Iceage
New Brigade


4.0
excellent

Review

by Major Tom CONTRIBUTOR (139 Reviews)
October 27th, 2011 | 88 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Post-punk revived in 24 minutes…

Some albums don’t require fancy production, polished musicianship or catchy pop melodies to work. New Brigade is certainly one of that stock, its 12 statements of fury come blistering out of the gate without care for direction or destination – it's the journey there that matters and this is one hell of a ride.

There’s rarely an album released today as pure, uncompromising and influenced as Iceage’s first LP. From top to bottom, this beast does what it likes. It doesn’t deliver huge, sweeping hooks, although there are some, it’s just that one must fight through the noise storm to be caught by them. Nor does it have a polished, cohesive set of songs – each stops and starts as furiously as the last, and if one doesn’t pay much attention you’d struggle to notice the transition from track to track.

But that’s not the point of New Brigade anyway. It’s not meant to be a pretty set of soul searching poetry or a glistening collection of catchy pop – it’s a pure punk record; a call-back to the glory days of gloomy post punk a la Warsaw (early Joy Division), and the fractured metallic ramble of Wire, and in its mission to recall such outfits, Iceage certainly delivers.

The production is clean but bare, allowing each element to ring out as loudly as it can, each fighting for top position – whether it’s the scatter-dash drums, the rumbling, throbbing bass, the spidery, ear-shredding lead work or the shouty, barroom punk vocals.

It’s not worth picking out individual songs – not because they’re too similar to call (they are, but repeated listens allows some distinction) – but rather because the album works best when listened to in one spin. It’s so brief and rough that it shines through the mire most brightly when one presses play on ‘Intro’, cranks up the volume and braces for the impact of a 24 minute gut punch, until each jab is complete. Few albums tap into the anger banks like New Brigade, and that’s precisely why it works if such emotions need connecting to, and why it fails for those wishing to avoid confrontation.

New Brigade is nothing more and nothing less than a pure shard of blistering punk noise, but it’s not trying to be anything other. It’s brief, inaccessible and confrontational with its relentless post-punk dour, so one can’t expect everyone to enjoy or grasp the album, but for those with a taste for 70s punk or any of its evolved forms, and who are looking to let out some anger, Iceage’s no-bull approach will cut deep enough to satisfy for just long enough.



Recent reviews by this author
Metronomy Love LettersTemples Sun Structures
Bombay Bicycle Club So Long, See You TomorrowOasis Dig Out Your Soul
Oasis Don't Believe the TruthOasis Heathen Chemistry
user ratings (191)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2011


7343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review man, I really don't know what people are seeing in this, though.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks dude.

As weird as it sounds given my rating i can see what you mean. It just grabbed me, but then again i love me some post-punk. It's not an easy record to warm to but then again maybe it's not meant to be friendly.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2011


7343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah that's precisely my problem, there's just nothing about it that stands out at all imo. I've heard they're good live, though.

accompliceofmydeath
October 27th 2011


4227 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not sure what it is about this, but it's awesome. I really like the post-punkyness of it.

Digging: Cruel Hand - The Negatives

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

AliW1993 - Yeah, i've heard that too man - this kind of music works best when played live i reckon.

accompliceofmydeath - Same. I just enjoy how pure it is - no bullshit.


MalleusMaleficarum
October 27th 2011


14344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

such a diggable record!

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

True : ) Can't believe i'm the first to review it tbh.

AggravatedYeti
October 27th 2011


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

me too honest.

does the record justice though Tom : )

love the short paragraphs, quick and to the point much like this kickass album.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks bro. Haha - nice connection. : )

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2011


15740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

album kicks way too much ass for that 3.5

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

plane
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2011


6094 Comments


Woohoo, we can discuss! This is an album I got sick of really quickly but I went back to it recently and fresh ears really livened it up. Kicks all sorts of ass, especially live.

AggravatedYeti
October 27th 2011


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I've heard these guys are Titus Andronicus good live.

plane
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2011


6094 Comments


I've seen both, and I'll blame the audience (a bunch of losers came out to see Titus Andronicus. They were idiots) but Iceage > Titus

AggravatedYeti
October 27th 2011


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I need to see both still : (

last "show" I went to was Osheaga 2010.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album kicks way too much ass for that 3.5[2]

Judging from this page alone, this record is very divisive.


Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2011


15740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i mean just listen to white rune and break things its not that hard

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha, good instruction manual to this album, that, City.

Restrikted
October 27th 2011


1889 Comments


Glad to see someone reviewed this. As an avid post punk listener, I really do enjoy this album

wabbit
October 27th 2011


7004 Comments


[doesn't need]"catchy pop melodies "
I find this has super catchy pop melodies

love the recced albums but I found these guys are most like gang of four or mission of burma



Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Restrikted - No probs, and likewise on the post-punk front.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy