Never Shout Never
Time Travel


4.0
excellent

Review

by whatshisname USER (13 Reviews)
October 5th, 2011 | 41 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Exit whiny pop Christofer Drew, enter Space rock Christofer Drew.

Ahhhhhhhhh yes, Never Shout Never. Christofer Drew seems to get a lot of hate around Sputnik, whether it be because of his simple pop music, his high voice, or even how he spells his name (I've seen it before), someone always seems to find a reason to hate on him. I can understand, but I think some of it is unwarranted. Sure, it's just simple pop music, but, is that really THAT much of a reason for all the hate he gets? Well, with the release of Time Travel, his 3rd full length album, maybe he'll be able to change some opinions.

The album starts off with the first single, Time Travel. In my opinion, this is one of the best songs of his career. Starting out with a space-y intro, the first thing I personally noticed was how much better Christofer Drew sounded. Wether it be production, or genuine improvement, his voice sounds better. Not NEARLY as whiny as before. The song is great, up until the outro/ending. It seems tacked on and cheesy, but the song is a great way to start. The next song, "Awful", is a more simple song, but maintains the diversity the album presents. Again, I notice improvement in the vocal department. The verses in this song are great, but I never liked the chorus too much. It just doesn't really fit well in the song, but it's just me. The 3rd track, "Silver Ecstasy", is the first slow song of the album, and probably one of my favorites. Sure, the lyrics are cheesy, but the music and the delivery of the song make it fantastic, all up until the larger than life style chorus.

"Simplistic Trance-Like Getaway" was the 2nd song released off the album, and, well...It's decent. What brings this song down is how simple it is, with both the music and the lyrics being really juvenile. If you looked just at the lyrics, you would most likely think it was one of his first songs. Moving on. "Robot". Oh man, "Robot". I'll just get straight to it, this is the best Never Shout Never song ever written. From every lyrics, to all of the music, this song, in my opinion, is all around fantastic. Christofer Drew's voice never sounded better, and the chorus is just flooring.

We're now in the final string of the album, with the next track being "Until I Die Alone". This is my least favorite song off the album. It's just plain boring. And it drags on way too long. The lyrics are just average at best, and the bass repeats the same exact 2 notes almost the whole time. Avoid this song, it's skip-able at best. "Complex Heart" is the oddest sounding song on the album, just because of the intro. It sounds like a bunch of sounds being thrown together, to be honest. Another average song, until the 2nd part of the chorus picks up, with just drums, piano, and singing. I like that part quite a bit, but other then that, it's just average. The very last song on the album, "Lost At Sea", starts out with the chant of "If, I'm lost at sea, tell my mother, my father, my sisters, my brother, my friends, and my foes, and all my past lovers that I will miss them so, but Lord, I had to go". Again, it's cheesy, but, better. Just the way it's delivered makes it good. The entire song, is actually quite good, with the exception of the chorus getting annoying, but, the song is short, so it makes up for it.

I know I'll most likely get a lot of hate for this, wether it be the 4/5 rating, or because my review isn't that good, but, I think this is a HUGE step forward for Christofer Drew and NeverShoutNever! In my opinion, it deserves the 4/5.



Recent reviews by this author
Brand New Fight Off Your Demons (The Demos)These Hearts Yours To Take
Never Shout Never SunflowerChelsea Grin Evolve
Never Shout Never IndigoWoe, Is Me Genesi[s]
user ratings (61)
Chart.
2.6
average
other reviews of this album
BookReader792 (5)
I am going to start caring again....


Comments:Add a Comment 
iFghtffyrdmns
October 5th 2011


7047 Comments


prepare to get digitally verbally buttfucked, kid.

Schindler
October 5th 2011


72 Comments


pos'd you flaming cock monger

whatshisname
October 5th 2011


179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know, I'm prepared for the no doubt ensuing shit storm I get. -___-


iFghtffyrdmns
October 5th 2011


7047 Comments


hey well that's pretty bold of you, I'll give you that.
so uh.... sorta good job.

Yazz_Flute
October 5th 2011


18801 Comments


does this sound like Failure

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

whatshisname
October 5th 2011


179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well thanks lol.


Aspenshadow
October 5th 2011


311 Comments


does this sound like Failure

No it's too gay to sound like Failure.

It's not that bad though. Surprisingly tolerable.

Ire
October 5th 2011


41794 Comments


Exit whiny pop Christofer Drew, enter Space rock Christofer Drew.


becoz chris ingle listens to hawkwind

1/5 review would neg again

whatshisname
October 5th 2011


179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Andcas, I can understand that.
Your picture is fantastic, btw xD

WashboardSuds
October 5th 2011


5018 Comments


I'd rephrase this:

Christofer Drew seems to get a lot of hate around Sputnik. Wether it be because of his simple pop music, or his high voice, or even how he spells his name (I've seen it before). Someone always seems to find a reason to hate on him.


into something like this:

Christofer Drew seems to get a lot of hate around Sputnik, whether it be because of his simple pop music, his high voice, or even how he spells his name (I've seen it before), someone always seems to find a reason to hate on him.

It seems tacked on an cheesy, but, the song is a great way to start.


typo, "an" should be "and"

Sure, the lyrics are cheesy, but, the music and the delivery of the song make it fantastic, all up until the larger than life style chorus.


here's something you do several times in the review. you put a comma before and after the words "but" and "and". for each word you only need to put a comma before the word.

From every lyrics, to all of the music, this song, in my opinion, is all around fantastic.


I think this part can be reworded a bit.
try:

From every lyric, to each aspect of the music


I know I'll most likely get a lot of hate for this, wether it be the 4/5 rating, or because my review isn't that good, but, I think this is a HUGE step forward for Christofer Drew and NeverShoutNever! In my opinion, it deserves the 4/5.


something like this shouldn't be included in the review itself. this is much better suited to being the first comment

Yazz_Flute
October 5th 2011


18801 Comments


I was being condescending but whenever I hear the term "space rock" I think of them.

whatshisname
October 5th 2011


179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Now that you pointed that out, I agree.
Thanks for the constructive criticism!
It sure get's me a helluva lot farther than someone going "lol bullshit", :D

Tikicobra
October 5th 2011


573 Comments


You forgot the part where you mention how terrible it is.

WashboardSuds
October 5th 2011


5018 Comments


Thanks for the constructive criticism!
It sure get's me a helluva lot farther than someone going "lol bullshit", :D


oh no problem. I was kind of bored so I decided to read over this for you. hope it helps.

I can't stand this guy though. if this is a step up from his usual work, thats good to see, but I'm still not persuaded he's worth my time :/

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2011


50500 Comments


My sister said this guy is a huge twat


RosaParks
October 6th 2011


14924 Comments


2. "Awful"
yea

foxblood
October 6th 2011


6797 Comments


you don't need a sister to see that this guy is a huge twat

Acanthus
October 6th 2011


9543 Comments


It's really sad that he's from my state, let alone a city less than an hour or so away.

Digging: The Knife - Deep Cuts

taxidermist
October 7th 2011


7207 Comments


It's TERRIBLE lololololol.

SaintAndrews
October 18th 2011


105 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like it. A bunch of steps up from the previous album. It's entirely too short, though. The next few albums should be even better. I like the direction more than the present place. Know what I mean?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy