I Am the Avalanche
Avalanche United


5.0
classic

Review

by KJB17 USER (1 Reviews)
October 13th, 2011 | 40 replies | 8,244 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Whatever happened to all the New York gentlemen? Well, they're writing classic albums now.

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

Merriam-Webster defines classic as “serving as a standard of excellence”, in the music industry, excellence is about as rare as finding a four leaf clover in the winter. Forget genre shaping, as albums that come to define the music to come after such a massive release only come around once in a generation. I Am The Avalanche have released a record that has instantly risen the bar for not only pop-punk, but music as a collective. I'm not sure when it exactly became clear that IATA had released such a record, but when it hit me it did so like, well, an avalanche.

Avalanche United is a record that has been 6 years in the making, and the wait has been more than worth the wait. It’s clear immediately that IATA are out for blood, and they’re not going to stay in the traditional mold that frontman Vinnie Caruana helped shape with a little band called The Movielife. We’re talking the musical equivalent of riding a Narwhal into battle against 50 Kodak Bears and a dozen Ligers armed with a camera and a parking cone. Avalanche United makes a huge splash with the opener Holy *** and rides that wave into a tsunami of excellent pop-punk bliss that will have you singing along and feeling enraged all at the same time.


The guitar work is not technical by any stretch of the imagination, but for a band that leans towards the punk side of pop-punk, the guitar work by Michael Ireland and Brandon Swanson is pretty damn impressive. The palm muting provides the perfect complement to Caruana’s unique style of vocal delivery. Brett Romnes provides drums that are undoubtedly the engine behind the entire machine of that is Avalanche United, keeping this entire train speeding forward without any hint of coming off the tracks completely.

Of course, then there is Vinnie Caruana, who’s harsh vocals assault your eardrums as he pours his heart into each and every word. The passion becomes extremely evident as his singing crosses the line into screaming and yelling that gets your blood flowing and then suddenly switches back to a pitch that would create envy among the best vocalists in the industry. One of my favorite segments on this entire album is the final moment of “Dead Friends”, where after declaring “I’m sick of you being sick of yourself”, Caruana screams from the depth of his soul, and follows the chugging breakdown with “You don’t love anything anymore, we’ve been worried sick for you, and it’s time you came back home” this segment gives me chills literally every time I listen to it.

There’s so much substance to this album that it's almost impossible to pick an absolute favorite track. This album is catchy, it's dark, it's brooding, it's heavy, it's passionate, it's just ***ing good. On the powerful I’ll be Back Around, when Caruana croons “One day we’ll be perfect / one day we’ll all sleep safe and sound” you realize the sheer monumental size of this record, and that maybe that day of perfection has come at least musically for Caruana and the guys in IATA.


user ratings (83)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
dansxdead
October 12th 2011



438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is sooooooooooooo good. Definitely one of the AOTY.

xandermander
October 13th 2011



626 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is definitely very good, not sure what I want to rate it yet but I'll be back.

Edit: This is a little quick to rate an album, I've only heard it 3 times BUT I can imagine I'll want
to hear this one for a loooooooong time, it just has a fantastic feel to it.

accompliceofmydeath
October 13th 2011



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn, didn't notice there was a review for this. This is in my top ten for the year for sure. I love the heavier, angrier direction they went with this. Great review, too.

CasinoColumbus
October 13th 2011



340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just listened to this. Probably a 4-4.5 for me, but have to give it some more spins to make sure. The Wonder Years and this make me believe in pop punk again.

jacobxross
October 13th 2011



32 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is the Dookie of the decade.

KJB17
October 13th 2011



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pop punk is definitely being kept alive by some amazing bands and albums, especially in 2011. This album just keeps getting better with each play.

xandermander
October 13th 2011



626 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought I just didn't like pop-punk until this year, but I honestly think the albums released this year are just that good.



fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 15th 2011



21548 Comments


these guys are supporting Brand New when I see them next year

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I must be the only person in the world who prefers their debut... If only just.

6 years after their debut, Brooklyn's I Am The Avalanche return with their much-anticipated 2nd LP 'Avalanche United'. Much more refined & concise than its predecessor, the genre of choice here is most definitely punk, with a heavier & faster sound apparent. This more simplistic style unfortunately means that the musicianship is dialed down a little, as many of the tracks tend to bleed together in their unyielding, raucous energy. However, whether it is Brett Romnes smashing away at his drums, or lead vocalist Vinnie Caruana's gruff intensity, there is no denying the quintet's passion. Recommended Tracks: Brooklyn Dodgers, Holy Fuck, Gratitude & I'll Be Back Around.

accompliceofmydeath
January 11th 2012



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's close, but I like this one more because it's a little faster and more punk oriented than the debut.

pmmets07
January 17th 2012



5839 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck yeah seeing them friday

ihopeuchoke
February 7th 2012



668 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is criminally overrated.

accompliceofmydeath
March 26th 2012



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Saw these guys again last night. Awesome as fuck.

TDenverFan
June 13th 2012



1 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

A 5? This is no way classic. Outside of Brooklyn Dodgers and Gravedigger's Argument (Which is only good thanks to Anthony's verse) most of these songs are meh. The guitar work is mediocre, Lyrics are nothing special, no wow. Hardly a 5.

xandermander
July 20th 2012



626 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fucking love this album. Definitely worth at least a 4.0 for the genre


Cygnatti
October 13th 2012



21349 Comments


...

movielife is leagues better than this. leagues

Digging: The Avalanches - Since I Left You

Cygnatti
October 13th 2012



21349 Comments


movielife is leagues better than this. leagues [2]

Sirob
October 15th 2012



2653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album rules so hard

KSK1
December 5th 2012



4070 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rules

KSK1
December 5th 2012



4070 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Seriously, heard this yesterday for the first time and I can't get enough



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy