Kasabian
Kasabian


4.0
excellent

Review

by Major Tom CONTRIBUTOR (139 Reviews)
October 24th, 2011 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Clubbed foot, still running.

When an album opens as thrillingly as Kasabian’s 2004 eponymous debut LP does, the hype surrounding such a release already seems somewhat justified. The song responsible? ‘Club Foot’ – a 3 and half minute swirl of sprightly guitars, swarming electronics and anthemic chanting. It’s one hell of an opener and was the single responsible for sending the group into the public’s foreboding eye. But such an event also brings with it pressure and demand.

For the first half of Kasabian, one must admit that the band seem to have met such demands - lived up to the hype generated prior to the record’s 2004 release. ‘Processed Beats’ is a splendid hark back to the ‘Madchester’ glory days, rocking and danceable simultaneously, much in the vein of one of the group’s idols, The Stone Roses. Furthering the glory, ‘Reason Is Treason’s cool swagger and ultra-catchy eponymous hook thrills even more.

But as the album progresses, things begin to veer off track somewhat. It’s far from a car crash, but the wealth of ideas and epic ambitions begins to smother towards the end, making the band seem a little unfocused in the process. One suddenly begins to change one’s mind: perhaps they didn’t quite live up to the hype, completely. The band just seem to have let the pressure, their influences, or perhaps a steady mix of both get to them enough to hold Kasabian back the slightest amount.

The amount is slight, as mentioned, and the record still has a lot to offer, just not as much as hype initially suggested, perhaps. Electronics take the fore more so than at the album’s start, with chilly, robotic cuts such as ‘I.D.’ and the scatter of briefly intriguing interludes. ‘Lost Souls Forever’ and ‘Cutt Off’ continue Kasabian’s love for the paring of dance beats, synthetic touches and jangly riffs, to an enjoyable standard. Kasabian manages to throw in a surprise at the end, with the haunting ballad, ‘U Boat’, in which Tom Meighan’s voice strains over a squirming, muffled electro bounce.

Kasabian didn’t quite live up to expectations, then, but the overall package is too appealing to condemn the group too heavily. Its first 3 tracks are polished, poised indie anthems, and rightly so as they still kick hard almost 8 years on. It’s still a shame though, as with a little more focus and refinement, Kasabian could have evolved into something which the hype justified. It takes a few missteps, gets carried away at times and could have been something more, but when approached without the negative energy of hype or expectation, Kasabian stands proud as a thrilling and accomplished debut.



Recent reviews by this author
Metronomy Love LettersTemples Sun Structures
Bombay Bicycle Club So Long, See You TomorrowOasis Dig Out Your Soul
Oasis Don't Believe the TruthOasis Heathen Chemistry
user ratings (345)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
The Ashtray Girl (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
bloc
October 24th 2011


34872 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So you've finally stepped into the new millennium Tom? ;)

Club Foot and ID kick ass

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Haha, guessing you missed my Class Actress review, then?

AggravatedYeti
October 24th 2011


7685 Comments


love the review
cannot really stand the band.

hi5 tho Tom, I've been quietly keeping up with your progress the last few weeks.

bloc
October 24th 2011


34872 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ha, I guess I did then. But then again, I've never heard of Class Actress!

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

AggravatedYeti - Thanks bud. I wouldn't call myself a fan, to be fair, as i mainly just listen to their singles when not dipping into their albums for reviews.

bloc - Haha, they're new, to be fair. I've been obsessed with their debut LP. Check it out dude, think you might like it.


bloc
October 24th 2011


34872 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Will do. I recognize the album art from somewhere and how it was some kind of synthpop. Should be a good listen.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Nice. I included a few recommended tracks at the end of my review, if you need a starting point and don't have the time for a full album listen.

bloc
October 24th 2011


34872 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not to worry, I'll check out the whole album today for sure. I'll be posting my thoughts on the corresponding thread of course ;)

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Cool : )

TheVoiceAndTheSnake
October 24th 2011


3663 Comments


Running Battle still gives me the chills

AggravatedYeti
October 24th 2011


7685 Comments


I wouldn't call myself a fan, to be fair, as i mainly just listen to their singles when not dipping into their albums for reviews.


I could say that about too many bands ; )

Acanthus
October 24th 2011


9543 Comments


Argh this band and it's singles, damn the memories.

Digging: Falls of Rauros - The Light That Dwells in Rotten Wood

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hey Acanthus, aint heard from ya in a while : )

Acanthus
October 24th 2011


9543 Comments


I've been... well actually I've been right here but just not commenting/being on in time for your reviews.

I've only heard "Club Foot" here and really liked it, but after being forced to listen to it over many a road trip it wore off quickly.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, suppose it's that way with most pop singles - play them too much and they lose hold.

ZedO
July 8th 2012


1096 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yea lost souls forever!!!

KatatoNick
July 8th 2012


128 Comments


Their only decent album.

ZedO
July 8th 2012


1096 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You may be right, personally I only have this and their 2nd "empire", and I have no idea about their 3rd and 4th album..

Acanthus
June 7th 2013


9543 Comments


And now the single is awesome again, should probably go get the album.

thacoconut94
September 23rd 2014


71 Comments


wank

Digging: In The Woods... - Heart of the Ages



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy