Secede
Bye Bye Gridlock Traffic


5.0
classic

Review

by HSThomas USER (33 Reviews)
November 13th, 2011 | 41 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


It’s one thing to be an electronic musician, after all the next guy can try and be the next Richard D. James with just a laptop and a phone, but to be a electronic artist it takes so much more; the precise understanding of sound, placement and all the intricacies that come part and parcel. That is what differentiates Lennard van der Last aka Secede from so many of his trend-hopping contemporaries, he understands music and it’s composition with minuet precision and there is no greater demonstration of this than on Bye Bye Gridlock Traffic.

Perhaps the best demonstration of this is shown in how van der Last manages to be able to siphon and focus so many influences into his work without a single one of them overtaking the other. The sound is colourful and warm but it never descends into Rorschach madness due to van der Last’s careful choice of instrument and use of layering. The incredible “Outran” serves as the best example, different instruments build upon each other in harmonious succession to form an organic structure that constantly rises and falls without a single misstep. It’s a powerful and articulate representation of the illicit fantasies of a child’s fractured mind that simultaneously grasps at the stars while reaching into a very personal Hell and stands as a testament to van der Last’s skill as a composer. It thankfully is a skill that is utilised throughout the entire album. Not one song or a part of a song feels out of place upon this album, everything flows together to a form a disturbing but deeply human story. It’s a de Sardian danse macabre, a poignant look into a child’s madness and stands as Secede’s true masterpiece.



Recent reviews by this author
Jefre Cantu-Ledesma Love is a StreamJames Murphy Convergence
Morser 10,000 Bad Guys DeadHelmet Meantime
Integrity Systems OverloadInterment Into the Crypts of Blasphemy
user ratings (31)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (4.5)
Life distilled in music form....

related reviews

Tryshasla

Vega Libre

Comments:Add a Comment 
Oathbreaker
November 13th 2011


1649 Comments


I like seeing him get some love here.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2011


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Okay, you've convinced me, I'll give this a listen.

Also, ^lol^

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2011


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm 4 songs in and so far it's been fucking gorgeous. Gonna be listening to this for a while, cheers!

WashboardSuds
November 13th 2011


5035 Comments


"Richard D. James is the worst thing that ever happened to electronic music."

huh?

good review, Secede is pretty cool

Digging: Sachiko M, Toshimaru Nakamura & Otomo... - Good Morning Good Night

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2011


31475 Comments


Don't question what baseline says

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

Yotimi
November 13th 2011


6543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still think Tryshasla is his masterpiece but I love this too

Digging: Sand Circles - Motor City

sifFlammable
November 13th 2011


2741 Comments


tryshasla is just so much more elegant

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2011


31475 Comments


This is the best thing he's done

Yotimi
November 13th 2011


6543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nuh uh

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2011


31475 Comments


Yah huh

Yotimi
November 13th 2011


6543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I do love the Back to the Future sample

Gyromania
November 14th 2011


15966 Comments


Sorry, but I think the atmosphere of Tryshasla is a lot more immersive and overall enjoyable than this, but this is still ace.

Yotimi
November 14th 2011


6543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Outran and title track are awesome. I may bump my rating actually now that I listened again

Wizard
February 16th 2012


19607 Comments


Glad I was peeping your profile cause this sounds mighty good. Love your short reviews dude.

Digging: Full Of Hell & Merzbow - Full Of Hell & Merzbow

Wizard
February 16th 2012


19607 Comments


Listening to this now and I love it.

mindleviticus
June 1st 2012


8325 Comments


Heard this back a while ago, but only a few songs. Will listen hopefully to full thing soon. Great review though

mindleviticus
June 10th 2012


8325 Comments


mother of god....

HSThomas
June 10th 2012


668 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks man, this album is incredible.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2012


31475 Comments


This is still the best thing he's done

mindleviticus
June 15th 2012


8325 Comments


so good



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy