Dead to Me
Moscow Penny Ante


3.5
great

Review

by Mike Allen USER (12 Reviews)
October 31st, 2011 | 27 replies | 5,810 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No longer dead to us

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

There comes a time in a band’s career when the group must stray into uncharted territory in order to avoid the pitfalls of repetition, even if in doing so the hypothetical band sacrifices fans in the process. For one reason or another, that time came after Dead to Me's hard-hitting debut Cuban Ballerina. While this may have largely been due to the departure of vocalist Jack Dalrymple, Dead to Me’s sophomore release African Elephants saw the band experiencing in ways that were not evident on the debut, ultimately crafting an inconsistent record that was devoid of the playful energy that so eloquently defined Dead to Me. This came to a surprise for many, considering how proficient the band was at crafting gritty, and simplistic punk tunes. African Elephants was frustrating because it wasn’t necessary at that point in Dead to Me’s career, and it would take a more traditional approach to bring the band back down to earth. And that, is essentially what Moscow Penny Ante does.

As cliché as it may sound, Dead to Me’s third release, Moscow Penny Ante is the return to form record that the band required. Short, sincere, and to-the-point, the album resurrects the exuberance that the debut was commended for, re-establishing terrific melodies and tight instrumentation. Kicking off with the thunderous opener “Undertow,” blistering leads and an infectious atmosphere set the stage for Moscow Penny Ante. Nearly every track seems to follow suit, as the momentum only stalls momentarily on tracks such as “I Love My Problems” and “The Evolution Will Be Tele-Visualized.” With this demeanor in place, it is easy to view the record as one-dimensional, but it is the pop-appeal that keeps the release intriguing, especially on the penultimate track “Victims of No Ambition.” Riding a palm-muted verse, and a captivating rhythm section, “Victims of No Ambition” provides the distinction necessary to draw allusions to Cuban Ballerina, even with Tyson “Chicken” Annichario at the helm this time. Yet as affecting as the record may be in terms of tight instrumentation and enthralling hooks, Moscow Penny Ante is as inspired as ever. Never a stranger to political charged lyrics, Dead To Me comes out in full-force, honing in on topics ranging from drug addictions and influential figure Malcolm X. The band’s assault on current events is accentuated through the record’s anthemic closer, which is elevated by gang vocals and its bawling chorus: “The whole world, the whole world’s gone mad!” That it has, Dead to Me.

It may very well have taken “Chicken” some time to get acclimated with Dead to Me on African Elephants, but his contributions on Moscow Penny Ante reveal that the band is very much back on track. Falling back on what made them so adept in the first place, Moscow Penny Ante is the infectious and vigorous release that its predecessor should have been. Now a veteran punk rock group, Dead to Me has made a bold statement with their third-full length record, not far from launching its magnum-opus.



Recent reviews by this author
The Horrible Crowes ElsieToh Kay Streetlight Lullabies
R.E.M. Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth...The Decemberists Long Live the King
Dan Mangan Oh FortuneEmpire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) On Time Spent Waiting
user ratings (22)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
mallen-
October 31st 2011



1235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sadly this is the first Dead to Me review ever posted on this site....

pizzamachine
October 31st 2011



12571 Comments


... it's a good review. pos

Blackbelt54
October 31st 2011



4268 Comments


nice review

I really need to get this

bungy
October 31st 2011



8843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review! I'm a huge sucker for these guys.

Satellite
October 31st 2011



20678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

still need to hear this. good review mike.

Digging: Dikembe - Mediumship

iFghtffyrdmns
October 31st 2011



7047 Comments


There comes a time in a band’s career when the group must stray into uncharted territory in order to avoid the pitfalls of repetition, even if in doing so, the hypothetical band sacrifices fans in the process. For one reason or another, that time came after their hard-hitting debut Cuban Ballerina.

you should definitely include the name Dead to Me before you reference them with a pronoun (their, second sentence), even if the review is obviously for them. Just makes more sense to dumb reads like me/the rest of sputnik.

Other than that, awesome review. Mallen- can do punk rawk too fuck yes.

Satellite
October 31st 2011



20678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nick greer reviewed the little brother ep, but yeah this band deserves more attention on sputnik.

bungy
October 31st 2011



8843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I might bump Little Brother to a 4.5

Mike listen to Little Brother if you haven't

mallen-
October 31st 2011



1235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you should definitely include the name Dead to Me before you reference them with a pronoun (their, second sentence), even if the review is obviously for them. Just makes more sense to dumb reads like me/the rest of sputnik.


Kinda thought I had mentioned the band there, not sure why I didn't catch it before, thanks.

Didn't realize that Satty, only went through the LPs

mallen-
October 31st 2011



1235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I gotta get on that EP.


Everyone should check out the new Banner Pilot too. I think it's quite a bit better than this.

Blackbelt54
November 1st 2011



4268 Comments


the new Banner Pilot is gold

I listened to the full stream, definitely gonna go get it

cvlts
November 1st 2011



8954 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

was considering reviewing this. good review bro. cuban ballerina is a common jam for me. this sound a lot more like it

bungy
November 1st 2011



8843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The new guy does a dece job of replacing Jack. Sounds similar too

iFghtffyrdmns
November 1st 2011



7047 Comments


think I might review that new banner pilot, i forget who suggested I should do so but I feel like remembering it was someone worth listening to so I'll have to give that a listen soon

xfearbefore
November 1st 2011



1245 Comments


Good review but I think "pratfalls" would work much better in that opening paragraph than "pitfalls". This sounds good though, might check it out.

Digging: Tiger Army - Tiger Army

Satellite
November 1st 2011



20678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My fantasy baseball team last year was called Dead Thome.

Gyromania
November 1st 2011



15199 Comments


Saw this on The Alt Review. Good work, Mike - just one thing:

There comes a time in a band’s career when the group must stray into uncharted territory in order to avoid the pitfalls of repetition, even if in doing so, the hypothetical band sacrifices fans in the process.


A couple-few of the commas in this review look somewhat unnecessary, like the second one in that first sentence. I'm sure I'm just being nit-picky as all hell though. Pos.



Kris.
November 1st 2011



12152 Comments


so this is better than african elephants? cuz that album just bored the shit outta me

bungy
November 1st 2011



8843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Way better. Not as good as Cuban Ballerina or Little Brother though

cbmartinez
November 1st 2011



2525 Comments


ive seen this band a few times, idk theyre pretty good live but their records dont really do it for me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy