Journey
Escape


3.5
great

Review

by SyphonAss USER (3 Reviews)
December 21st, 2005 | 42 replies | 9,633 views


Release Date: 1981 | Tracklist


1 of 21 thought this review was well written

Well here is my 4th review (even though it says Iíve done 1). A got a lot of bad responses about my last one so I thought Iíd would redo it. This time Iím not on crack and it isnít 4 in the morning.

I didnít realize it, but when I did some research I realized how many members Journey has had over all these years. So unlike my other review Iím going to do the proper Band member listing.


Guitar, Rhythm
George Tickner, 1973-75
Jonathan Cain, 1981-present

Keyboards
Gregg Rolie, 1973-80
Jonathan Cain, 1981-present

Bass
Ross Valory, 1973-85, 1995-present
Bob Glaub (studio only), 1986
Randy Jackson, 1986

Drums
Prairie Prince, 1973-74
Aynsley Dunbar, 1974-79
Steve Smith, 1979-86, 1995-97
Larrie Londin (studio only), 1986
Mike Baird (road only), 1986
Deen Castronovo, 1998-present

Lead Vocals
Gregg Rolie, 1973-80
Neal Schon, 1977, 1980, 1983 (tracks on Next, Departure, and Frontiers)
Robert Fleischman, 1977 (road only)
Steve Perry, 1978-97
Jonathan Cain, 1992 (track on Time [cubed]--studio only), 1998-present (road only--Gregg Rolie's songs)
Steve Augeri, 1998-present

Ok now that thatís over with. My review.

This cd is probably one of the best things to come out of the 80ís, seeing as how many crap bands there where at the time. Iím not saying there the best, Iím not even saying there even close to the best, but this is defiantly the best album Journey ever made. This cd is full of good rock vocals and bad whiny soft vocals, soft ballet piano, rocking guitar solos and rifts, simple drums and fart bass. (I know it sounds stupid but thatís all I can think of) As for the songs. Half rock, Half Ballet. Saying that Iím going to break it down a little more.

The rock songs-

The rock songs on this album are amazing. A few of the solos match up with Slash, Jimmy Page etcÖ. Others arenít classic but still impress. The songs them self have a late 70ís vibe that is awesome for people like me who think that was the best era of music. A few others have an 80ís vibe witch isnít as good but still have good guitar and bass. The vocals are good for the most part but at times fail to impress. The drumming tends to get a little too generic for my liking; being a drummer I look for interesting and fun drumming. But none of these songs provide what I am looking for in drums. Even with those things said. I still think all these songs are great and defiantly worth checking out. 8.5/10

The balleds-

The reason this cd sold so well was because of the balleds. This tells me how crappy the 80ís were. I really hate every single balled on this album. It is generic crap that doesnít impress at all. One in a while there will be a good solo with a neat fart bass going on in the back ground. But even with these things, all the balleds on this cd are boring, whiny, and makes you glad you werenít raised in the 80ís. 2/10

In conclusion, this cd should have been only rock songs, which they are great at.

Well there you have it. My review. I hope you go a good idea of whatís on this album and I hope you liked the review. I really hope itís better than my last one.

And I got an editor for this one so all you fu-kers that said to get oneÖ.I did


user ratings (140)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Brendan Schroer STAFF (3.5)
If you like fun, breezy AOR, then give this thing a listen....


Comments:Add a Comment 
DesolationRow
December 21st 2005



833 Comments


I'm sorry, but your review is under par. Your explanations and grammar are pretty bad, and you might want to recheck your spelling. You also failed to describe the album's sound as a whole. Better luck next time.

Rudd13
December 21st 2005



952 Comments


Coincidence. I was planning to review this one soon as well.

Dont Stop Believin does it for me.

masada
December 21st 2005



2733 Comments


As far as boring arena-rock bands go, Foreigner and Boston are the best.

Journey is terrible.

pulseczar
December 21st 2005



2385 Comments


Bad review, no need to regurgitate what everyone said, and it's a "ballad" not "ballet". And edit your review so that the band lineup is at the bottom or after the first paragraph. To edit a review find "Edit my Reviews" on your "User CP".

Vague, no way is Foreigner better than Journey. Boston however is cool.This Message Edited On 12.21.05

masada
December 21st 2005



2733 Comments


Last time I checked..

"Hot Blooded" > "Any Way You Want It".

I should review the first Foreigner album. I have it on vinyl. :cool:

pulseczar
December 21st 2005



2385 Comments


Cat Stevens has an album called "Foreigner" and I have it on vinyl :cool:

REO Speedwagon is probably the worst of all those arena rock bands, unless we start talking about Bon Jovi.

cbmartinez
December 21st 2005



2525 Comments


Hahaha, Foreigner is terrible. Their earlier stuff is good but then they went so adolescent, hot blooded boy rock, that's stuff pretty bad. I love the vocalist's voice though. Journey rules, good album.

masada
December 21st 2005



2733 Comments


I like "Hot Blooded" because it's so generic. But yeah, their first album is pretty good, besides the intrusive synthesizers.

cbmartinez
December 21st 2005



2525 Comments


"Double Vision" is a fantastic song too.

SyphonAss
December 22nd 2005



141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thank u people who sayed somthing to with the band and not just point out my bad spelling. I know im a bad speller get over it.

but hey my last 2 reviews when unnoticed so im glad this one didn'tThis Message Edited On 12.22.05This Message Edited On 12.22.05

SyphonAss
December 23rd 2005



141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

new and improved reveiw

SyphonAss
December 23rd 2005



141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i know jack shit about bass...so that's all i can think of, if you heard it you would understand

DangerBird
March 24th 2006



51 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is Journey's best album, Stone In Love is a slick song. now marry me.

ImTheFloor
March 24th 2006



59 Comments


DON'T STOP...BELIVIN'!!!!

You. Cannot. Spell. And this bothered me even more than you calling this album good.
But I digress. My personal opinion will not interfere with the fact that you need to try just a little bit harder to write a decent review.

SyphonAss
April 3rd 2006



141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well except for spelling i really don't think it's THAT bad of a review. You all need to realize that I am great...Better than you....MUCH better than all of you at every thing in every way. Jk but i think it's alright

thereisnohappyhere16
April 5th 2006



63 Comments


this review = shit

SyphonAss
April 8th 2006



141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

whoa...u have quite the vocabulary

The Sludge
April 18th 2006



2169 Comments


BALLAD! BALLAD! i dont mean to be rude, but it pained me to read this review from the spelling. I liked the way you did your Rise Against album though, but this was horrid.

Patrick
June 5th 2006



1891 Comments


sorry but your review was downright awful.

Whole lotta Led
February 12th 2007



40 Comments


Yesterday, I heard Don't stop beliving and I cried. It's just beautyfull.This Message Edited On 02.12.07



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy