(The) Slowest Runner (In All The World)
We, Burning Giraffes


4.5
superb

Review

by Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (103 Reviews)
October 21st, 2011 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The album that became epic by trying not to be.

Sometimes music gets ahead of itself. In an increasingly saturated market, post-rock bands, just like any other artist, are trying to set themselves apart from the flock. Whether this is from incorporating hastily hashed-together political soundbites or by just trying to sound more epic than anyone else. So it's nice to see a band who personify the concept of being understated. Take a quick look at their website and you're greeted with only 1 and a half lines about the band themselves. A premonition of laziness? You could say that, but then again if you were to say that you obviously haven't heard their recent LP, We, Burning Giraffes.

Because with this LP, (The) Slowest Runner (In All The World) have achieved what so many other artists wish they could, and they've done it in the best way possible: they've distinguished themselves by simply being better. We, Burning Giraffes bears no obvious political jabs, nor does it build up into a cacophony, instead it focuses on making subtle, atmospheric tracks. The only thing being conveyed here is pure, uninterupted emotion.

Now, don't go thinking that this means We, Burning Giraffes is edging close to being boring, Slowest Runner bring more than enough flair along with them to make the LP shine. Classical instrumentation takes centre stage for the majority of the LP's running time, the frequent use of strings creates a melancholy mood, blending softy with the hum of electric guitars so smoothly that you wonder why electric guitars haven't been implemented into conventional orchestras. The band continue their nondescript style by never reducing a song into momentary silence or indeed very close to that at all - by reducing the range of intensity, and restraining themselves, they manage to create the same effect as a fully orchestral climax, or a singular piano, but also retain a sense of cohesiveness and progression.

By refining and personalising the post-rock formula, Slowest Runner have created something that manages to maintain a constant, pulsating force while still finding the time to be beautiful. If you have any interest in post-rock, don't neglect this.



Recent reviews by this author
Throwing Snow MosaicSOHN Tremors
A Winged Victory for the Sullen Atomos VIIPlinth (UK) Music For Smalls Lighthouse
The Correspondents Puppet Loosely StrungSon Lux Alternate Worlds
user ratings (92)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Beram C. Lansay (5)
Greatest post-rock album ever created?...

Scott Krasman (4.5)
Godspeed fans may have missed a gem from 2010....


Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Apologies for how short this is, I'm trying to develop a more free-flow style and I obviously need some practice. Feedback would be great.

And before you go. THIS ALBUM IS COMPLETELY FREE!!!

Well, name your price anyhow.

http://theslowestrunner.bandcamp.com/

pizzamachine
October 21st 2011


12571 Comments


I'm getting a Little House on the Prairie feel from this lol, pretty cool. Good review!

minty901
October 21st 2011


2018 Comments


You're right, this review was far too short. Well-written though, such that I wish there was a lot more of it to read. Pos. One minor niggle if I'm going to be REALLY pedantic is that I would change the sentence: "haven't heard their first, and most recent, LP, We..." to: "haven't heard their first and only LP, We...". "Most recent" implies that there have been multiple LPs, and the use of commas doesn't work too well to break up the clause when the following section is only one word (LP).

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeh, sorry. Next review will be a lot longer, promise. ;)

And yeh, that sentence is a bit of a mess. I'll change it when I wake up.

minty901
October 21st 2011


2018 Comments


Not a mess, I'm just pedantic.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So am I. If something isn't as good as it could be it annoys me.

Scoot
October 21st 2011


17771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

love seeing this get reviewed

jimmykidd
October 21st 2011


529 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this album is so incredible. the review is too short as stated. i was loving the read but then the final paragraph came around and it was over lol. nicely written though.

BugZoid
October 21st 2011


331 Comments


As they've all said: Short. But it got your point across in a more emotional way, rather than descriptive. I think I need to check into these guys. Pos'd.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 22nd 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, at least it got a few people to listen to it.

balcaen
October 22nd 2011


3183 Comments


the 47 ratings is such bullshit. this is soooo good

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 22nd 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Aembers/Guggenheim makes the ambient nut in me happy.

Scoot
October 22nd 2011


17771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

it was hard getting people to listen to this originally

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 22nd 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If they were in a genre with "core" or "death" in it they'd probably have a lot more ratings. This site sometimes...

lancebramsay
October 22nd 2011


1585 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

2 revuez in last week, wwuuuuttt

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 22nd 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ Didn't realise that, awesome.

lancebramsay
October 22nd 2011


1585 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I pos'd because this was an awesome review. I'm a big fan of the whole short thing, probably because I have ADD.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
October 22nd 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ Thanks.

As of just now, the review has been edited a bit to remove a few typos and hammer out the flow.

Tikicobra
October 22nd 2011


573 Comments


I love this album, and I'm not a huge fan of instrumental music. It's just so good.

Great review, short and informative.

North0House2
October 23rd 2011


5857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm still convinced I found this band before anyone else ever did. But, it doesn't really matter haha, I just wish I had gotten off of my lazy butt and written a review for this. I'm so glad it's been well received by everyone here, this band is so refreshing.

I had no idea the album was free though, which is why I don't have it yet... Downloading now lol. Good review.

Digging: Zelienople - The World Is A House On Fire



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy