I Declare War
I Declare War


4.0
excellent

Review

by HiLion USER (2 Reviews)
October 21st, 2011 | 36 replies | 5,313 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If It Ain't Broke Blast Beat The Fuck Out of It

10 of 12 thought this review was well written

Let's start off by saying that this is a definitive step above Malevolence and does not suffer from complete and utter repetition that its predecessor did. This self-titled release also possesses something the previous album did not which is atmosphere, through out the multiple listens I couldn't help but feel this album would be what the apocalypse would sound like, absolutely devastating while maintaining an overall eerie feel. A great example of this would be track 6 Final Hour which shows the great atmosphere that is retained throughout the album. The same can be said for the breakdown in the beginning of track 8 Pale Skin which has this just creepy lead guitar.

Additionally the album has quite a few memorable moments whether it be the opening of Misery cloud "THEY CAME THEY ***ING CONQUERED" or the "ICED ***ING EARTH" the main hook in track 3 Human Waste. An aspect of the band that really made these standout moments for me is the new vocalist who sounds like a mix between Oceano and Molotov Solution. The vocalists voice just sounds absolutely monstrous and has this undeniably massive sound. However if there is any complaint I have about the vocalist is that he tends to not deviate from his low to mid ranges, not to say that he is a bad vocalist, just that the vocals could have used a bit more variety when it came to range.

Before I forget, I need to mention that the instrumentation on this album is really top notch and there's not to much for me to complain about. For the most part the band is spot on. The drums have a great sound to them and are very crisp I can always hear the drums in any track, but at the same time they don't drown out any other instruments or vocals. The guitars are heavy and have the typical I Declare War sound, but at times can be excessively chuggy which I don't mind that much. And for the bassist well he's there and let's just leave it at that.

This album doesn't do anything to reinvent deathcore, but It does do a lot things right. If you are a deathcore fan your probably going to like or even love this album. If you're not a fan of deathcore your probably just going to think this is a fairly average release.


user ratings (89)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Ben (4)
I Declare War has distilled ten tracks with an original and refreshing 200 proof shot of heaviness d...


Comments:Add a Comment 
HiLion
October 21st 2011



239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First review all criticism and advice is appreciated. I'm going to go ahead and assume that this review is bad due to it being my first.

Rev
October 22nd 2011



9373 Comments


learn how to use "you're"

HiLion
October 22nd 2011



239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oops small typo

pizzamachine
October 22nd 2011



12571 Comments


"oops small typo"

I DECLARE WAR.. jk

Ignimbrite
October 22nd 2011



5292 Comments


please learn the difference between "its" and "it's"

po0ty
October 22nd 2011



486 Comments


this is a new vocalist? i wouldn't have noticed..

HiLion
October 22nd 2011



239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

small typos lol you'll live, but i'll fix them because I love you

Carnifex
October 22nd 2011



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Did you read this one outloud to yourself? There are some awkward sentences here and there. I've made this run-on sound less awkward and split the sentences up.

"This self-titled release also possesses something the previous album did not have, which is atmosphere. Throughout the multiple listens I couldn't help but feel this album would be what the apocalypse would sound like, absolutely devastating and maintaining an overall eerie feel."

Summary: If it ain't broke, blast beat the f*** out of it.

"Additionally, the album has quite a few memorable moments whether it be the opening of 'Misery Cloud' "They came, they f***ing conquered" or the "iced f***ing Earth," the main hook on Human Waste."

Personally I wouldn't include lyrics in the review itself unless given a quote box of text further, just a preference I suppose.

"An aspect of the band that really made these standout moments for me is the new vocalist who sounds like a mix between Oceano and Molotov Solution."

You should probably mention he is the ex-vocalist of Those Who Lie Beneath.

"The guitars are heavy and have the typical I Declare War sound, but at times can be excessively chuggy which I don't mind that much."

Bad idea to talk about what you like, describe the sound and not if you mind it or not.


"This album doesn't do anything to reinvent deathcore, but it does do a lot of things right. If you are a deathcore fan you're probably going to like or even love this album. If you're not a fan of deathcore you're probably just going to think this is a fairly average release."

Really overused statement on deathcore reviews, probably should avoid this in the future.

Hope I helped bro, stick around and write some more reviews.

seedofnothing
October 22nd 2011



3425 Comments


i declare terrible

HiLion
October 22nd 2011



239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Carnifex Thanks for the advice. I didn't know he was the ex vocalist of Those Who Lie Beneath, I just knew that he was the new vocalist for I Declare War.

pizzamachine
October 22nd 2011



12571 Comments


Dece review btw. :D

HiLion
October 22nd 2011



239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks :D Most likely gonna write another one tomorrow. I'll definitely take more time on it and iron out some of the kinks I had in this one.

pizzamachine
October 22nd 2011



12571 Comments


Sweet, I'll read it when it drops.

Carnifex
October 22nd 2011



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah no problem man, I don't write a lot of reviews but I like helping out the new guys.

HiLion
October 22nd 2011



239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If it drops gotta pick an album first, maybe Grieves - Together/Apart since it doesn't have a review yet

asdemonsburn
October 22nd 2011



793 Comments


"This album doesn't do anything to reinvent deathcore, but It does do a lot things right. If you are a deathcore fan your probably going to like or even love this album. If you're not a fan of deathcore your probably just going to think this is a fairly average release."

one of the most cliche things I've ever read

HiLion
October 22nd 2011



239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cliche but for the most part true

Carnifex
October 22nd 2011



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

80% of this genre in a nutshell tbh.

pizzamachine
October 22nd 2011



12571 Comments


HiLion's true statement about his true statements is true.


Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 22nd 2011



49742 Comments


I do declare

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy