Low
C'Mon


4.0
excellent

Review

by scissorlocked USER (35 Reviews)
November 4th, 2011 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The slowcore diaries

Upon listening Low's newest album, and while surfing the net for some info, I randomly found out that weird, tough-sounding term "slowcore". What is this thing? Had these mellow indie rockers tuned to post-doom, hardcore-inspired metalheads? Because -be honest here-, slowcore is a badass term. Well, not really. The band has been tagged with such a term for quite a long time. And while slow tempos, simple arrangements and delicate singing is still the way Low choose to express themselves, they would never have chosen such a name to characterize their music.

But we are only music critics, and amateur ones, so, the slowcore band from Minnesota, after 4 years of absence, releases C'Mon. What we get is a collection of 10 carefully treated, poignant songs of unique simplicity. Low's melancholic nature is once again the driving force, but this time it is more refined and careful on when to exert its nostalgia. Both musically and lyrically, C'Mon is characterized by immediate straightforwardness and a rare ability of sounding majestic with less means possible. And it's mainly because of the band's long experience on experimentation that the record sounds tight, coherent and beautiful without bombastic outbursts of unpredictable instrumentation. The instrumental arrangements, though mostly basic, are haunting and even dramatic at times, usually when the vocal harmonies arrive, as gentle touches of intimacy. The creation of such a lush sound is successfully combined with the lyrical themes, which mostly follow the music's pace. "Try to Sleep" opens the album vibrantly, and warns the listener : what follows is as tender as drowsy. From the rasping fuzz and the obscure banjo notes of "Witches" to the warm and evocative "Especially Me", Low showcase songwriting maturity whereas delivering some of their best lines ever: " 'Cause if we knew where we belong/ There'd be no doubt where we're from/ But as it stands, we don't have a clue/ Especially me and probably you" Parker sings and we can harshly doubt her, as well as the fact that it would be difficult for us to find a more beautiful, nocturnal ballad than "Nightingale".

Accessible, consistent, harnessing both emotion and grandiosity, C' Mon is surely the best album you'll get from the "slowcore" (ugh) genre this year - I bet there would be no others. If you are not one of the loyal novelty-hunters of modern music, then C' Mon will surely be one of your best winter friends.



Recent reviews by this author
Balthazar RatsCaspian Waking Season
Gravenhurst The Ghost in DaylightAU Both Lights
If These Trees Could Talk Red ForestA Place to Bury Strangers Onwards To The Wall
user ratings (60)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
scissorlocked
November 4th 2011


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

C' Mon guys, this is splendid

here you are:
Witches: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Grrsh7rGzv4
Nightingale: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yL-lM1ho6Ts

enjoy!

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2011


23843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I read Rasputin's write-up in ByVolume for this and was very intrigued. I will give it a try one day.

" And its' mainly because of the"

it's*

and how come at the beginning of the review you say that the term slowcore is "badass" but at the end it's followed by "ugh"?

pretty good review though

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2011


16137 Comments


ya

scissorlocked
November 4th 2011


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Aids: I meant that it's only badass sounding. The references of the term are mostly ironical


scissorlocked
November 4th 2011


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ow,and thanks for the correction man


AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2011


7343 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nice review, I didn't enjoy this much, though.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2011


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First three tracks slay

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2011


6451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This hasn't been reviewed yet?

This thing has been on my 'to listen to' list for ages, still haven't come around to hearing this...

Digging: Thom Yorke - Tomorrow's Modern Boxes

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2011


23843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think I'm gonna check this band out. I'll start here (because it's a 2011 album) but where should I go next?

DoubtGin
November 5th 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd listen to their classic albums next, I Could Live in Hope and Things We Lost in the Fire. If you dig those, you'll like the rest as well.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2011


23843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

word. thanks.

scissorlocked
November 5th 2011


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the 2 albums doubtgin recommended are the best starting points

this one is also a good introduction imo

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2011


23843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just finished, um, *getting* this one so it'll be this first then if I like the sound I'll go for one of the "classics"

thanks muh niggas

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2011


23843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm digging this so hard right now. I can't believe I never listened to these guys before, they sound like the perfect band for me (after just listening to this one, apparently inferior album). What's with the "slowcore" tag though? Where's the 'core'?

DoubtGin
November 6th 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

one of the best genre tags ever

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2011


23843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what the fuck is it supposed to mean then? just sounds like indie or alt-rock to me (again, Ive only heard this album)

DoubtGin
November 6th 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

downbeat melodies, slower tempos and minimalist arrangements are some of the characteristics.. in the early 90s, it was like a strict contrast to the loud and "angry" alt rock sound that was so popular then (well, Low said that).. still, it sounds pretty much like indie rock without getting that loud

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2011


23843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"in the early 90s, it was like a strict contrast to the loud and "angry" alt rock sound that was so popular then "

oh ok that makes sense. cool thanks guys (DoubtGin, Riff). I'm gonna get on their other albums asap. I'll probably give this a 4 for now but that's subject to change once I have the context of some of their other albums.

scissorlocked
November 6th 2011


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I'll probably give this a 4 for now but that's subject to change once I have the context of some of their other albums."

it would be around 3.5 then


rasputin
November 6th 2011


14546 Comments


great record

this has been consistently growing on me for months now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy