edIT
Crying Over Pros For No Reason


4.5
superb

Review

by Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (103 Reviews)
October 28th, 2011 | 51 replies | 7,687 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The soundtrack to a late-night drive.

IDM died a long time ago. It bled out artists in the early 00's as they went on to newer pastures. This isn't surprising when you put it under inspection: IDM was so embedded in finding new and inventive ways to produce audio experiences that all there was to do within the genre was done within 5 years of it being established. It's only more recently that a new generation of IDM artists has emerged: these people take the core style of IDM and splice it with more contemporary influences. In essence, they bring IDM into the 21st century.

edIT's roots lie in indie hip-hop, which he produced and collaborated on for many years before deciding to create an album of his own. As a result of this, his debut LP Crying Over Pros For No Reason drips with the relaxed, hip-hop atmosphere that fans of producers such as DJ Shadow will be very familiar with: it's laid back, but with a very subtle hint of melancholy.

A cursory listen will show this hip-hop influence to be heavily dominated by the glitch-IDM style. The fast paced, dynamic drum beats take the lead, while the mix of synths and bass flicker around it. As if often the case with IDM, however, the percussion begins to lose it's prominence to the listener's consciousness after a while, fading into the background to leave the melodies and textures up for a closer look. What becomes apparent as a result of this is that, as an album, Crying Over Pros For No Reason is incredibly soulful. Although there might not be a specific story or theme to the LP, what we get is emotional: from the brief outbursts of vocals on Dex to the blues guitar sounds overlaying Mop Head.

But edIT isn't one to get carried away, this blues mood is only apparent in the late-stages of your time with the LP. The relaxed atmosphere is always at the forefront, even to the point of casual conversation being sampled in Ants. Far from detracting from the experience this works to break down any predispositions you may have while getting you into the perfect mood for the rest of the LP.

Ultimately, Crying Over Pros For No Reason may not be completely redefining genres, but this very smooth blend of hip-hop and glitch is produced with enough intelligence and style to add depth to an already interesting mix.



Recent reviews by this author
Throwing Snow MosaicSOHN Tremors
A Winged Victory for the Sullen Atomos VIIPlinth (UK) Music For Smalls Lighthouse
The Correspondents Puppet Loosely StrungSon Lux Alternate Worlds
user ratings (51)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like this, a lot.


Yotimi
October 28th 2011



6441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album's so good. Ants is amazing and Ashtray always reminds me of At the Drive-In's Invalid Litter Dept.

MassiveAttack
October 28th 2011



2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed.

Rev
October 28th 2011



9382 Comments


thank you for this review. It really needed one


This is better than anything the Glitch Mob has ever done

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeh I was going to go into the whole Glitch Mob stuff but thought I'd just end up ranting.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2011



4507 Comments


"Burial Untrue
DJ Shadow Entroducing
Autechre LP5"

...wholy fuck those are some quality recommendations.

witchxrapist
October 28th 2011



10934 Comments


so... they took music from the 21st century and brought it into the 21st century?

Digging: Stray From the Path - Our Oceania

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"...wholy fuck those are some quality recommendations. "

I'm thinking of putting them for every review I do.

"so... they took music from the 21st century and brought it into the 21st century?"

IDM is 90's. Thought that was common knowledge.



witchxrapist
October 28th 2011



10934 Comments


i read early 00s and am really new to electronic music

witchxrapist
October 28th 2011



10934 Comments


i read early 00s and am really new to electronic music, my bust

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It ended in early 00's (at least I think it did - other people may have differing opinions) but it was going strong throughout the 90s.

Yotimi
October 28th 2011



6441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this really doesn't sound anything like those recommendationss though

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Probably should explain them.

Use of vocal samples on some tracks reminded me of Burial.
Dj Shadow has a similar vibe.
Autechre.

HBFS
October 28th 2011



1218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fucking amazing album

Digging: Jamie xx - Girl/Sleep Sound

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2011



30882 Comments


IDM isn't dead at all

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

Rev
October 29th 2011



9382 Comments


IDM isn't dead at all

that

Manic_
October 29th 2011



447 Comments


surprised this never had a review but yeah this is much better than Glitch Mob

IDM isn't dead at all


this

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Meh, it's a personal opinion. I've already stated that. And by "dead" I merely mean that its heyday is over. Is that okay? -.-

Manic_
October 29th 2011



447 Comments


I merely mean that its heyday is over. Is that okay?

i can agree with that but "dead" is a bold word to use, a lot of people would say the same thing about house and techno but those genres are still trotting along.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

In my view it's the same thing as dead languages. Take Latin: people still learn and use it (mostly for technical terms etc.), but we consider it dead because it's not attached to any current ethnicity or social group as a primary form of communication. IDM barely exists in its pure form, usually only appearing in conjunction with some other styles, so I'd say it's similar to that extent. It remains as more of an influence than a straight up genre. Is that fair to say?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy