Oneohtrix Point Never
Replica


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adash USER (43 Reviews)
November 5th, 2011 | 196 replies | 17,503 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I'm loving it

8 of 8 thought this review was well written

On previous longplayers, Daniel Lopatin crafted mesmerising pieces of music that shimmered in the great cold distance, glimmering stars burning through a pitch black tapestry of silence. On his latest effort, however, he brings a welcome pinch of restless humanity into the mix; according to the artist himself Replica is a ‘song cycle based around lo-fi audio procured from television advertisement compilations’. Interestingly enough, Lopatin has also introduced piano to complement the vocals on his recordings; music that was previously daunting in its remoteness to the listener has been draw closer by delicate hands cascading slowly over keys, coaxing out fresh sounds that at times seem almost reluctant to emerge from the shadowy sonic soundscape of augustly droning synths. The overlying samples are cut from forgotten and unidentifiable adverts and dissected beyond recognition; the gasps of a couple taking satisfying gulps from of a nameless soft drink become surprisingly sexually charged when they are woven together into the sultry sonic bedroom tapestry of lead single Sleep Dealer. Fortunately, what could have been a Bill Hicks’ style scrapbook of the worst that capitalism has to offer is in fact a compelling and occasionally enthralling aural snapshot of humanity; the fact that these nameless voices are never totally articulate and are often completely submerged in waves of synths and haunting melody means that any tasteless message is drowned sublimely in the musical mix.

What results is a fantastic blend of gently emotive piano pieces, disturbing vocal snippets and lethargic synths that buzz like insects over the gorgeous aural flowerbeds; an unquestionably bizarre mix that nevertheless works wonders. Forget art as hermetically sealed process of creation; this is the sound of an artist engaging with his environment, manipulating and shaping it into new and unfamiliar forms. Penultimate track Child Soldier is of particular note; an initially frenetic and corrosive staccato vocal sample is gradually subjugated by glowing violins and patient entreaties from a nameless crooner. It’s rough, jarring and shouldn’t really work, but it does. Beautifully.

Try your best to imagine a Foley room recording of Satie playing piano with his eyes glued to a mindless Saturday morning breakfast show, one hand fumbling at the keys whilst the other frenetically crams Oreos into a crumb flecked and syrup stained maw. Replica, in its most interesting moments, sounds a bit like this; that this method results in something that is at all appealing is testament to the skill of the composer, whose talent at weaving a soft synthetic landscape of sound provides a fitting backdrop to the occasional lunacy.

So Replica is as replica does; by clever sampling and an uncanny knack for constructing gorgeous sonic landscapes Oneohtrix Point Never has forged a transcendent yet wholly immanent soundtrack to a second life that astonishes with its quiet poignancy and subtly devastating charm.



Recent reviews by this author
Autechre ExaiVladislav Delay Vantaa
Pinch and Shackleton Pinch and ShackletonPatten GLAQJO XAACSO
Matthew Herbert One PigHoly Other With U
user ratings (213)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
danielsfrebirth (4.5)
Synth wizard taps into the past and the future while creating a sound that has everything to do with...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Adash
November 5th 2011



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Full Album Stream

http://www.softwarelabel.net/

Is it rude to request a feature for one of the most interesting albums of recent months?

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2011



6336 Comments


Great review as always Adash.
A feature would be very much deserved, try asking in the Med's thread : )

This seems like something I would very much enjoy.

Digging: Shackleton - Deliverance Series No. 1

DoubtGin
November 5th 2011



6748 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this sounds really interesting, wishlisted

Adash
November 5th 2011



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gracias

I will attempt to find this thread and post in it.

I highly recommend his triple LP compilation 'Rifts' - sprawling behemoth of a drone album you can lose yourself in for hours, and my personal favourite of his.

joshuatree
Emeritus
November 5th 2011



3743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

didn't know he had a new one coming out, nice

Manic_
November 5th 2011



447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice review, album is good all around.

Try your best to imagine a Foley room recording of Satie playing piano with his eyes glued to a mindless Saturday morning breakfast show, one hand fumbling at the keys whilst the other frenetically crams Oreos into a crumb flecked and syrup stained maw.

this is a great description

Adash
November 5th 2011



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was just mulling over how to describe it with my usual bullshit metaphors and that sprung to mind as a bark of laughter escaped me.

He is touring soon, so all my European brethren best go get some drone action

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2011



6336 Comments


I first thought it was a mention of Tobin's Foley Room...

geng
November 5th 2011



1986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"eyes glued to a mindless Saturday morning breakfast show"

Cheeky 'Size reference Adash?

Adash
November 5th 2011



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Foley Room the album title is taken from the actual 'Foley Room' of the recording industry. Don't think I didn't grin and think about Horsefish when I typed it though

And don't think I didn't crack out Effloresce when I typed that Genghis

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011



16134 Comments


Shit, this looks kvlt as fuck.

scissorlocked
November 5th 2011



3508 Comments


yeah, seems pretty interesting

will check surely

nice review bro

Digging: John Roberts - Ausio

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011



14983 Comments


sleep dealer is the best song ever. i still am not sure if the 320 i have of this is fake or not but if anyone has a fo-sho good rip i'll glady snatch that

Adash
November 5th 2011



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oheohtrix Point Never forgive you for not buying his work : ]

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2011



4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rules, fans of it need to check out his 'sunsetcorp' YouTube Channel. He's got some amazing
loops on there.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011



30865 Comments


Kinda torn on this at the moment

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011



14983 Comments


i sort of wish it had something like "physical memories" or "pelham island road" but what can you do. good either way

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2011



4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Kinda torn on this at the moment"

It's a grower I'd say

"i sort of wish it had something like "physical memories" or "pelham island road" but what can you do.
good either way"

Yeah, but I think he fleshed those sounds out enough on Rifts and Returnal

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011



14983 Comments


yeah exactly

conradtao
Emeritus
November 5th 2011



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is great. I do need to be in the mood for it, though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy