Elitist
Earth


2.5
average

Review

by TechieCore USER (13 Reviews)
October 22nd, 2011 | 73 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Elitist takes their blaze of glory from Caves, and makes a very forgettable record.

I'm a big fan of Elitist. Ever since I heard "Caves", I knew it wasn't just a normal metalcore record. Featuring hard hitting riffs, solid instrumentals, and a nice progressive feel, I thought Elitist surely were up-and-comers to the music scene.

After months of waiting in anticipation, I got my hands on a copy of their newest "Earth" EP. Featuring two new members (Andrew Slane on drums and Alex DeHeart on vocals), I was a little skeptical on how the album would play out. After multiple listens and a few nights of denial, Elitist shattered my expectations by making one of the most disappointing and forgettable EP's of the year.

"Earth" is an EP, so it's not a full-length album. There are only seven tracks on it - 4 being new songs, and 3 being instrumental versions of them. That alone made me cringe, as I'm never one to like multiples of the same song on any album. However me being the optimist I am, I still had a shred of hope.

"Pulse" starts out this short journey with a rehashed riff from "Fracture" (or vice versa), and then proceeds to a polyrhythmic breakdown, similar to "Transcend" from the "Caves" EP. Nothing memorable, nothing special. It then proceeds to "Specter", another forgettable song. Featuring pretty basic riffs, a lot of pinch harmonics, and some slight wankery, it's a disappointing track.

We then proceed to "Of Creations", undoubtedly the most bearable song on the album. It starts out with a damn catchy breakdown, with some staccato rhythm picking, sure enough to make the average listener to bob their head a few times. It features some creative riffs, but they are short lived. The final "real" song on the album is "Fracture", another standard mix of riffing, with some short-lived solos, and a lot of breakdowns. However there is a nice synth melody at the end of the song, which makes for a decent change of pace.

The last 3 tracks on the album are all instrumental versions of "Specter", "Of Creations", and "Fracture". Seeing as Alex DeHeart is a very boring and muddy-sounding vocalist, the instrumentals actually are the better half of the album.

You won't find anything special on this album, at all. Elitist spent a lot of time making a very average and bland EP. From someone who had high hopes for their next release, they were shot down very quickly.



Recent reviews by this author
Outrun The Sunlight The Return of InertiaBetraying the Martyrs Breathe In Life
Jody Breeze Welcome To The Futute: Part 2Volumes Via
Attila OutlawedHeart in Hand Only Memories
user ratings (90)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
Wayne H. (3)
Elitist take a more polyrhythm driven approach to their sophomore EP, and lose a little of their ide...

Sean (2.5)
An unfortunate step away from something that could have been quite memorable......

related reviews

Caves

Reshape Reason

Comments:Add a Comment 
TechieCore
October 22nd 2011


662 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

It pained me to write this. I really was hoping it would be a good EP, but in all honestly I'll be sticking to Caves.

AfterTheBreakdown
October 22nd 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

haven't listened to this yet. Not too excited too based off of what I've heard.

TechieCore
October 22nd 2011


662 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

It's really, really boring. And we like the same stuff pretty much, it's really not worth it. The first 30 seconds on "Of Creations" is the best in the entire EP.

AfterTheBreakdown
October 22nd 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

dissapointing

sspedding
October 22nd 2011


4794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Fracture was mint. Specter was pretty boring. Dunno what to make of this.

KILL5
October 22nd 2011


429 Comments


another shitty metalcore record sweet

pizzamachine
October 22nd 2011


12572 Comments


the vocalist sucks

TechieCore
October 22nd 2011


662 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Yeah I can't tell what the hell he is saying half the time. He like never changes his pitch - ever.

loveisamixtape
October 22nd 2011


6274 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

album sucks dick

saucy
October 22nd 2011


342 Comments


Biggest disappointment this year.

Shredzilla
October 23rd 2011


501 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The first song on this album is basically just an intro, so, taking that into account, there are only THREE full songs on this EP......seriously? I have listened to the majority of the EP and its definitely not that impressive. I love the hell out of Caves, though. This....this is just a big step down. Two of the songs start out with breakdowns, which happens to be one of the biggest cliches in modern metalcore. It just doesn't seem like they were being too imaginative about these songs at all. Such a sad thing...

ShadowRemains
October 23rd 2011


21633 Comments


earth is elite yes

loveisamixtape
October 23rd 2011


6274 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

and the sad part is Pulse from this is the basically the EXACT same thing as Transcend from caves.

fuck this uninspired overhyped piece of shit

bloc
October 23rd 2011


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I thought the album was quite good but I think the addition of the instrumental tracks was pointless.

Even the new vocalist did a good job.

AfterTheBreakdown
October 23rd 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I still haven't listened to this but bloc's comment gives me a little bit of hope for this.

bloc
October 23rd 2011


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Tbh, the hate for this is surprising the hell out of me. Sure it's only 3 songs long (although the intro is really good) but it's exactly what Elitist has done in the past and I think they're really good at it.

loveisamixtape
October 23rd 2011


6274 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

this album is so frustrating.

the songs with vocals suck because the vocals suck, and the songs without vocals are boring because there are no vocals.

and plus, the songs in general just sound like they were trying way to hard to put something out and it sounds rushed, uninspired, and like a huge step down from Caves (which wasn't even really THAT awesome). and i can't stand the way Elitist carry themselves, because they're all such cocky assholes and they so are not the most talented band ever.

those are my problems with this album.

TechieCore
October 23rd 2011


662 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

@love

I met Sean Hall and Julian, the guitarists. They are actually really cool dudes, we chatted for a while at the merch table just talking about random guitar stuff.

But I completely agree. This EP was way too rushed, and I was hoping for another "Array", but it just didnt happen.

loveisamixtape
October 23rd 2011


6274 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

well Sean sees all of the cover videos of their Caves songs up on youtube, so he's like "hey, i can play this cleaner than all of you so let me make a video to show all of you up"

and idk man they've always just seemed like an unpassionate band that's just in the business to prove that they know how to play their instruments. but that's just me.

BugZoid
October 23rd 2011


331 Comments


Pretty dull music as far as I'm concerned. You justified your rating well, though. Nothing unique here in any shape or form.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy