Snowmine
Laminate Pet Animal


4.5
superb

Review

by ToastScience USER (2 Reviews)
November 9th, 2011 | 33 replies | 10,829 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An amazing psychedelic trip you will not forget.

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

My first experience of this album was on a sunny morning when one of my friends came rushing up to me screaming "Dude! You have to listen to them, its like an orgasm to your ears". Well I stuck his earphones in and his quite sexually angled description was near %100 on.


Snowmine are a psychedelic-indie band hailing from Brooklyn (which is one of the more renowned areas for psychedelic music of late, with Yeasayer and Blackbells originating from here), America; and as my friend stated with with the orgasm to the ears he was dead on. This album is coloured and mooded beautifully with soaring string sections, especially in the opening track Beast in Air, Beast in Water. Spacey guitar rifts perimate the entire album giving the listener the feeling as if they were flying through space, and the feeling that summer is finally upon us. Beautifully arranged synths to give that little extra warmth and texture.


The vocals are a true stand out for me, Grayson Sanders has an amazing vocal range that I'm sure many artists would envy. His voice is very reminiscent of the likes of Chris Keating from Yeasayer. Along with that fact that they are both from the same area as stated before would lead to some influence on Sanders. His vocals truly shine through on tracks such as "Penny" and the closing track "Hologram".


Snowmine have created a wonderfully spacey and atmospheric album that a shinning example of the psychedelic genre. This is well up on my favorite albums of the year and I will think it will be up there as one of my favorite albums for a long time. If you are looking for a funky, spacey album be sure to check this out.


user ratings (129)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (4)
2011's sleeper hit holds up remarkably well over a year later....

related reviews

Dialects

Comments:Add a Comment 
JustJoe
November 9th 2011



1399 Comments


I was JUST about to review this. Solid write-up, nonetheless. My only quip is that you could stand to go into a bit more detail on the individual tracks, seeing as they each bring something different stylistically, all the while remaining a cohesive unit overall. But, that's just my personal preference.

Also, "Let Me In", amirite?

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2011



21768 Comments


oh I was intending to review this at one point but couldn't be bothered
http://snowmine.bandcamp.com/album/laminate-pet-animal

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm a big fan of this LP. The explosive parts in "A Piece of Your Pie" are soo guurrrrd.

OneMoreRoland
November 9th 2011



1050 Comments


Fucking beautiful album cover. Im interested. Ill check this out

pedro70512
November 10th 2011



2530 Comments


Details, man. They're your friend as a reviewer. Good start though, you've piqued my interest. Pos'd.

Eclecticist
November 10th 2011



3863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome album, not too fond of the review though.

DurzoBlint
November 10th 2011



1172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album rules, Now I know what to listen to while I get high before skyrim ^_^

GhettoHmbrglr
November 19th 2011



571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wicked cool album, probably one of my favorites of this year


sonicExplorer
November 26th 2011



26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent album, eh review. You have bits and pieces of good description and cool facts, but they aren't tied together that well- still a solid wrap up though!

SpyMan
December 26th 2011



69 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is so damn good. Top 5 for 2011.

AutoRock
January 21st 2012



416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lovin it. Chorus of Penny is ingenious The way the singing and the intonation flows with the rhythm is just brilliant. It's just so catchy.



thunderpcats
January 24th 2012



26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Even into the first song I knew this was going to be something brilliant. Decent review, excellent album.

qwe3
March 27th 2012



21355 Comments


listened to some songs from this its pretty nice

DudeDuderino
April 4th 2012



3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fantastic band, fantastic work, fantastic music. Groovie & Bouncieee : D

macadoolahicky
May 29th 2012



1835 Comments


This album... it's so sexy

OneMoreRoland
June 14th 2012



1050 Comments


Is let me in the fucking best song ever made?

macadoolahicky
June 14th 2012



1835 Comments


That song... is soooooooooooooooooooooo amazing. I fell in love at the chorus

wacknizzle
June 14th 2012



12896 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is incredible, until recently I underestimated the album as a whole.

Digging: Racebannon - Satan's Kickin' Yr Dick In

manifestum
August 12th 2012



67 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whole album is sex.

Feels
October 3rd 2012



267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'Laminate Pet Animal' is a palindrome

Digging: Sockweb - Werewolf



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy