Mudvayne
Lost and Found


4.5
superb

Review

by Ian USER (107 Reviews)
December 17th, 2005 | 215 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


Nu-metal in recent years has become a dead genre, only the biggest stars of that genre are still around. Disturbed, Slipknot, and perhaps the greatest band of the genre, Mudvayne are really the only massively successful bands left. They return in the year 2005 with what might be called a nu-metal classic. Lost and Found dropped on April, 12, 2005. I remember the exact date because early in the morning my dad went to Target and bought me it, because that day is also my birthday. This work is tamer when compared to their past records, but I enjoy this more so however.*****


Chad Gray has perhaps the greatest possible voice for nu-metal. His voice is great both when he sings clearly, causing a few songs to be actually really mellow and relaxing and then when he screams his traditionally hoarse voice making songs much heavier, yet at the same time still catchy. Lyrically, Chad Gray is a brilliant man. He manages to use intelligent words and repeating lyrical parts, but manages to keep any song from becoming repetitive. His voice and lyrics for me make a three-minute song seem like a lifetime and causes me to hang on to every word; this happens on almost every song. Fall into Sleep is without a doubt the one of the greatest songs vocally on the album. It incorporates soothing vocals, along with the repeated verse of ďfall into sleep" throughout that makes this almost feel like a nu-metal lullaby. Clichť? Yes, but it is a fitting description of the song. Determined, originally titled ***ing Determined, is more or less the most consistently metal song with Chad having the roughest vocals, as well as angriest lyrics on the whole album. ďIím tired of holding up the weight, the weight of the mother ***ing world. All I want is to just get right here, right now. We struggle and fight just to get in a grave, thatís overflowing. Clocks ticking on my fifteen minutes of fame, come on now 123 go. So ***ing determined. Yeah, yeah goÖ". Itís pretty much about headstrong and not backing down when the odds are against you. When people first listen to the album and hear this as the opener theyíll be mislead into thinking the album is heavier and much more simpler in terms of song structure than the rest of the record.*****


Quick Note That Must Be Recognized Before Next Paragraph: *You donít really recognize the true sound of the album until you reach [i]Happy?[i] or Fall into Sleep as the first two songs Determined, Pushing Through, and then IMN are unlike the whole rest of Lost and Found.*****


The next thing I have to talk about has to do with both the vocals and bass. IMN is a little like Determined (even yells determined at one point :p) and Pushing Through in terms of the vocal job that is done is sort of like those songs, but is actually the best job Chad Gray does on Lost and Found. His voice is rough, loud, and angry, but sometimes will slow down to a slight whisper at times, which shows a lot of range from him. The best part from Chad is probably during the chorus parts that always begin when he sings ďNo one, no one could ever understand", then heíll sing three different lines ďthis life IMN, ďpressure constricting", or my lifeís exhausted". The bass is just stellar on this song with fast paced work the whole time and a quick little distorted jazz line during parts of the song that is hidden well under Chadís voice. No matter how much I love his voice on Lost and Found, I must admit that the music is even better. Of all the instruments bassist Ryan Martinie is the best on the album. I absolutely love the job that he does on the single Happy? it is just such a great representation of the job he does on the rest of the album and is also just a great representation of the album as a whole. If you love it, youíll love the rest of the album. He definitely doesnít stand out as much as he used to, but it doesnít change the fact that he is the signature part of the band. As a bassist myself this just furthers why I believe this is a classic because on every songs Ryanís fingers are all over the fret board and are what drives many of the songs, he just runs rampant everywhere. As evident on the paragraph before, IMN contains the best bass work, I just dig that hidden little jazz bass line. The song that closes the album Pulling the String, is just a masterpiece for the bass with a fantastic intro and then lurking in the background with a strange prowess. On the verses Ryan once again shows his jazz influences that only bassists and few others can appreciate. I find that Iíve fallen in love with this song as it just showcases everything that Ryan has to offer on the album. This ties IMN as containing the best bass work.*****


As for the drums done by Matt McDonough, I find them to be the third greatest asset to the album. Lost and Found contains many fills that Ryan uses to his advantage, but are excellent anyways. On Determined Matt unleashes hell and I actually think is the best part of that whole song, containing some nice opening double bass. The drums are actually mixed fairly high in some spots of the record surprisingly, but that just help to showcase Mattís true talents. The guitar is probably the weakest part of the album as a whole because apparently Greg Tribbet apparently refuses to go above playing power chords, which in all their distortion, Iím not too particularly fond of. He can obviously play and I wouldnít even mind if he played solos (although Iím not sure if it would work to well on this record).*****


Iíve talked about the different departments of instruments that stick out above the rest on certain songs, but what is the standout of the album? There are two songs that stick out. The first would have to be Choices, which is a downright epic song that clocks in at 8:05. The riffs of the guitar are here and are the weakest of the song, but still hold the drums and bass together. Near the end of the middle of the song the guitar does play a smoothly distorted line that is the greatest thing the guitar plays the whole record. The samples and fills throughout from the drums, along with the just regular playing make this song great, but what makes it epic is Chadís voice. He makes the song both heavy and catchy at the same time. The chorus is the downright perfect; Iím in love with it. The bass stands out, but not as much as it does on some other songs. Near the end the instruments continue playing, but the singing stops and both marching footsteps and politicians giving indiscernible speeches. The other comes right after it and is also a single, that song is Forget to Remember. The bass and drums are what mainly stick out in the song, which is all to common with most songs. However, Chad is the best part because of the greatest chorus that I have ever heard. Iím serious ever since 4/12/05 the lyrics ďI feel it on the inside, twisting and contorting, memory has shaped me once again. Still feel you on the inside, biting through and stinging. Will I ever forget to remember?; it is the catchiest as well as greatest chorus that I have heard this year.*****


In the end, Mudvayne emphasizes on their songs being both melodic and at a heavy tone for most of the album. Itís a little weird though because the bass is the main part of the album instead of usually the guitar for most bands or the vocals and then the guitar takes over the drums job of holding songs together. All of the songs are fantastic and even though many are heavy, they are just as catchy and a number of them could be successful radio singles. The first is that Greg Tribbet needs to at least try to stand out a bit more instead of playing distorted or P.M. guitar power chords. Most songs are complex in structure although a few arenít (Determined and Pushing Through are the most noticeable, but I find both to be enjoyable and add a bit more variety. When everything is over, this proves to push the boundaries of what nu-metal usually offers and proves to be the masterpiece for the genre and is my tied as my favorite album of 2005 along side Co & Ca-GAIBS4-VII:FFTtEoM.


*** A nu-metal classic.



Recent reviews by this author
Z-Ro CocaineEmery The Weak's End
Papa Roach Old Friends from Young YearsLinkin Park Living Things
Krizz Kaliko Kickin' and Screamin'Madina Lake From Them, Through Us, To You
user ratings (955)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rudd13
December 17th 2005


952 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It was okay but the score is poo.

Thor
December 17th 2005


10191 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well written review, but I didn't think this album was all that great.

Jawaharal
December 17th 2005


1832 Comments


ya, the first couple paragraphs about instruments was what I didn't want you to do but other than that I thought it was good.

masada
December 17th 2005


2733 Comments


An album that is a classic within the genre does not mean that it's an absolute, necessary album that should be owned by everyone.

Their singer also happens to be terrible. And he looks like a pale shrew.

Wave.Existance.Tears
December 17th 2005


72 Comments


Fix all of the " "s and other such things...But then all would be fine with the review, which itself is actually pretty dang good. Someone has to give one credit for attemping this review style in the first place...but then if it works (even somewhat)? Wow. Nice.

EDIT: By the time I posted this, you fixed the stuff I mentioned...sorry

I only have L.D. 50 and EOATTC, but I like the songs I've heard off this. More "nu-metally" than the earlier stuff though (with the exception of the demo)

Yeah, I doubt its 5/5 though.
This Message Edited On 12.17.05This Message Edited On 12.17.05This Message Edited On 12.17.05

Storm In A Teacup
December 17th 2005


12781 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[quote=Cheeto-t]ya, the first couple paragraphs about instruments was what I didn't want you to do but other than that I thought it was good.[/quote]

What could have I done instead?


/I need to stop trying to please everyone :upset:

Jawaharal
December 17th 2005


1832 Comments


What could have I done instead?

not suck lol

Storm In A Teacup
December 17th 2005


12781 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What the fuck? I wrote this review after the Senses Fail review because of the fact that you personally said my reviews lately had been lacking. I write this wanting to know your opinion and when I ask you what I could have done to make it better you immaturely post "not suck lol".

You've lost a bit of my respect.

pulseczar
December 17th 2005


2385 Comments


gosh darn it cheeto now you've gone and upset Kripes you rascal!


This review is an improvement from previous ones for the most part. Besides the gross overrating.

Rudd13
December 17th 2005


952 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Whoa Kripes, calm down just a wee bit, son.

Im sure part of that comment was more towards the "sarcasm" part...

Storm In A Teacup
December 17th 2005


12781 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[quote=Galapwngos]gosh darn it cheeto now you've gone and upset Kripes you rascal![/quote]

:p


I'm not really upset, I was kidding around. I would still like a serious answer however.

Jawaharal
December 17th 2005


1832 Comments


What the fuck? I wrote this review after the Senses Fail review because of the fact that you personally said my reviews lately had been lacking. I write this wanting to know your opinion and when I ask you what I could have done to make it better you immaturely post "not suck lol".

You've lost a bit of my respect.

Suggestion: Stop taking things so seriously and grow some balls. You don't have to tailor your reviews to my reading pleasures and you sure need to understand when someone is joking.



Storm In A Teacup
December 17th 2005


12781 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You evidently didn't read my last comment above you. I realized you were kidding, I was also.

wikuk
December 18th 2005


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nu-metal in recent years has become a dead genre, only the biggest stars of that genre are still around. Disturbed, Slipknot, and perhaps the greatest band of the genre, Mudvayne are really the only massively successful bands left.


i disagree with that, mudvayne is famous but not the most famous of the nu-metal genre.
good review

sgrevs
December 18th 2005


698 Comments


I enjoyeed this album more than EOATTC, but nowhere near as much as LD 50, one of my favourite albums. Id give it aobut a 3.5-4. I really like Happy and Fall Into Sleep.

asheroth
December 18th 2005


130 Comments


Good, detailed review, dunno about the rating though. The funniest thing was when I read the tail end of your last sentence and thought 'oops, his HTML seems to have got away from him there...' and then I realised it was an abbreviation of an album. :p

JumpTheF**kUp
December 18th 2005


2710 Comments


The only songs ive heard are Happy?, Determined and Forget to Remember and all of these songs are great - Happy and Death Blooms are my favourite songs by Mudvayne - so badly want to see them at the BDO.

Neoteric
December 18th 2005


3243 Comments


There Kripes, you got owned by Jom, the nu-metal king.

taylormemer
December 18th 2005


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I never thought this album was as impacting as their first, L.D. 50. While this album did contain its moments, I couldn't find myself in awe musically, lyrically or technically about it's composition.

I found the rating a bit out there, the review was pretty good aswell.

sj_2150
December 18th 2005


251 Comments


their debut is awesome, but this album and the one before this just isnt as good, they both have a few really good songs the rest seem to make me bored

ryan is an amazing bassist though, id love to see a solo album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy