The Subs
Subculture


3.5
great

Review

by Olivier De Clercq CONTRIBUTOR (37 Reviews)
November 1st, 2011 | 26 replies | 3,579 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A relentless mix of oldskool rave, short-circuit electro and trashy punk, with great international potential.

In the European electro scene, there are few DJs who are as influential as the Belgian Dr. Lektroluv. The green doctor may be lacking in actual mixing skills, but whatever tunes he plays in his sets are bound to be massive club hits the next day. And whoever he thinks are the best artists, they're being presented a spot on his successful Lektroluv label. This brings us nicely to The Subs and the massive single "Kiss My Trance". Being hyped by Dr. Lektroluv, it was a smash hit in clubs around the world and The Subs were able to record their debut, Subculture, at the Lekroluv label.

The record itself is a relentless mix of oldskool rave, short-circuit electro and trashy punk (they were once called 'The Stooges of the dance scene'). It's a pretty violent listen throughout; this is stuff that's meant to be blasted as loudly as possible through massive amps, in an abandoned warehouse in the middle of nowhere, where the sweat is literally pouring down from the ceiling. Only one resting point is found, at the middle of the tracklist: "Albatross". It's a four-minute trip across post-apocalyptic landscapes, featuring very little percussion; it's the closest thing The Subs got to making an ambient track, although the schizophrenic synths do make this more nightmarish and downright frightening than they make it a relaxing or melancholic journey.

That leaves eight tracks, and they are all bangers. The highlights are the single "Kiss My Trance", album opener "Music Is The New Religion", "In Cold Blood", which is probably the most atmospherical track on here, aside from "Albatross", and finally "Fuck That Shit", without a doubt the single best thing they ever did (although you haven't really heard that track, until you heard it live). It's a six-minute, really bad acid trip, and if you're wondering where the Stooges comparison comes from, look no further.

The rest however, while not being particularly bad in any way, are just rehashes of the tracks mentioned above. Sure, they sound very nice through a good speaker system, but they also point out the weak spot in the production: the lack of variety. It's like The Subs don't know how to stray away from their core sound, or that they are afraid of leaving their comfort zone. Now they have made a great record, but one that will be hard to listen to in one go for some people; this in spite of the record only counting nine tracks. Nevertheless, the album does contain some of the best electro house tunes that have come out in recent years and if one of these tunes comes your way while clubbing, and you don't enjoy yourself, then you're probably allergic to fun. It's as simple as that.



Recent reviews by this author
The Notwist Close to the GlassThe Men Tomorrow's Hits
Valentin Stip SighActress Ghettoville
Burial Rival DealerRecondite Hinterland
user ratings (6)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2011



6250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is when they were actually still good, but by all means: avoid the follow-up!

Kiss My Trance: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1bvDFDcc8fQ&ob=av3e
Fuck That Shit: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCKdhwPbIcY
Albatross: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7B3tiA1HOCU&feature=related

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2011



30301 Comments


I fucking hate 'Kiss My Trance'. I will shoot any dj who dares drop that in my immediate vicinity

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Tyrael
November 1st 2011



20416 Comments


PARTY!

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2011



6250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well if you hate that, no need to listen to the rest...

Right on Ty!

Also, it's been a while since I had some comments on my reviews themselves... If anyone has some criticism, it's always appreciated : )

iFghtffyrdmns
November 1st 2011



7047 Comments


that was quick as shit! very nicely done clerqie, especially in such a short period of time haha

dance music, meh

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2011



6250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, there's not much to talk about really...
I mean: banging beats, booze, get baked, done ;)

Thanks for the support, btw

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2011



23653 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

this album pisses me off big time

good review though even if I have no idea what you're talking about 90% of the time (I know next-to-nothing about this scene).

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2011



6250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How come Aids?
What kind of electro do you like then (if any)?

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2011



23653 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

the whole album just sounds so generic and predictable. it's still pretty fun hence the neutral rating, I could see busting a move to it, but yeah there's tonnes of more interesting/better dance music out there.

do you mean electro like electro or like any electronic music? cause I think you mean the proper definition of the term and I'm not well-versed in "electro" at all.

I like IDM and some dubstep and drum and bass but I'm still fairly noobish with those as well.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2011



6250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I getcha, it's indeed pretty predictable, but it does what it tries to do so well, that I gave it a 3.5

Yeah I meant electro, like in electro house ;)
Maybe try out Goose from the rec section, they're more rock influenced:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TpjVjQENOkY&ob=av2n
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wi4immNjdag&feature=relmfu

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2011



23653 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

cool thanks im leaving the house now but i might give those a listen when i get back

Valerius
November 1st 2011



1137 Comments


Average. Techno seems to have died off around the early/mid 90s, but I haven't heard a lot of it, maybe I'm wrong. I've listened to some mid 90s and later techno and it's all BOOM te BOOM te BOOM te BOOM te BOOM.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2011



6250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This isn't techno, though...
Also, listen to some recent minimal techno like Booka Shade, Trentemoller or Gui Boratto. That's far from being BOOM BOOM BOOM...

Valerius
November 1st 2011



1137 Comments


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dcgft-iiZ_s

This is what I came up on man.

I checked out those artists you listed and not too impressed.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2011



23653 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Trentemoller is amazing (or that one album, The Last Resort, is). Didn't realize it was "minimal techno." I suck at electronic music genres.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2011



6250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, until Dev comes in and says otherwise, it's minimal :p

Strider
November 1st 2011



4598 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Glad you liked it clercqie

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2011



6250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I confused this album for their follow-up. I always liked this one, but I hate the other (Pope of Dope, Ugh..., since that song it's been downhill).

Strider
November 1st 2011



4598 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Mitsubitchi is their best song though, and isn't even on this album

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2011



6250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You think? Fuck that Shit rips that song to shreds IMO...
Or else their Mason remix: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=64QI2_09KbE



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy