Dixie Witch
Let It Roll


3.7
great

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
November 11th, 2011 | 35 replies | 5,410 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: While not as diverse as some stoner rock releases of 2011, "Let It Roll" still packs a punch with its remarkably powerful boogie rock.

It's safe to say that Dixie Witch will never change their style. After founding guitarist Clayton Mills left the band two years ago only to be replaced by JT Smith, the fourth album of the Texan power trio doesn't really depart from their all-too-familiar, yet always dependable formula. Just as their previous releases, Let It Roll explores high-energy riff rock with notable southern leanings. Fans of this rather straightforward blend of heavy music will certainly find this record engrossing since it's loaded with huge arena rock riffs, anthemic choruses and arresting, if fairly conventional dynamics.

While Dixie Witch clearly refuse to step out of their comfort zone, they really step up their game in terms of songwriting, displaying newly acquired maturity. Contrary to the band's previous offerings, Let It Roll seems really consistent throughout containing only a handful of inferior, less focused tunes. Singing drummer Trinidad Leal complements the tight instrumental performance with soulful howls being more commanding than ever before. In fact, his never-less-than-endearing vocals constitute the greatest asset of the album, making it far more genuine than your average hard rock release.

Even though Let It Roll relies on the wide range of classic rock influences, it still feels overly homogeneous. The individual tracks just work way better when absorbed one at a time. The album may not exactly overstay its welcome in its short 36-minute running time, yet some segments of it feel sonically repetitive and rehashed. There are just too many tracks on here that share uncannily similar dynamics. It would be desirable for Dixie Witch to be more adventurous by introducing both different tempos and moods into their songs. They should expand their musical palette not only by composing some mellower tracks, but also more abrasive ones. This would certainly put them in the same league with such Small Stone label mates of theirs as Halfway To Gone and Suplecs.

Nonetheless, the brazen, punishing attitude that Dixie Witch display largely makes up for the lack of diversity. Let It Roll still offers enough in terms of song craft and musicianship to leave a powerful impression on heavy rock fans. This might not be a particularly memorable album in the long run, but it's still legitimately fun to listen to, especially at high volume.



Recent reviews by this author
Chevelle La GargolaElbow The Take Off And Landing Of Everything
Hark CrystallineNeneh Cherry Blank Project
St. Vincent St. VincentWolves Like Us Black Soul Choir
user ratings (4)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2011



7165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

"Anthem":

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ASf3mCnz_kw

Enjoy!

Digging: Floor - Oblation

BigHans
November 11th 2011



26455 Comments


song rips

pizzamachine
November 11th 2011



12568 Comments


song rips [2]

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2011



7165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

The album gets better with every new spin.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



8223 Comments


Song's pretty cool but I haven't been in a stoner mood lately at all, so I'm not gonna make a promise that I'll check this out, at least not right away. I command you on your quest to introduce good stoner rock to sputnik though, keep at it man. Pos.

Gyromania
November 12th 2011



14653 Comments


You get in 'stoner' moods? :P

Great review, Greg.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



8223 Comments


You bet I do haha!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



7165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Thanks a bunch guys. The album's absolutely worth checking out.

I approve of your persistence in staying sober, Magnus. ;)

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



8223 Comments


Thank you Greg haha. In fact I haven't smoked weed in a long long time anyway, so true story there.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



7165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Nor have I tbh.

Coming back to the album, an allmusic.com reviewer gave it a 4/5 so I guess there's a chance some peeps may like it more than me. I just like my stoner rock to be more diverse.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



8223 Comments


Diverse is good but nothing wrong with a straightforward rockin' album every once in a while. I feel kinda bad for not checking this out atm because I know not many peeps will anyway, but damn man, can't do anything about it, just haven't been listening to the genre since the summer ended. With the coming of dark, gloomy autumn days I've also fallen back onto metal and haven't been enjoying this kind of lighter, upbeat rock music.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



7165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

It's definitely upbeat, but there are also some traditional heavy metal influences thrown in. I really can't share your point of you as I practically listen to any genre of music that strikes me fancy, ranging from art pop to some quite extreme sludge metal releases. But yeah, listen to whatever you want.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



8223 Comments


Haha, I didn't mean that I purposefully isolate myself from other genres, it's just that seasons have a big effect on my listening preferences and autumn is the time when I've always fancied, and will probably always fancy metal music.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



7165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Haha. Alright. I personally just don't care about seasons. They definitely don't affect my listening preferences. It would be kind of annoying if they did.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



8223 Comments


Well that's where we differ then, because they do have a big effect on me. I don't consider it annoying though, it's one of those things that is the way it is.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



7165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Let's agree to disagree then. All I know is that I'd feel totally uneasy if I only listened to metal or stoner rock or any other genre through the entire week, not to mention the whole season.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



8223 Comments


I can see your point, yes. I personally am just so fond of metal music that it doesn't bother me one bit.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



7165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

You know a couple of years ago I could constantly listen to various styles of metal everyday, but it has changed now. I guess I'm more open and tolerant(?) when it comes to music these days.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



8223 Comments


I've always been tolerant (at least I myself think I have), I just get my high from metal primarily. Doesn't mean I'm close-minded, just means that I'm passionate about metal.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



7165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I know. I didn't imply you're close-minded. I'm just getting more and more passionate about other genres with age. I guess that's what growing old means: less metal. Hmm. Well. At least in my case.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy