reviewing this anymore

also

"oddly enough I saw Godspeed back in Feb in Vancouver and it was quite an underwhelming performance to say the least"

did you happen to be sleeping at the time? that was the best show i've ever seen and i've seen plenty

Digging: Unjust - Glow

rogerebert
November 20th 2011



48 Comments


horrible review

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"nobody should reviewing this anymore"

Good, because I barely reviewed it.

InAbsentia
November 20th 2011



3542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love this album as much as a person can possibly love an album, so I'm always happy to see another 5 review.

Having said that, I think it's a nice story, but I can hardly see a relation between the first three paragraphs and the album.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"oddly enough I saw Godspeed back in Feb in Vancouver and it was quite an underwhelming performance to say the least."

what the fuck? that was the best show I have ever seen in my life by a long shot. absolutely magical. You must have been the only person there who feels that way about it.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2011



21566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

what exactly makes their shows so magical?

TheVoiceAndTheSnake
November 20th 2011



3663 Comments


Atmosphere, brah

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2011



21566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

is everyone high



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy