Karl Sanders
Saurian Meditation


4.0
excellent

Review

by seedofnothing USER (8 Reviews)
October 12th, 2011 | 29 replies | 4,513 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I am sitting in a dark cave by myself hundreds of feet above ground staring outside the open face into a fading horizon-like sky, when all of the sudden, everything becomes dark.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Atmospheric, dark, bleak, drone-like, transient, euphonious, euphoria overtake my mind in a domineering manner. The world around me quickly dissolves into a whirlpool of eradication. My lucent vessel rises in a weightless expedition across the depths of deepest thoughts and emotions of my psyche, recalling every perception gained from infancy. I am taken to a visual world of observance, where vultures give signs to a desolate deity of remembrance, consumed by fire-breathing serpents from the depths of Hades. “What hath happened here”, I say to myself. I look a bit further and see a trail of blood leading to an effaceable foundation of pestilence, where deities slither from, in solace, only to expire from the plague of decimation.

“Who is this exposing such eminent novelties. I command you! Speak Up!”

“My name is Karl Sanders, proud defender of all that is actuality!....”

“Wake up Jared! It’s time to go to work! Your gonna be late again!” I’m awaken with verbal lashes by my significant, homo-sapien of a wife, other(I love you honey). Reality sinks back in at a rushing cyclonic proletariat. The once constant replay of Saurian Meditation comes to a screeching halt, and I skip another much needed shower as I scramble to work.

Most widely known as the founding member of the American Egyptian-themed death metal band Nile, Karl Sanders has used his vast knowledge of Egyptian mythology, Lovecraftian themes, musicianship, and vast “perception gained from infancy” to craft an almost impeccable solo album to please the mass. The usage of stringed instruments, both domestic and foreign, creates a conjunctional interflow with the backing keyboards, percussion, and vocals.

“Awaiting the Vultures” opens the album with a crescendo effect into “Of the Sleep of Ishtar”. Here we having a swaying-like track that brings the listener to a realm of visionary comfort as a well-placed, lightly distorted harmony/solo invites an unrushed clean guitar passage over the swaying seas of abundance. An almost tribal trance begins with “Luring the Doom Serpent” complimenting the tremolo fused string section. “Contemplation of the Endless Abyss” shows a never ending atmosphere reminiscent of band Black Swan. “The Elder God Shrine” brings us a groovy, mid-eastern, almost poppy ballad with a strong dynamic solo in compliment. The next two tracks work as fillers for the great “Whence no Travelers Return”, which showcases wonderful hand speed over the foreign strings. The album closes with “Beckon the Sick Winds of Pestilence” which includes an odd-timed, Danny Carey type drum pattern, similarily found on various tracks of Lateralus. The track closes with heavy reverb taking the listener to a new realm of emotions only to crave more as the album fades out.

Credits
• Karl Sanders -- baglama saz, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, ebow, guitar synthesizer,keyboards, bass guitar
• Mike Brezeale -- vocals
• Pete Hammoura -- drums, percussion
Special guests
• Shawn Allen -- acoustic guitar on "Whence No Traveler Returns"
• Dallas Toler-Wade -- harmony vocals on "The Elder God Shrine"
• David Vincent -- narration on "The Forbidden Path Across the Chasm of Self Realization"
• Juan Gonzalez: drums on "Beckon the Sick Winds of Pestilence", lead gong on "Whence No Traveler Returns", harmony vocals on "The Elder God Shrine"(All credits courtesy of Wikipedia.com)

Pros:
• Karl Sanders
• Cohesive journey
• Solid Musicianship
• Replay Value

Cons:
• Some tracks may drag at times
• Album seems to want to lead to something more

In summary anyone who is a fan of ambient, zoning, middle-eastern sounds should love this. Also, anyone who is a fan of death metal/metal should enjoy this. Album is best enjoyed as a whole. Listening to any singular track will do the album no justice. Enjoy!



Recent reviews by this author
Trvth Black Horse PlagueTrvth Alpha
Crevice PeeringLord Belial Nocturnal Beast
Lord Belial Kiss the GoatDamnation Rebel Souls
user ratings (39)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
seedofnothing
October 12th 2011



3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I call review dibs on Saurian Exorcisms

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2011



16263 Comments


Couple things about this review:

- Nearly half of it is pros/cons/lineup/short summary

- Nearly all of the rest of it is some sort of creative writing exercise

- I know almost nothing about what the album sounds like from reading this review

- I am not sure whether what you say about this album means it is good or bad, the only way to find out is to weigh the list of pros and cons or look at the rating.

Steer clear of these "concept" reviews where you do some sort of fiction writing, it is almost always a terrible idea. Describe the music, describe what makes it good or bad and why we should/shouldn't listen to it in a discreet but informative manner.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

seedofnothing
October 12th 2011



3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@crysis

not sure if you read the review after or before the correction. Added another paragraph(right above the credits) giving more album details

please confirm....

Auschwitz
October 12th 2011



1285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Also, anyone who is a fan of death metal/metal should also enjoy this."

makes no sense.

Auschwitz
October 12th 2011



1285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Atmospheric, dark, bleak, drone-like, transient, euphonious, euphoria overtake my mind in a domineering manner. The world around me quickly dissolves into a whirlpool of eradication. My lucent vessel rises in a weightless expedition across the depths of deepest thoughts and emotions of my psyche, recalling every perception gained from infancy. I am taken to a visual world of observance, where vultures give signs to a desolate deity of remembrance, consumed by fire-breathing serpents from the depths of Hades."

i like this part, but then when you go on in a story-like manner, it doesnt work. and then after that its basically a track-by-track review. i didnt feel you explained this album very well. the review felt too amateur. sorry, but neg'd.

seedofnothing
October 12th 2011



3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Also, anyone who is a fan of death metal/metal should enjoy this."

fixed

The story like manner was supposed to be a description of the journey that the album took me on, perhaps I should have explained that a little further. The story was a play on words using the various words of the song titles

However thanks for your comment/honesty

Scoot
October 12th 2011



17681 Comments


what crysis said

the only time it's really a good idea to write a concept review is if it's about an album that everybody already knows about

Digging: Unjust - Glow

Auschwitz
October 12th 2011



1285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Also, anyone who is a fan of death metal/metal should enjoy this."

i meant it made no sense because this and death metal/metal are vastly different genres, so it doesnt make sense to assume that someone who likes those genres would also like this.

seedofnothing
October 12th 2011



3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yes they are different genres but if you look at most of the ratings already on this album, they came from people who mostly listen to metal. There is a certain type of heavy feel to the album(which I should have included in the review as well)



Auschwitz
October 12th 2011



1285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thats only because most of the people who find out about it are people who already know Karl from Nile, so that doesnt really give a very good indication.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2011



16263 Comments


not sure if you read the review after or before the correction. Added another paragraph(right above the credits) giving more album details

please confirm....


I did not see that, my comment was before that was put in.

seedofnothing
October 12th 2011



3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

note is definately taken in regards to the "concept" type review and will spend more time on future
reviews giving more album details

Also in future reviews, I will give more supporting thoughts as to why the album may be recommended
to a certain audience

i may also make a few corrections/additions to this current review for future readers. ofcourse, my
goal is to give justice to this album and Karl Sanders work as I'd want for myself.

thanks to the advice, and knowledge from the elite reviewers. Much respect

until then.....

ShadowRemains
October 12th 2011



20246 Comments


Basically everything Crysis said, especially the pros and cons and credits thing.

Wizard
October 12th 2011



19231 Comments


Kind of liked this review.

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

DeafMetal
October 12th 2011



8584 Comments


decent review man, not really a huge fan of this album but i like ethnic folk music, so it was kind of up my ally

pizzamachine
October 12th 2011



12571 Comments


Props for reviewing this man.

someguest
October 12th 2011



20319 Comments


Colonel Sanders > Karl Sanders

Digging: Your Old Droog - Your Old Droog

xcharlesx
October 12th 2011



192 Comments


hahahahaha gay review

NEG

seedofnothing
October 12th 2011



3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Kind of liked this review"

thank goodness! I will take "kind of"

"Props for reviewing this man"

thanks bro I appreciate that, someone needed too, whether it was a high or low class
review(I thought highly of mine obviously),but the critics were much needed as a first review. I'm
sure its common.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2011



5921 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Props for reviewing this man [2], fantastic album, f-a-n-t-a-s-t-i-c album title.

The review has a quirky structure, but it is good overall.

As a suggestion, you could write about the people who helped Sanders, while describing the music.

The same applies for the pros and cons.



I own both Karl Sanders albums, this is better than his second effort, with the latter being good as well.

I may write something for this sometime.

Digging: Essence Beyond - Carnivalism



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy